Los Campesinos!
No Blues


3.8
excellent

Review

by John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF
October 26th, 2013 | 62 replies


Release Date: 10/29/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No Blues will make you dance till you drop. And by drop, I mean die, but in a happy fun way!

No Blues is an intoxicating album. Really, if music could get you hammered this would totally do the trick. Los Campesinos! blow up their sound, and the metric fuckton of vocal harmonies, guitar hooks and auxiliary instrumental flourishes will overwhelm your brain to the point where you can’t help but get lost. The dichotomy of an album so obsessed with death being so full of spirit it used to full effect: even when the band is employing fantastic morbid imagery on opening track “For Flotsam” (‘you say you were an old cassette that has gone and spilled its spool‘) they keep everything incredibly upbeat and well…happy. Every song builds into something epic and plainly wonderful, and the songs almost never let up.

So the band has become way more outright cheerful and life affirming, but something that hasn’t changed with Los Camp is the fact they still do way too much all the time. The last thing No Blues could ever be called is subtle, and its greatest downfall is that nearly every moment on the album past the first few phrases of a given song is so full of goings-ons that it’s hard to really dig in and connect with it. “Avocado, Baby” starts off as a wonderful, groovy little jam that turns into a smorgasbord of weird songwriting conceits and multi-layered guitars that loses sight of what was so immediately engaging about the song. Is it still urgent and exciting to listen to? Definitely, but by the time the song devolves into “Girlfriend”-esque gang chanting, you start to wonder if what you‘re listening to is just a bunch of crazy ideas thrown together in a potluck of indie nonsense.

In the end though, everything here is probably for the best. Los Camp have never sounded better or more essential, even if it’s all a little Motion City Soundtrack-ish. No Blues should propel them forward creatively and gain them a well deserved new fan base, all while giving all of us something to dance to with our friends after a few long islands.

Actually, let’s be honest, this is Los Campesinos!. A few PBRs is more likely.



Recent reviews by this author
Say Anything HebrewsWashboard Leo Thomas Louisiana Bluegrass
Crusades Perhaps You Deliver This Judgement...Against Me! Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Arcade Fire ReflektorTouche Amore Is Survived By
user ratings (79)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

why is iluvatar reviewing indie bullshit this is heresy

Sanders
October 26th 2013


2353 Comments


love the phrase metric fuckton

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2013


3471 Comments


john hipster-violence iluvatar kisses boys hipster weathered old reviewer emeritus staff legendary user hipster hanson

RadicalEd
October 26th 2013


2712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review again. Love the album.

Digging: Jakob - Sines

robin
Emeritus
October 26th 2013


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In the end though, everything here is probably for the best. Los Camp have never sounded better or more essential, even if it’s all a little Motion City Soundtrack-ish.


_____________

robin
Emeritus
October 26th 2013


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

too early to tell with this album tbh. hate half of it love the other half los campesinos

also btw the song is called avocado, baby

robin
Emeritus
October 26th 2013


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

idk though. this album could potentially strike me as happy and dance-y for literally one song in its
existence, avocado baby. which i hate hate hate. so idk

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2013


19959 Comments


"even if it’s all a little Motion City Soundtrack-ish"

sold

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I could dance for pretty much the whole album Robin. also, despite the subject matter, most of the songs here sound incredibly light to me

robin
Emeritus
October 26th 2013


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tbf i don't know what i'm saying because whenever i go to a los camp show i go nuts to their songs regardless of their content

but yeah avocado, baby not avocado's baby

Gwyn.
October 26th 2013


15161 Comments


weren't these guys on the gta v soundtrack

Hep Kat
October 26th 2013


15351 Comments


wait u said u were reviewin the new crusades next

u fukn lied to me?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I randomly got the urge to do this and Crusades isn't out for two weeks sry bby

Tyrael
October 26th 2013


20929 Comments


best summary

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2013


9060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wouldn't have guessed you would review this

I like this a lot more than Hello Sadness but damn do I miss Aleks

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I think Hello Sadness is bullshit so yeah. This is their best since Hold On Now easy

dimsim3478
October 26th 2013


5228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The second paragraph is actually a brilliantly concise summary of maximality on this album: I think the overloaded instrumentation is what hinders it from being truly important (or truly "urgent" or "exciting") as much as simply a totally enjoyable pop record. I definitely like this way more than Hanson, but I really really agree on that second paragraph. Great review.

Digging: Antarctigo Vespucci - I'm So Tethered

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I mean I enjoy the album a ton and Avocado Baby might actually be my favorite song in spite of it's retardation, but I can't really call the album something amazing with how they've constructed it

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
October 26th 2013


13378 Comments


hello sadness rules

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

RadicalEd
October 27th 2013


2712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I think Hello Sadness is bullshit so yeah. This is their best since Hold On Now easy"

this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy