Pixies
EP2


2.8
good

Review

by Joseph Viney STAFF
January 3rd, 2014 | 42 replies | 9,900 views


Release Date: 01/03/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Christmas is a time for elves, January is a time for Pixies

At what point do we stop comparing an artist’s prior body of work with its successors?

Inevitably, Pixies suffered the is-it-as-good-as-their-old-stuff routine upon the release of 2013’s EP1. Sniffy reviews from the likes of Pitchfork (surprise, surprise) meant that the EP’s merits were quickly snatched away when unfair comparisons were made to records crafted over two decades ago.

But Pixies are a movement within themselves, and a core and devoted fanbase allied with a strong, extensive touring routine meant that any reservations about a matured and evolved Pixies moving into a new age could be shelved.

EP2 arrived with a thud this morning, granting it the gravitas of being 2014’s first notable release and with it, pretty much a continuation of the groundwork laid by EP1. This new collection of songs combines a brooding menace with broader themes and more accessible traits that might have escaped a few people first time around. Alas, it is not without its negative points.

EP2’s opening brace of tracks make up the best of the EP. Although opener “Blue Eyed Hexe” starts with some uninspired AC/DC-esque plodding, it soon grows into a screaming, cursing monster. Following on, “Magdalena” is something of a fearsome and malevolent ode to twisted desires. Its forceful, sludgy riff and slightly shifting rhythms encourage you to listen again and again.

It is the last two tracks of EP2 that bring a little disappointment. “Greens and Blues” just seems too…nice for Pixies while “Snakes” is probably the one that would make it as a single, but its arms aloft-style chorus and ease with which Pixies could squeeze songs like this out make you realise they’re capable of much more.

What else can you say? Let’s hold on for EP3, shall we?



Recent reviews by this author
Babyshambles Sequel To The PrequelMark Lanegan Imitations
Arctic Monkeys AMBeady Eye BE
The Fall Re-MitEdwyn Collins Understated
user ratings (70)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Killerhit (2)
The struggling attempt of a long-gone band trying to get back in shape....

Liza Lowe (2)
Where is my Pixies?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Pheromone
January 3rd 2014



2947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The first two tracks & snakes are really great but I the third hardly holds up when placed with the other.
Still I think it's a solid release

Digging: The Flaming Lips - 7 Skies H3

ShitsofRain
January 3rd 2014



4712 Comments


this came quicky

Digging: Ground Zero - Revolutionary Pekinese Opera, Ver. 1.28

JViney
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2014



313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Story of my life.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 3rd 2014



7838 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

teehee

Digging: Kettle Rebellion - Kettle Rebellion

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 3rd 2014



7838 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

but yea basically agree with ur review first 2 tracks ruled last 2 not so much


jtswope
January 3rd 2014



1210 Comments


god damn I really wanted this to be good since the last one was kinda meh. guess i'll have to listen.

SnakeDelilah
January 3rd 2014



3512 Comments


01/03/2013


something's not right about this

Hep Kat
January 3rd 2014



14023 Comments


fixed the release date,,,,,,,


i bet this is gay

Digging: Fucked Up - Year of the Dragon

Green Baron
January 3rd 2014



11161 Comments


will there even be an EP3?

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

Gwyn.
January 3rd 2014



14017 Comments


Yes

Apparently there will be like 5 or maybe more since this is gonna be their alternative to releasing LPs in big labels

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2014



48562 Comments


I didn't even know this was coming out

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2014



7237 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No one did until this morning.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2014



48562 Comments


"Inevitably, Pixies suffered the is-it-as-good-as-their-old-stuff routine upon the release of 2013’s EP1. Sniffy reviews from the likes of Pitchfork (surprise, surprise) meant that the EP’s merits were quickly snatched away when unfair comparisons were made to records crafted over two decades ago."

Hey

Hey, I pointed out that they were already disappointing in the 90s in my review damn

Pheromone
January 3rd 2014



2947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bossanova > Doolittle

demigod!
January 3rd 2014



40970 Comments


maybe if you have retarded ears

Pheromone
January 3rd 2014



2947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

my retarded ears > yours

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 3rd 2014



7838 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ytea

TheSpirit
January 3rd 2014



16662 Comments


nice to youre still around posting reviews joseph. i knew this was your review as soon as i saw the summary

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

Deadwing42
January 3rd 2014



125 Comments


First impressions: First song sounds generic. It doesn't give me that Pixies feel- the riff sounds like anyone could have done it, the chorus is really nothing special. The rest of the songs all have pretty likable melodies. Magdalena seems really ambient to me. Definitely sets a mood. The third song I remember liking, but nothing really sticks out. Snakes is pretty damn good though, love the chorus.

Not gonna rate it yet, but will probably get about a 2.5 from me. I really liked EP 1. It wasn't earth shattering at all, but this definitely isn't as good as that. This just sounds like something a decent indie band would make- not a legendary band like the Pixies.



Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2014



7011 Comments


Totally a jviney summary right there.

Good to have you back mate =)

Digging: Pixies - Indie Cindy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy