His Hero Is Gone
Fifteen Counts of Arson


5.0
classic

Review

by robin EMERITUS
January 29th, 2014 | 22 replies | 2,089 views


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I also enjoy the drumming

I am not hearing it right, because Fifteen Counts of Arson is so not a pyjamas record. I actually feel guilty about the way I listen to it – the vantage point is my bed, or my feeble and deservedly broken desk-chair. The pathetic fallacy is totally off, or non-existent, the record subordinate to a crisply cold but all too posi Leeds day. A day that people actually shower for – a day people go to lectures in. There is light, and too much of it; I am waking up to it. I open the curtains and listen. For most of late 2013, His Hero Is Gone were my idea of breakfast.

I guess when you get more into hardcore you stop caring about these things. Genre becomes a routine or a pleasure rather than an event. You can put on punk records whenever and yawn through them and sip coffee – not that I drink hot drinks, but romantically I like the idea of it – happy for the company. I fondly remember Sputnik staffer Lewis Parry saying he takes naps to Modern Life Is War’s Witness, because the modulations were few and the sound had an almost lullaby quality to it. It shouldn’t be a record that submits to its listener, but it’s kind of wonderful it does. Fifteen Counts of Arson shook me awake a few times last year, being the first record to draw me into crust punk – that atmosphere, those tones, and the riffs, protected from every other punk sub-genre in this weird fortress of hate – but also seemed to be there politely and fashionably. I left it on when I had to go put washing on or buy a drink from the cornershop; I came back into my room and “Raindance”, that monolithic fucking event of a song, was playing. Nice. Of course, if you want an actual review rather than a short story about why I need to stop waking up at midday and eating breakfast at lunch, Fifteen Counts of Arson is ferocious and anti-consumerist, embittered by its politics, separates its ideologies with interludes of ambience and piano, and has song titles like “Internally Bleeding”. I also consider it a bit of a masterpiece, when I wake up in time. Which is like three times a week.



Recent reviews by this author
Superchunk I Hate MusicThe Weakerthans Reconstruction Site
The Waterboys This Is the SeaOwen At Home With Owen
Times New Viking Dancer EquiredDavid Bowie The Next Day
user ratings (62)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



15727 Comments


"not that I drink hot drinks, but romantically I like the idea of it"

fuck

Digging: A Sunny Day In Glasgow - Sea When Absent

SeaAnemone
January 29th 2014



19674 Comments


life-affirming review

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

XingKing
January 29th 2014



9964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]

robin
Emeritus
January 29th 2014



4241 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

pretty sure i stole that "romantically" line from louis ck's thing about wanting to be a drunk

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



3329 Comments


Fifteen Counts of Arson is ferocious and anti-consumerist, embittered by its politics and separates its ideologies
with interludes of ambience and piano, and has song titles like “Internally Bleeding”


http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/ArsonMurderAndJaywalking

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



3329 Comments


also if you have any say in the staff promotions please don't let the fact that I hate good music affect my chances (unrelated, haven't listened to this but I may now)

InfamousGrouse
January 29th 2014



3152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

check monuments

Digging: Jackson C. Frank - Jackson C. Frank

XingKing
January 29th 2014



9964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Monuments is best but everything they released was fantastic

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 29th 2014



4938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good album

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



17189 Comments


jesus christ you're on a roll

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



17189 Comments


write a novel or something. i could read your gently meandering prose for hours.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



15727 Comments


1234567

MO
January 29th 2014



18180 Comments


whoa redsky with the name change

spookynewghostfriend
January 29th 2014



3297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cool

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



9959 Comments


Hi, just wanted to let you know we have this policy on SputnikMusic where we only let users post one review to the front page at a time. Since you're new to these parts, this time's no biggie- next time, just wait 'til that most recent review slides off the front page and post away.

Haven't seen you around before, but excited to see more from you man. Contributor applications are coming up soon, too- may want to apply and see what happens

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

robin
Emeritus
January 29th 2014



4241 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

check monuments


love that record, it's def better. just got the bond with this one you know. vengeance by tragedy is my fave anyway

silentstar
January 29th 2014



2226 Comments


Omaha going hard with the sarcasm

InfamousGrouse
January 29th 2014



3152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I should really re-listen; I recall there being a real chasm in overall quality between Monuments and this

Do you dig From Ashes Rise?

robin
Emeritus
January 29th 2014



4241 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i dig them. not really had a full listen yet but i have a couple of records of theirs

tommygun
January 29th 2014



23467 Comments


delicious review

Digging: Obliteration - Black Death Horizon



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy