Plini
Sweet Nothings


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dan H. CONTRIBUTOR (54 Reviews)
October 29th, 2013 | 53 replies


Release Date: 10/11/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bedrooms are productive places.

After a long gruelling day of menial and infuriating tasks, there are few things more satisfying than retiring to the safe haven that is your bedroom. Within the confines of those four familiar walls, you can engage religiously in the trivial and inane, and fritter time away exploring every whim and fancy. Or, you know; you could craft a brilliant post-rock E.P and release it to the world mere months after your last sublime bedroom creation. Now, tipping your hat to the notion that becoming an established composer probably exceeds your existence as a nocturnal gaming sloth, we can appreciate and applaud the genius of 21 year old Australian Plini, who is already forging a strong reputation as the rising star of post-rock.

Seemingly known by his moniker alone, Plini creates genuinely special music by infusing classic, soaring rock riffs with angelic orchestrations. Strings of all varieties co-exist and overlap with supreme precision, so much so that without keen attention, many blissful moments may simply pass the listener by. The riffs are undeniably reminiscent of Clapton, and the Cream and Led Zeppelin influences can be felt in ripples throughout the album. The frantic yet understated solo towards the end of opener ‘Soaring’ and the emphatic chugging energy of title track ‘Sweet Nothings’ paint the picture of an aspiring artist who has lived, breathed and drank rock n’ roll, and whose had the perspicacity to lift the brilliance of days gone by and morph it into something totally his own.

Above all else however, it’s the backdrops to the songs which enable Plini to stand out from his contemporaries. Mastery of the basic pentatonic scales can be achieved by many, but it’s the orchestral backdrops and keys which many of the riffs dance against which allows the songs to feel like so much more – propelling each and every one of them way beyond their formulaic foundations. Just as the energy of ‘Soaring’ subsides, subtle violins pay homage to an exiting guitar and a distant choral accompaniment elevates the song to breathtaking levels. Elsewhere, they choose to ebb and flow, inconspicuously encouraging the songs to build; most effectively on the climatic ‘Tarred and Feathered.’

These moments of meticulous brilliance pepper the E.P - a feat which is made all the more impressive by its tender 17 minute running time. Once Sweet Nothings has finished whispering what it has to offer in both your ears, you’ll crave it even more.



Recent reviews by this author
Basement Further SkyBen Howard I Forget Where We Were
FACT WitnessWillis Earl Beal Acousmatic Sorcery
Interpol El PintorMaybeshewill Fair Youth
user ratings (154)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2013


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So I've not written anything in a while. Anything egregious let me know.


I also didn't mention Away intentionally, as it's my favourite track and I couldn't write anything other than DAT BASSLINE.

BallsToTheWall
October 29th 2013


44785 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The artwork, the mention of strings, I must 5 this immediately.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

MikeC26
October 29th 2013


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice one. Jammed this this weekend and it's cool

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2013


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Insta5, Balls.

Tyrael
October 29th 2013


20945 Comments


rules

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

paradox1216
October 29th 2013


511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk if i would call this post-rock (certainly wouldn't be too inaccurate though), but great EP and great review

RadicalEd
October 30th 2013


2743 Comments


Good review. Congratz on the feature. Other EP rocked, have this on my PC, but need to listen to it still.

Winsomniac
October 30th 2013


8001 Comments


Oooh. Interesting.

Digging: The Ghost Inside - Dear Youth

Calc
October 30th 2013


12293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this aint post rock, but its good

Digging: Mr. Oizo - The Church

RadicalEd
October 30th 2013


2743 Comments


You can also listen to the whole thing on YT.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ywlWkkNl19U

tommygun
October 30th 2013


25094 Comments


nice piece dan the man always love reading your work

Digging: Banks - Goddess

SitarHero
October 30th 2013


4708 Comments


I was listening to Opening and thought, 'this guy sure sounds a heckuva lot like Gru'. And sure enough, Gru guests on it. Great stuff.

AnimalsAsSummit
October 30th 2013


911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

More instrumental jazz fusion inspired metal/rock. The post rock is hard for me to hear in this. Nonetheless, great review and great EP.

Digging: Ott - Skylon

NightProwler
October 30th 2013


6539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds very interesting. I might give this or the former EP a go. Great review, have a pos!

Digging: Astpai - Burden Calls

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2013


10354 Comments


Lovely work, Dan. This guy's music is killer.

aircycle
October 30th 2013


1020 Comments


shoulda linked to bandcamp (http://plini.bandcamp.com/) free download links there as well

this is perty cool

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2013


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a lot guys. You're probably right about it not being post-rock, it's a lazy blanket term I use though.

Appreciate the feature, whoever made that happen.

aircycle
October 30th 2013


1020 Comments


"recorded and mixed in my bedroom"

what kinda equipment does this guy have in his bedroom

tacos N stuff
October 30th 2013


392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will this bastard release a damn lp already

heyadam
October 30th 2013


1718 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was fantastic. It definitely went by way too fast though

Digging: Casey Crescenzo - Amour and Attrition



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy