Lorna Shore
Maleficium


4.0
excellent

Review

by Betray USER (5 Reviews)
December 27th, 2013 | 27 replies | 3,279 views


Release Date: 12/19/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: New Jersey deathcore quartet Lorna Shore brings a surprisingly brutal and punishing EP, not for the faint of heart.

6 of 12 thought this review was well written

For a deathcore band in 2013 to avoid being completely overlooked, they need more than just one trick up their sleeve. Simply having a vocalist with a great range or a very skilled drummer isn't going to cut it. Luckily enough for any listener of 2013 EP "Maleficium", Lorna Shore packs enough of a punch in each of the four members musical professions to leave any death metal or deathcore fan craving much more than the EP's 20 minute runtime.

The punishment doesn't take long to begin, after about 40 seconds a strong intro riff and blast beating accompanied by a tight double bass drum begin belting your ears, not to relent until the EP is over. The first track, 'Godmaker', perfectly sets the tone for the rest of the EP, showcasing all the band's strengths in one four and a half minute track.

Austin Archey's drumming is fast, tight, and perfectly in time, every time. The constant demand for lightning fast blast beats, extremely quick double bass and frequent tempo changes seems only second nature to the expert drummer. Ending track 'Accumulatory Genophage' showcases the drummers skills perfectly.

Vocalist Tom Barber's brutal lyrics are spit out in a manner that I can only describe as being a wretched combination of Whitechapel's Phil Bozeman Infinite Death-era Thy Art Is Murder's Brendan van Ryn for lows and highs respectively. "So say goodbye to your father, your mother, your sisters and your brothers" because the lyrics are just as brutal as the voice that screams them. The adept vocalist's extreme range shines on title track 'Maleficium'.

Guitarist Adam De Micco adds his creative touch into the equation, riffing and chugging his way throughout. He's landed a perfect combination of death metal style riffing where it it fits, and chugging when its necessary. There are two great stand out solos on the tracks 'Maleficium' and 'Accumulatory Genophage' that perfectly fit the EP's dark and twisted theme.

Lastly, Gary Herrera's bass playing must perfectly follow suit behind the guitar playing, because there are unfortunately VERY few times where the bass guitar sticks out of the mix at all, if any.

Lorna Shore's "Maleficium" brings a ferocious, bloodthirsty and unique change of pace to the otherwise stale deathcore genre, but it's not perfect by any means. The overall short length, complete lack of a pronounced bass guitar and the very frequent, sometimes erratic tempo changes may be a turn off to some, but by no means should constitute anyone who's a fan of the band or their genre to skip out.

If a five track, twenty minute EP can devastate the listener in this manner, I eagerly anticipate a full-length release from this group.


user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Betray
December 26th 2013



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review. Tell me how I can improve.

Digging: Sylosis - Conclusion of an Age

Nocturnal
December 26th 2013



1329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pos'd. I'd love to help you out and give you some constructive criticism but I don't feel i'm educated enough in the art of reviewing to send you in the right direction. I personally didn't find any major holes or blunders in the review but what do i know. Well done and this EP is sick. One of the best deathcore releases of 2013 without a doubt.

Nocturnal
December 27th 2013



1329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Jersey ShoreCore.

TheMoreira
January 8th 2014



7173 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If i may, and with all due respect, you shouldn't start a review with a sentence like that. Other than that, you did a very decent job.

Now as for my opinion of the EP itself, unfortunately i can't say as much as you do about these guys. Bone Kingdom left room for wondering where these guys would go, and this Maleficium only does the same for me. It's still not the release i was looking for, and if they insist in this strain of slow, often uncomprehensibly and incoherently written Deathcore, i don't think i'll be able to to like them more than i do now. I do agree with you when you speak wonders about their riffs (some of them) and drumming, even vocals. They are somewhat strong as individuals, and really try to innovate i'd say. But i felt like all of that good mixing and great execution has been underwhelmed by a lack of sense of appliance, if that makes sense to you. Needs more original ideas, more brutality, less chugs that go nowhere and weird transitions that break the songs' flows.

Sorry for the soundoff lel

Digging: Ulcerate - The Destroyers of All

Betray
January 9th 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No apologies necessary man. Appreciate the feedback.

And admittedly, the EP does leave something to be desired.

Fixed.

TheMoreira
January 9th 2014



7173 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also welcome to the site. Keep up the reviewing!

Diamondize
March 24th 2014



1297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They improved so much since their last EP.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

Betray
March 24th 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their last EP is still good though.

Saw these guys live earlier in the month, was awesome. They just played this whole EP.

Hung out with them a bit afterwards, since me and the person I went with were basically the only two that knew them, lol.

Diamondize
March 26th 2014



1297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Love all the hype these guys got cuz of their new EP, all of their material is definitely a step above most post-2010 deathcore bands. They also live close, so I've got some state pride. Never saw them live though, I envy you man.

Betray
March 26th 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, they killed it.

The crowd's reaction was most depressing though. The ones that actually left the merch tables/bar area to go to the front of the stage just kinda.... stood there.

Miggl
April 26th 2014



10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love their "offbeat" breakdowns! This is such a great way to catch the listener off guard or to grab the attention. Also, brewdl. Unfortunately, although their songwriting indeed is more advanced than most generic deathcore today, the breakdowns or faster arrangements often appear to turn out pretty dull. Infant Annihilator dull.
However, I like this one

Oh btw, your review seemed a bit too personal in comparison to the others I've read so far. Maybe if you distanced yourself a litte more from it, I think it should be fine!

Betray
April 27th 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, looking back on this is is not all that good. Thanks though.

Betray
April 28th 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One thing that's cool about the "offbeatness" of this little EP, they can recreate it perfectly live!

GoobaDooba
June 2nd 2014



20 Comments


no they don't. they suck shit live and I hate that some of my money I spent to see Whitechapel is going to those fucking phonies.

Betray
June 2nd 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they're an opening act man damn and they played good at the show I was at

GoobaDooba
June 2nd 2014



20 Comments


they played like a fucking bag of dicks at the show I was at. Everyone got pissed off and threw shit at them and then they tried to act all tough until this big motherfucker in the crowd threw this beer bottle directly at the vocalist's face and broke his nose. there was blood everywhere it was awesome. m/ as fuck

Diamondize
June 3rd 2014



1297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good shit Tom Barber is known to be a fucking cunt

Betray
June 3rd 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yo. I chilled with Tom before and after show and he was pretty alright until he lost some kid's merch that he set aside for him and started punching shit which was p cunty

Betray
August 4th 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[comment this was response to deleted]

Betray
August 4th 2014



2726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[comment this was response to deleted]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy