Hail Spirit Noir
Oi Magoi


4.5
superb

Review

by piroga84 USER (9 Reviews)
January 15th, 2014 | 59 replies | 6,174 views


Release Date: 01/20/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: there are still albums with no fillers out there

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Hail Spirit Noir is a great band. At the same time they are dangerously addictive. “Oi magoi”, their second album, has some kind of magic in it. You can call it a binding spell. Every composition seems like having two or three different songs in it. I found myself not liking a song in the beginning and in the middle it blew me away. There are so many twists and turns, corners and hidden spots in the album that feels like walking in a labyrinth. The minds of these guys seem overly complicated but they manage to show us one or two flashes of their imagination. You need to give it time.

I like to call it an album –in between. It stands somewhere in between metal genres, though not enough of anything, to be precisely categorized. It carries the tradition of greek black metal in it, melody and atmosphere wise. “Satan is time” is an early standout. The clean vocals add the extra charm I needed to love this song. In the very pit of this album’s existence is progressive rock. And rock and roll. “Mermaid” is an 11 minute jam, where the keyboards take the driver's seat from the relentless avant-gardish riffing. This is a dark -near instrumental- progressive jam that could easily belong to the seventies.

The brutal and clean vocals constantly mix, giving the songs a theatrical edge. I am pretty sure that “Oi magoi” is not a concept album and how could it be with so many moods and layers in it. Should I call it schizophrenic at times, I am not sure, even after all these times I listened to it. And greek lyrics in the closing song? Yeah, why not! It absolutely works, the band sounds exotic, archaic and mysterious. It is repetitive, chanting the same words again and again, like the final scene of an obscure play. I found myself almost lost in my thoughts, mystified and entertained by these guys’ passion play.
Should I state some cons in this album? Yes it can sound retro at times because of its production. If you have a thing about modern production, then the warm, analog sounds of Hail Spirit Noir’s sophomore album wouldn't fit you.

I call this a masterpiece. A masterpiece for its originality and unique mixtures of sounds. A masterpiece because while listening to it, I didn't need to over analyze the reasons why I liked it. I felt it.



Recent reviews by this author
Riot The Privilege of PowerManowar Louder Than Hell
Megadeth Super ColliderRod Stewart Time
Warlord The Holy EmpireMetallica Reload
user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Pneuma

Comments:Add a Comment 
piroga84
January 15th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can i give a youtube link?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2014



5612 Comments


Listen to "Satan Is Time" here - https://soundcloud.com/heavyhardmetalmania/satan-is-time-by-hail-spirit/s-m98y0

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2014



18212 Comments


I've been pretty stoked for this, can't wait to hear it.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

piroga84
January 15th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3y7aYqD_u4
is it "legal" right? it has been to youtube almost 10 days

piroga84
January 15th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks whoever you are!

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2014



18212 Comments


Have another pos. Good job.

piroga84
January 15th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks a lot jamie, waiting for your opinion about magoi

SCREAM!
January 15th 2014



9590 Comments


only listened to this once and I didn't feel like I got a lot out of it. However I think that will change with more listens. Their debut was great. Good job man

Myrkur
January 15th 2014



164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is awesome, no filler indeed.

piroga84
January 15th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is a really good release, seriously these guys are for real

CaptainDooRight
January 15th 2014



26444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

jammed like 9 times already....

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

CaptainDooRight
January 15th 2014



26444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok so i lied butt this is 3.5 AT best

CaptainDooRight
January 15th 2014



26444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i could even possibly 3 this due to lack of emotion in various parts and lasting impressions

piroga84
January 15th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lack of emotion?? then the spell is not yet upon you ;-)

manosg
January 15th 2014



4690 Comments


Long time no see piroga. I've heard good stuff about this band so I might check them out. Have a pos too.

Digging: Jan Akkerman - Tabernakel

piroga84
January 15th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes do that, the link is ^^
thank you as always, i appreciate it!
oh and a happy new year manos

manosg
January 15th 2014



4690 Comments


Thanks man, happy new year to you as well!

CaptainDooRight
January 15th 2014



26444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

in various parts

key words 'various parts'

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2014



18212 Comments


Do you dig their debut, Cap? That album rules.

piroga84
January 15th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

;-)
key sign ;-)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy