Isaiah Rashad
Cilvia Demo


4.0
excellent

Review

by Guzzo CONTRIBUTOR (25 Reviews)
January 31st, 2014 | 49 replies


Release Date: 01/28/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Well thank God for the shooter, and thank God for the leader, and think hard for a message.

Contradictions are everywhere in music. It’s one of the greatest techniques for fully understanding the message of an artist. On Drake’s LP Take Care we saw a person who claimed to have every want in the world, but still ended up with nothing. It’s the idea that maybe the biggest thing holding him back was himself; that the wants simply didn’t coincide with the main need. And even though he had full understanding of what the problem was, he still couldn’t stop from indulging. Isaiah Rashad’s Cilvia Demo bathes in the concept of contradictions to put the listener in a first person view of the artist’s conflictions. Behind the excellent drugged production style that fancies itself with dream-like synths and airy hypnotizing piano loops is the voice of Isaiah Rashad. A voice that would just as likely to be heard talking about living for the money and weed as it would talking introspectively about the habitual lifestyle that drugs and violence cause. The album fluctuates so frequently between what Rashad wants to do, and what he needs to do seemingly with every song. And with every new line saying, “Baby, can you sucky on my dick? I know it's big enough” we hear something like, “I just hope she praying when she down on her knees/ You see I often treat these hoes like their fathers would be/ Good Lord, my flaws.” Perhaps it’s the idea that Isaiah Rashad is increasingly self-aware of his flaws that makes Cilvia Demo something more than just another venture into the hard-knock life of a kid without a father. It doesn't showcase aggression and blame; its points the finger squarely at itself. Rashad doesn't try to put his ego on a higher pedestal; rather he puts himself eye-to-eye with a mirror and crafts an EP so relatable that its idea is something sorely missing in much of hip-hop. It feels human.

I smoke too much, the problems of a 20 something
I drink too often, there's liquor pouring from the faucet
You would assume by following the tunes
And I’m doomed to die young, addicted to dry plum
These bitches ain't *** and pussy is my greatest vice
I love smoking weed, I hate advice
I know some niggas that talk good
The wise men from a long line of bitch made and bridesmen
You never had nothing but ***ing dreams
You just caught up in the hype
The fashion so it seems




Recent reviews by this author
Royal Blood Royal BloodHow to Dress Well What Is This Heart?
Ab-Soul These Days...Tigers Jaw Charmer
La Dispute Rooms of the HouseArmand Hammer Race Music
user ratings (83)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
January 31st 2014


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ye

spookynewghostfriend
January 31st 2014


4458 Comments


i like mgk- wild boy would i like this =]

Digging: Friendzone - DX

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album just keeps growing on me the more I listen. Definitely hyped for the other 5 TDE releases coming this year.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 31st 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rap is crap neg

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

BACK UP GNARLY

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 31st 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBVBUt4DOQQ

Hep Kat
January 31st 2014


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

is it cliche of me to like rip kevin miller the best

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think you would be venturing to far into the mainstream if you said it, be wary brah

Hep Kat
January 31st 2014


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i could never give up my thick steve madden frames, fuckit IM OUT

ShitsofRain
January 31st 2014


5910 Comments


pos

Digging: Round One to Round Five - 1993-99 Main Street Records

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you sir. Have you listened to this yet?

DropdeadWHA
February 1st 2014


652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was completely surprised by the consistency of this. Some outstanding tracks on here.

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My only real complaint is that the overall sound of the album tends to never change

MMX
February 2nd 2014


4829 Comments


Shot You Down is one hell of a song

Kiran
Emeritus
February 2nd 2014


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heavenly father jams

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2014


1061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heavenly Father is my favorite Kiran. That last verse that I quoted in the review, when the beat almost stops altogether and Rashad goes basically acapella, so good.

DropdeadWHA
February 2nd 2014


652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

R.I.P Kevin Miller is a banger, some decent beats on here too. Hope he doesn't dilute himself once he gets more popular.

guitarded_chuck
February 6th 2014


3103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

essential listen

yall sleepin

sportsboy
February 11th 2014


640 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's...ok

Digging: Oneohtrix Point Never - Rifts

MMX
February 11th 2014


4829 Comments


this is definitely growing on me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy