Slough Feg
Digital Resistance


3.6
great

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
February 7th, 2014 | 35 replies | 6,478 views


Release Date: 02/18/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Lord Weird Slough Feg gets a little less weird.

Slough Feg have always been a band lost in time. Formed at a time when metal music as a whole was getting more and more abrasive, they reveled in rock 'n' roll's booming late 70's glory instead. It worked. They survived. Even now, at a time when having “throwback” influences has permeated just about every facet of the heavy music scene, Slough Feg's traditionalism remains pure to its core. Their Celtic rhythms meets classic hard rock vibe has withstood the test of time like few other bands of their ilk. Yes, long time acts like Manilla Road and Grand Magus are similar, but it's not quite the same. They're missing that special “oomph” that makes Slough Feg so unique. They're missing Mike Scalzi. He has always been the root of all things Slough Feg – his status as the last original member only brings that home even more. His distinct wail and usually beyond out there lyrics bring just as much personality to the band as his galloping riffs and superb lead work on guitar.

With their 8th full-length LP, Digital Resistance, Mike and the rest of Slough Feg are at their best, recalling the likes of Thin Lizzy's cocksure braggadocio, Cirith Ungol's dark mysticism, and early Genesis' artful textures. It's a powerful blast from the past, that, now in the era of the over compressed loudness wars, sounds even more lovingly out of place. From the first seconds of the album opener it is clear that Digital Resistance is delightfully analog. The drums resonate in their own natural low end, and the guitars are thick and meaty in a way that current trends have all but forgotten. The production, along with that powerful barrage of bold, melodic riffs, all plays along to the image that Slough Feg have helped create for themselves over the last two decades. Moreover, it is furthered by the loose fitting concept of contempt for all things modern and technological that ties together the album. That's not to say that there's not something missing. While musically Slough Feg deliver just as they always have, Scalzi's lyrics have lost that insane and out there quality that personified the band at its best. It isn't that he doesn't deliver quality stuff here, it's just that it's your standard metal doom and gloom, and lacks his distinctive bizarre approach that many have come to associate with Slough Feg just as much as the music itself.

With Digital Resistance, Slough Feg have given us the first great rock record of 2014. It's no surprise, really, as everything they have put out is top notch. Their pre-NWOBHM influences continue to reign supreme in the best of ways, but this auditory backlash to all of the technology that we surround ourselves with on a day to day basis takes itself a bit too seriously for what most of us would come to expect from a Slough Feg record.



Recent reviews by this author
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsGridLink Longhena
user ratings (26)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Killerhit (4)
Simple pleasures here, but exciting in their simplicity....


Comments:Add a Comment 
emester
February 6th 2014



2890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I cant find any of there earlier stuff anywhere. Any ideas where i could find their stuff as Lord Weird Slough Feg?

Anyways, great review and I'm stoked for when this releases.

Digging: Corrections House - Last City Zero

TheSlenderMan
February 6th 2014



606 Comments


Well fuck my ass and call me Shirley....a new Slough Feg...

Relinquished
February 6th 2014



24929 Comments


sweet, too bad if the review is true

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

It's a wonderful record but it's missing that repeat "fun" factor that normally smacks you from left field with Scalzi's lyrics.

emester
February 6th 2014



2890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how does it compare to Hardworlder?

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Musically, it's really similar except there's more focus on the whole celtic aspect in the melodies
and there's a bit less usage of solos for transitions and fills within the songs themselves. I would
say that the biggest difference is that it's a lot more tight sounding, whether that's a good thing or
a bad thing I don't quite know yet.

HenchmanOfSanta
February 6th 2014



1858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Expecting this to be solid as always.

Digging: Afflicted - Prodigal Sun

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2014



6011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Great review Adam, I will pick up this album for sure, I need to get into this band asap.

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2014



7365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Cool review, Athom. I've always preferred Grand Magus to these guys, though.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2014



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's a weird comparison

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2014



6011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

I was jamming the new song Slough Feg posted some time ago for this album and I came across this really interesting video about Mike Scalzi's favorite albums.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qS0M2CbCU4

Wizard
February 7th 2014



19343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

WHEN THE FUCK DID THIS COME OUT?

One of my favourite bands in the world and I slept on it!

One question, does this gallop or what?

Cool review, Athom. I've always preferred Grand Magus to these guys, though.

Grand Magnus doesn't hold a mile long stick to these guys and I bet they were influenced by this band as well.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

@karl this comes out on the 14th eu/ 17th us

Wizard
February 7th 2014



19343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fucking amazing band, totally underrated on this site.

emester
February 7th 2014



2890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

anyone know where I can find their album Traveller? I cant seem to find it anywhere

HenchmanOfSanta
February 7th 2014



1858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If y'all like Slough Feg and haven't also listened to Brocas Helm and Manilla Road, do that as well.

emester
February 7th 2014



2890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Manilla Road are awesome

AffableMartyr
February 8th 2014



294 Comments


I can't find this album anywhere, I just wanted to listen to it in it's entirety

AffableMartyr
February 8th 2014



294 Comments


Oh it's not out yet...How the hell did you review it then? What ever can't wait to hear the whole album.

Wizard
February 8th 2014



19343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He's staff and they receive promos from record labels.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy