Exxasens
Satellites


3.5
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
October 29th, 2013 | 35 replies | 4,400 views


Release Date: 10/28/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Carving a niche of their own.

What started as post rock with metal leanings is slowly morphing into an electronic-reliant outfit. Exxasens have always lived behind the big names of the genre, such as God Is An Astronaut, 65daysofstatic or even Maserati, among others. While some never bothered to discover their core, dismissing them as blatant copies, others enjoyed the mixture between the aforementioned bands with a shade of post metal a la Pelican. Of course, there was always a struggle to carve a niche and it's weird and cool at the same time how Jordi Ruiz and co. have done that through blending all the influences into a shapeshifting unit. Now, with a 4th record in hand, aptly titled Satellites, the band pushes their futuristic sound further into the space age.

Trading distorted guitars for the delay-soaked, wall of sound, Exxasens deliver a more atmospheric experience, relying on ambiance rather than power. The tracks don't burst, instead they grow smoothly and often keep a dreamy tone that goes hand in hand with the overall aspirations. The eponymous centerpiece is the best example of this progressive phase, since the first part is comprised mostly of gentle leads and subtle piano lines, gradually giving way to the extended, powerful climax. Also, 'Sputnik' and 'Arida' beautifully mix electronic beats with eerie guitars to a lovely result that feels like a marriage between Maserati and God Is An Astronaut. The infectious melodies are enough to keep all judgements regarding the sound at bay. 'The Falling' is the tune that resembles most the powerful previous efforts. Besides the darker vibe, the distortion is back and the lush synthesizers once more make for an excellent ending to this journey. The samples return too, this time narrating the re-entry and the splash down of the damaged Apollo 13 back in 1970.

So, how will Satellites stand the test of time? It's not a genre-bending record, but its light nature and honest sound makes it a nice, casual listen. Even if purists will probably dismiss it for not being original enough, some songs will remain on playlists for at least a while. Exxasens are a young band that's still evolving and this effort shows there's much potential yet to be valued. At its worst, it can easily replace God Is An Astronaut's Origins.



Recent reviews by this author
Amplifier MystoriaCausa Sui Pewt'r Sessions 3
Karma To Burn Arch StantonYawning Man Nomadic Pursuits
Seven That Spells The Death And Resurrection Of Krautrock: IOTim Bowness Abandoned Dancehall Dreams
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a great record coming from an underrated band. It was released on October 15 as a digital download and on October 28 in physical form.

Stream it here - http://exxasens.bandcamp.com/album/satellites

Sputnik - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ToGB73_tJw
The Falling - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iG0_lwjQzIQ
Satellites - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9B47izvi_I
Rocket To The Sky (official video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSX2vcBzbNs

Digging: Amplifier - Mystoria

RadicalEd
October 29th 2013


2644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review. I always liked them, so I'll check this out for sure. Thx for the links.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks. They are a great band and need more exposure.

Willie
Moderator
October 29th 2013


15964 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These guys' other albums were awesome. I didn't even know this existed.

Digging: Necropoli - I

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol, that avatar. Thanks for the feature.

There wasn't much publicity around it. They've quietly released it a couple of weeks ago on the internet and yesterday in physical form. Their previous stuff was great as well, but this transition to a more electronic sound is also welcomed.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


10181 Comments


Nice work, man! This sounds cool.

Also, pretty sure I've seen that exact summary at least a few times =/

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks, man! Oh, I should change it then. I've always had issues with summaries, I never know what to say lol. This one seemed pretty immediate.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


10181 Comments


Summaries are tough, man. Half the time I go without one, because I sometimes prefer the idea of people actually reading my reviews all the way through! Might happen every now and then. ;p

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sometimes I wish that summary box was never there, but it helps the reader.

LilLioness
October 29th 2013


2496 Comments


Hey, there are a lot of people with knives running around.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2013


19734 Comments


Summaries can be a blessing or a curse. Sometimes I'll be stoked if I think of good one, but other times I feel like it's forced. Anyways, nice write up

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

SputnikSweetheart
October 29th 2013


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That last sentence... ahaha

[It's not a genre-bending record, but its light nature and honest sound makes it a nice, casual listen.] = Exactly how i feel. Satellites is a great song tho.

SputnikSweetheart
October 29th 2013


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Btw, you write great reviews Paul.

JS19
October 29th 2013


4251 Comments


Last album was good, may pick this up

Digging: This Will Destroy You - Another Language

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks. This slays Origins lol.

@Atari - Yeah, a good summary can easily lure readers.

SputnikSweetheart
October 29th 2013


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha what do you people have against GIaA and their inoffensive, linear, domesticated sound?

JS19
October 29th 2013


4251 Comments


The banana yesterday that I realised was way too ripe half way through, and ended up with that nasty
mushy banana taste in your mouth for half an hour afterwards and made me not want any more bananas for
the near future was better than Origins

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Sweetheat, I guess GIAA should listen to their early records for inspiration nowadays.

RadicalEd
October 29th 2013


2644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds a lot like Faunts if they went full post rock.

Ecnalzen
October 29th 2013


6530 Comments


This sounds promising. I always like clicking on an Insomniac review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy