Gab.riel
Tangent


4.5
superb

Review

by Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF
January 23rd, 2014 | 24 replies


Release Date: 01/22/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The peanuts weren't free.

"'Take a trip out of the solar system!', said the holo-ad hovering above the galaxy hotel. The idea seemed enticing. Seeing new worlds, taking the time to explore the outer limits of mankind's home.

The ticket was $20, packaged with peanuts and a soft drink for the flight.

The peanuts weren't free."

This is the description artist Gab.riel (Purchase College student Noah Kantor) penned for his second collection of tracks since December of 2013, Tangent, which brings this description to life. Tangent is an album that excels in its role dwelling somewhere in between an electronic sound reminiscent of an "effects and programming only" Prize Fighter Inferno and the cosmic seafaring ways of Lazer Kitty. By darting between its high points in whistles of childish whimsy and intrigue on "Chaos in the Engineering Bay" and its absolute low in the spaced out and bleak "In Other Words (The Stars)" with astonishing grace, it cements itself as a heavyweight cosmic contender.

Other tracks like opener "Glimmer" and "Starboard Side" showcase the mixture of terror and excitement that might accompany such a celestial voyage. "Glimmer," for instance, balances its low and open ambient terrain with twinkling bells of thrill that simulate that little spark of excitement overpowering the vastness of doubt and fear. "Starboard Side," on the other hand, uses a metronome, clap, and high-end beat that conjure up the thrilling, anxious heartbeat I've known since first staring out the window of a departing plane as a child - that feeling of tensely catapulting into the sky, yet staring in awe at the shrinking Earth below.

The chaotic, fast paced and hyper-futuristic glitch beats of middle track "Can You Hear Me Now?" does a great job of reconciling the two halves of the album as well. By imagining the 31st century warning siren in its electronics, the track eeks out and capitalizes on the panic in the passenger's anxious wonder. This total shock results in the propulsion of the listener-passenger into the sugary self-delusion of "Chaos in the Engineering Bay" - a track simply too joyous for its title. Yet in a flash the panic ends, and at the end of the chaos we fall into dark, black space, calling into the ethereal forever for a rescue that will never come.

Tangent is varied and very short, with a runtime of just over 17 minutes. Yet its point is very clear, its music is well-crafted and its story is well-told without overstaying its welcome. Just how long Kantor's been producing electronic music, I haven't a clue, but with an astonishing second outing like this, Gab.riel should certainly be in your ears and on your radar for the foreseeable future.



Recent reviews by this author
Thank You Scientist Maps of Non-Existent PlacesOpeth Pale Communion
Rx Bandits Gemini, Her MajestyChris Letchford Lightbox
Hoth OathbreakerMarty Friedman Inferno
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2014


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Check it out:
http://gabrielperiod.bandcamp.com/album/tangent

I only dig it more and more the more I listen to this.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Maps of Non-Existent Places

Mad.
January 23rd 2014


3977 Comments


Omg Lazer Kitty + that artwork? Must check

That intro thing reminds me pree strongly of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2014


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

More electronic than the Kitty, but the cosmic gearing and some of the electronics are the same, definitely worth less than 20 mins of your time as short as the album is

Pheromone
January 23rd 2014


3633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening now, sounds sweet thus far. Good review by the way!

Digging: Squirrel Bait - Skag Heaven

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2014


6199 Comments


I clearly understood your points in the review Thompson, I jammed the bandcamp link and I found it interesting, but in general, you should proofread more carefully.



Some suggestions:

Through an electronic sound reminiscent of an effects and programming only Prize Fighter Inferno mixed with the cosmic seafaring ways of Lazer Kitty, Tangent darts between its high points in whistles of childish whimsy and intrigue on "Chaos in the Engineering Bay" and its absolute low in the spaced out, darkly ambient, and bleak "In Other Words (The Stars)" with astonishing grace.

This reads like a run-on sentence. I would rephrase as follows:

In short, Tangent lies in between the "effects and programming only" patterns of Prize Fighter Inferno and the cosmic seafaring navigations of Lazer Kitty. Its highs consist of childish whimsy and intrigue (like for example, on "Chaos in the Engineering Bay"), while its (absolute) lows are commemorated with spaced out, darkly ambient, and bleak numbers such as "In Other Words (The Stars)"


"Glimmer," for instance, balances its low and open ambient terrain with twinkling bells of thrill, while "Starboard Side" uses a metronome, clap, and high-end beat that conjure up the thrilling, anxious heartbeat I've known since first staring out the window of a plane taking off as a child - that feeling of intense force of the vehicle catapulting into the sky, yet staring in awe at the shrinking Earth below.

This reads like a run-on sentence. I would rephrase as follows: [2]

"Glimmer," for instance, balances between soothing ambient terrains and twinkling bells of thrill, while the metronome, clap, and high-end beat of "Starboard" excites the anxious heartbeat I've always felt as an adolescent passenger, during a plane takeoff.


The chaotic, fast paced and hyper-futuristic glitch beats of middle track "Can You Hear Me Now?" does a great job of reconciling the two halves of the album as well, eeking out the panic in the passenger's anxious wonder by imagining the 31st century warning siren, propelling the listener into the self-delusion of "Chaos in the Engineering Bay" - a track too joyous for its title.

This sentence feels a bit messy. I would rephrase as follows:

The chaotic, fast paced and hyper-futuristic glitch beats of middle track "Can You Hear Me Now?" do a great job at reconciling the two halves of the album. On another note, "Chaos in the Engineering Bay" - a track too joyous for its title - fleshes out the passenger's anxious dwelling, as he tries to imagine the 31st century warning siren inside his mind.




Aside from proofreading suggestions, try to listen to the album Drei from Beefcake, you will worship it instantly.

Digging: Aeon Sable - Visionaers

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2014


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks dude. I will make some edits. I know I have a tendency towards long sentences that seem like
run-ons.

Edit: Made some heavy edits. Should be better. I couldn't kill that line about my personal experience
with staring out the plane window... The track captures that too perfectly. I did trim it down a bit,
though.

I'll try to spend more time with my reviews in the future. Mostly, though I'm trying to get them done
before heading into work so that I can be productive. Aaaand now I'll probably be late haha.

Mad.
January 23rd 2014


3977 Comments


20 mins? Will defo get on it. Just wish Bandcamp wasn't blocked at my school :/

Dayum that's a long-ass comment

noahhk
January 24th 2014


5 Comments


Hey there, everyone. I am Noah Kantor, the creator of this album! I just noticed that my viewcount
on bandcamp went through the roof over over the past few days, so I tracked that source down to this
particular page.

I'm glad that you are enjoying my music! As my profile on bandcamp mentions, and AtomicWaste duly
noted in the review; I am a student in New Media over at Purchase College, just on the outskirts of
New York City. I created this album and the previous set "I/O: Birth of Man" as a sort of musical
experiment. Because my studies focus on visual art, I figured that I would give a crack at
electronic music to mix up my project schedule a bit and experiment with other artistic forms than
graphic design or video editing.

I'm happy that you guys are enjoying the result of that bout of inspiration! I'm thinking that if I
get some more good feedback, I might just work on a third album and try out something more complex
for the next set. If you have any questions for me, please leave a comment and I will do my best to
answer.

Pheromone
January 24th 2014


3633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's a great album

Calc
January 24th 2014


12250 Comments


will listen solely because atomic reviewed it.

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2014


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey Noah - glad to see you stop by! I'm also glad so far everyone seems to be enjoying this. It's a really well-crafted album, and you should be proud of yourself. You should definitely go for album #3, and I'll be excited to hear it.

@Calc - Thanks, man! Not sure how you dig electronic stuff, but this is pretty awesome to me.

Calc
January 24th 2014


12250 Comments


I'm not exactly a connoisseur but I like some stuffs.

noahhk
January 25th 2014


5 Comments


You know what? Just for the hell of it: I am going to post three download codes for those interested in the album! Redeem these at bandcamp.com/yum.

nsx9-vb7s
wjck-gwql
cghu-uxge

Enjoy the music, and please leave a rating/review if you liked it!



AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very cool! Grab these before they're gone, y'all!

Pheromone
January 25th 2014


3633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm feeling right apon that border of 3.24/5 here, cheers for the download by the way man!
I think it's definitely an enjoyable EP and Glimmer is fantastic so I would really like to see a third release some time, keep on keeping on!

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014


6154 Comments


copped one of them download codes, will have a listen tonight.

i'd also like to second that you listen to drei by beefcake immediately tom (and honestly everyone else), shit is gorgeous

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds good, d00d - I will check it out now!

noahhk
January 26th 2014


5 Comments


Thanks, GnarlyShillelagh! If you enjoyed the album, please leave a review!

thelastsignal
January 27th 2014


1370 Comments


Read this review, good stuff and the music sounds really interesting. I will definitely have a listen. Also worthy of note, as I scrolled back up I saw that my view was the 666th view of the rev, so yeah first time for that haha.

Mad.
January 27th 2014


3977 Comments


SIX
SIX SIX
THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST
HELL AND FIRE WAS SPAWNED TO BE RELEASED

sorry



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy