You Me At Six
Cavalier Youth


3.2
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
January 28th, 2014 | 126 replies | 9,924 views


Release Date: 01/27/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Neither cavalier, nor youthful enough to take YM@6 to the next level.

Whatever your thoughts may be concerning English rockers You Me At Six, each of their previous full-length releases came with a purpose that was ultimately realized. 2008 debut 'Take Off Your Colours' placed the band on the map, being both fun and catchy, but also showing maturity and a knack for ambitious song structure. While generic and overly Americanized, follow-up 'Hold Me Down' beefed up their sound and gained the quintet a larger fanbase. Finally, headlined by the fantastic Oli Sykes collaboration 'Bite My Tongue', 2011's 'Sinners Never Sleep' felt heavier, with more of an alt-rock style that focused on strong musicianship and expanding the range of lead vocalist Josh Franceschi. Sadly, You Me At Six have seemingly come into fourth LP 'Cavalier Youth' without a purpose, happy to get by performing good - but predictable and formulaic - tunes.

It all begins well enough, with muscular opener 'Too Young to Feel This Old' highlighting the slick production of Neal Avron (Yellowcard, New Found Glory). Guitars soar and drums pound, while Franceschi’s rock-solid vocals deliver uplifting and relatable lyrics revolving around the theme of moving on from life’s trials and tribulations. Lead single 'Lived a Lie' then adds a gang chant to the mix, while the following 'Fresh Start Fever' comes straight out of the Fall Out Boy playbook to add something just a little quirky. From there, however, 'Cavalier Youth' is very much a mixed bag, failing to hit the target more often than it succeeds. Lazy repetitive refrains and "woh woh's": See half the tunes here. Attempts to add edge that fall flat: See 'Win Some, Lose Some'. Pedestrian love songs: see 'Wild Ones' & 'Forgive and Forget'. Value-adding guest vocals: Nope, since this is the band’s first release without any. There's even an interesting little ditty that frustratingly goes unrealized due to it being cut short in 'Be Who You Are'.

In truth, ‘Cavalier Youth’ is not a bad album, since there is nothing downright awful and its handful of highlights are enjoyable enough. But, to be blunt, most things about the album feel by-the-numbers, with the Englishmen happy to play it safe for the most part. Franceschi, for instance, is a talented vocalist who has a strong voice, but does not push his range often enough here, with only 'Room to Breathe' a showcase for his skills. Rollicking latter half duo 'Hope For the Best' and 'Love Me Like You Used To' are solid and gratifying in the moment, but both are well within the band's comfort zone and are simply not memorable enough to differentiate the quintet. In fact, it is only Avron's aforementioned huge-sounding production which separates You Me At Six from hundreds of similar bands, meaning that 'Cavalier Youth' is neither cavalier, nor youthful enough to take them to the next level. "We're not young anymore" sings Franceschi to open the album. Josh, you're only 23 for fuck sake... There's plenty of time for you to get old and complacent later!

Recommended Tracks: Room to Breathe, Too Young to Feel This Old & Fresh Start Fever.




Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (64)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
TheIdealHeight (2)
More Roundhead than Cavalier...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I'm certain the review reads lower than my rating. But at the end of the day, this isn't bad, just disappointing as I feel these guys are talented & capable of better.

unaMUSEd
January 28th 2014



987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A song at the bottom of the review? Never seen that before.

Digging: Muse - The Resistance

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



21575 Comments


Had no idea this was coming out until I saw it in a record store 1 hour ago

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



21575 Comments


the soundcloud song kicks bottom though

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Then you haven't had the pleasure of reading my last 2 reviews unaMUSEd.

Was kinda the same fishy. It gets back to the opening paragraph of my review for the Canterbury LP. Albums released in January are dicing with promotional death.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



21575 Comments


Yeah, they seemed to fall off the map a bit after their 2008-2011 popularity. Doesn't help it's been 3 years since their last album.

Apparently they're in my city today..

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



21575 Comments


Actually they're currently in a store 5 minutes from where I live

SILYW
January 28th 2014



14 Comments


Room to Breathe just sounds like Let the Flames Begin by Paramore mixed with the Bite My Tongue chorus.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Meh, not quite 3 years. IIRC, 'SNS' was released in October 2011. Either way, I have no issue waiting the better part of 3 years if it was worth it. I'm unsure this is, though.

Yeah SILYW, you'll hear quite a few other bands in songs from this album.

SILYW
January 28th 2014



14 Comments


Fish. They did a sell out UK tour in 2012 as well as a Wembley show at the end of 2012. 2013 they spent most of it in America (A support tour and a headline tour) not to mention recording the album over there. It was only last year that they may have fell of the radar at least in the UK and still they did a lot of promotion towards the end of the year with Lived a Lie (features on Fifa '14, BBC radio 1 live lounge etc.), it seems to me that they have just focused more on expanding their audience in other demographics to their current fanbase to a more mainstream radio and pop audience.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Oh boy, I almost fell off my chair when I heard they sold out Wembley... But then, I saw that it was "Arena", not "Stadium".

I guess there is a fine line between a consolidating album, and a by-the-numbers album. As for expanding their audience, I don't think there is anywhere near a good enough single on here to do so.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



21575 Comments


Fair enough, but I didn't hear a peep out of them in 2013 and didn't even know they had a new album. Normally this stuff doesn't fly under my radar.

BigPleb
January 28th 2014



34023 Comments


Bet this is average as hell.

Used to jam TOYC hard back in the day.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Watch out... fishy's radar has been breached.

I hear that hell isn't anywhere near as good as average Pleb. But I guess if you're a metal fan. :-)

BigPleb
January 28th 2014



34023 Comments


Na for real though man awesome rev, as usual.

I would check this but seeing as though I haven't jammed anything by these guys for like 5-6 years, think I'll give it a miss :]

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Thanks... And I doubt you'll like this.

SILYW
January 28th 2014



14 Comments


Davey, just skimmed through the album and completely agree that there isn't solid single on here. I
thought Reckless was the obvious choice of lead single from last album and yet it was the last.

Fish, although I'm not an avid YM@6 fan I'm subscribed to their Youtube channel. They posted a lot US
tour videos and updates last year very entertaining and well edited/put together. It's probably why
I've kept up to date with their goings on.

unaMUSEd
January 28th 2014



987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Halfway through and this is pretty good, I'd say a 3.5 at this point.

Beauers
January 28th 2014



242 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I heard the new single and I checked out the itunes clips. I'll be trying to avoid this from now on. So bland.

AngryJohnny
January 28th 2014



15 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Whole album feels like a long, tired cliche



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy