Manners
Pale Blue Light


4.0
excellent

Review

by matthew turok USER (32 Reviews)
January 4th, 2014 | 137 replies


Release Date: 01/03/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I can't relate to other people, I can't seem to find some common ground. I can't think straight in public places, I just keep running my fucking mouth.

If you're unfamiliar with Manners, they're one of the most promising melodic hardcore bands out right now, in a weird timeframe where a lot of melodic hardcore is metalcore-infused and 14 year old girls are begging their mom's for Defeater tattoos. What sets Manners apart from other bands in the scene like More Than Life, Defeater, Counterparts, etc. is that their lyrics are ***ing sadder, and their music is just all around more despondent sounding. It's been this way since their second EP, Apparitions in 2010, but on Pale Blue Light they took it to a whole new level of depression. This album sounds and reads like a suicide note, and to achieve that sonically without ripping off a late '90s/early '00s emo band is pretty impressive.

Manners has something else their peers lack though: they bring the mosh. This album has managed to help me reflect on my cycles of depression almost as much as it's made me accidentally kick my mom in the face when she's sweetly bringing me coffee, bless her heart. She takes it like a champ. Sometimes you just gotta kick things over in your bedroom, you know? But for real: as a person who's clinically depressed and struggling to maintain their mood on a day-to-day basis, this band has become a crutch in trying to break the cycle. The fact that there's music that can reflect the feeling that accurately floors me. This is up there on terms of moving melodic hardcore with Final Fight, early Comeback Kid, Life Long Tragedy, Verse, etc. in my opinion, and that opinion is the right one, so it should be in yours as well.



Recent reviews by this author
Mayak (Rus) The Art Of Not Feeling FineRitual Mess Ritual Mess
Tower Of Rome & Gun Kata SplitStray From the Path Our Oceania
Codex (USA) DelusionsCavities Within The Wings
user ratings (107)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Mark A. CONTRIBUTOR (5)
Manners has succeeded in creating an album that highlights the harsh realities of life in a way that...


Comments:Add a Comment 
witchxrapist
January 3rd 2014


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

HAVE YOU EVER FELT LIKE YOU COULD SLEEP FOR A THOUSAND YEARS?

botb
January 3rd 2014


10009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

gonna write a review for this i think

witchxrapist
January 3rd 2014


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do it son. I just wanted this to be more up in people's feeds. And seriously, the lyrical content.

botb
January 3rd 2014


10009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

was super stoked on the variety, because after apparitions i was like this band can do a lot of different stuff really well... the botchy sounding riffs and then super melodic stuff and haunting atmosphere and super sad parts, so i wasn't sure where they were gonna go because that ep was so varied. and they still are super varied on this, its cool

botb
January 3rd 2014


10009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

theres like sludgy parts and then parts that sound like deafheaven and everything in between its sweet

Hep Kat
January 3rd 2014


17176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea this is dope



they should do a split with foxfires, that would be tite

Digging: Wati Heru and Kashaka - Dystopia FM

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 3rd 2014


5337 Comments


gna check this fosho

Digging: Young Thug - Barter 6

witchxrapist
January 3rd 2014


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Gibbes: I absolutely love how they added atmospheric black metal influenced parts to their sound, just so many different ways of expressing the sad. Very romantic vibes.

Hep Kat
January 3rd 2014


17176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

these boys are sad,,,,

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2014


51277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gonna check tonight

Digging: Hop Along - Painted Shut

InFiction
January 3rd 2014


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Awesome album.

witchxrapist
January 3rd 2014


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

funf dunkel jungen

ShadowRemains
January 3rd 2014


22168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shit rules

ConorIsNotHere
January 3rd 2014


1307 Comments


I really enjoyed this album. Equinox is brilliant.

Nikkolae
January 3rd 2014


4916 Comments


s'alright

FearThyEvil
January 3rd 2014


13105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this kicks ass.

Veldin
January 3rd 2014


2247 Comments


stream anywhere? Sweet review!

ShadowRemains
January 3rd 2014


22168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

here



http://mannersct.bandcamp.com/album/pale-blue-light

FearThyEvil
January 3rd 2014


13105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I ended up downloading it

ShadowRemains
January 3rd 2014


22168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude's vocals have definitely taken a step up



and they were good before



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy