Black Beasts
II


3.0
good

Review

by B R A N D O N S C O T T USER (103 Reviews)
February 5th, 2014 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bone Awls R Us

Black metal and punk are two sides of the same rusted coin; almost nobody wants to touch it, but the worth is still there. Though stylistically and idealistically different, at their very core both are institutions of music counterculture. This similarity strengthens how cohesively these two can be paired, not only through musical nuances but also through their sharing of a "f**k you!" attitude.

About as mysterious as it gets, there are three things we know about Black Beasts: they are American, they are a duo, and they absolutely worship Bone Awl. Performing with even more vitriol than the scene leaders, II violently stumbles through five rituals of grim and hateful raw punk. It takes minimalism to its extremes, where tracks like "I" embody all that blackened punk is about: filthy three-chord anthems played through blown out speaker. The melodies may wear corpsepaint, but the swagger is all punk. Overall, the sense of compromise between the two is well balanced given the rigid confines of their compositions. "III" opens with a hulking riff reminiscent of early Darkthrone yet also accentuates the inherent punkiness of mid-tempo black metal dirges.

If there is any flaw on II, it's that some tracks are more blatantly inspired than others. "IV" vocally upholds the singer's great acidic black metal rasp, but musically its uninspired romp falls short. Black Beasts can be summed up as a solid blackened punk band: they play honestly, aggressively, and certainly have their moments, but they are not the best out there. Casual fans of punk and black metal may enjoy this, but II is really a release for the niche crowd who already enjoy this music.



Recent reviews by this author
Cara Neir The OverwatchCarved Cross Demo III
Azarath Blasphemers' MaledictionsDoth Datura Wrightii
Cara Neir Sublimation TherapyAsphyx The Rack
user ratings (3)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
February 5th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Getting back into the reviewing game. Short review for a short album. Constructive criticism welcome

Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2014


7128 Comments


And over the other side of 100

TheSpirit
February 5th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally!

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2014


7128 Comments


You can be one of us, one of us

Cygnatti
February 5th 2014


22285 Comments


black breasts(?)

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

LordePots
February 5th 2014


9074 Comments


really like that art. good review will probably pass on this

Digging: Elysian Fields - For House Cats And Sea Fans

TheSpirit
February 5th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I'm not sure you'd dig this

MoosechriS
February 5th 2014


5062 Comments


This sounds awesome

LordePots
February 5th 2014


9074 Comments


I see it as one of those albums that i'd probably listen to once, give a 3, and forget forever

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2014


16478 Comments


Though stylistically and idealistically different, at their very core both are institutions of music counterculture.


You say they are idealistically different but then go on to note they are common in that they both support a certain counterculture. I for one think bm and punk are ideologically close.

About as mysterious as gets


About as mysterious as it gets

there are three thing we know about Black Beasts - they are


Should be a colon instead of a hyphen due to you listing out those three things.

embody all that blackened punk is about; filthy three chord anthems


Should be a colon instead of a semicolon because it is beginning a description.

three chord anthems


Should be "three-chord" because it is a compound modifier.

solid blackened punk band - they play


Again, should be a colon instead of a hyphen because it is beginning the description of this "solid blackened punk band".

Good review nonetheless, very vivid descriptions.



TheSlenderMan
February 5th 2014


606 Comments


Great review, now show me your tits sweetheart.

TheSpirit
February 5th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Kyle I'll switch those up. Obviously I need to get a handle on colons an the like

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2014


16478 Comments


no problem bro

TheSpirit
February 6th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All edits done, will not make those mistakes again. Also idk black metal and punk ideals don't really seem to similar at their very cores.

TheSpirit
February 6th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wtf

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2014


19063 Comments


awesome little review gotta check

Digging: Objekt - Objekt #2

TheSpirit
February 6th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can see you jamming this Matt. I think you'd like a few songs at least

Nikkolae
February 6th 2014


4870 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

so fucking nasty, lovely.

Digging: Modern Witch - Unknown Domain

TheSpirit
February 6th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this grims hard

TheSpirit
July 10th 2014


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I may need to bump my rating for this, this actually really rules



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy