Monster Magnet
Last Patrol


3.5
great

Review

by manosg USER (28 Reviews)
October 15th, 2013 | 49 replies | 6,432 views


Release Date: 10/15/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Monster Magnet travel through space and time back to 1991 and the psychedelic roots of their music.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

Monster Magnet are highly regarded as the forefathers of stoner rock along with the likes of Kyuss, Melvins, Sleep and a few other select artists. However, what distinguished Dave Wyndorf’s band from their contemporaries was the fact that they were much more influenced from acts like Hawkwind and Blue Cheer. The result of this was that they were more psychedelic and spacey rather than sludgy. Their early characteristic sound can be experienced throughout their first three releases. However, from the release of Powertrip in 1998 onwards, Monster Magnet decided to reduce gradually their psychedelic tendencies in favor of a more straightforward hard rocking sound. Even though Powertrip was the band’s commercial and to some artistic peak, their subsequent releases where received with mixed reactions. Dave Wyndorf was also on a trip of his own, influenced by drugs and incessant touring which resulted in writing music with a focus on how it sounds during a live performance. Up until now; according to Dave Wyndorf, he wanted to make an album that could be heard at the wee hours of nighttime for introspection rather than partying.


Produced by Monster Magnet’s leader Dave Wyndorf and rhythm guitarist Phil Caivano, Last Patrol is a trip down memory lane as it depends more on its vintage vibe rather than hard rocking bombast. The band with the help of this album has returned to its roots. The cover art gives the listener a hint regarding the band’s musical approach on this album. Last Patrol is more psychedelic, spacey and atmospheric than their last few releases bringing their debut Spine of God to mind. It’s only reasonable that to some it might sound tame but longtime fans may feel that this album could have been released in 1994 before Dopes to Infinity. Actually, Last Patrol sounds like a cross between Spine of God and Superjudge with a cleaner and warmer production that results to a more organic sound. This is also the first album without long time guitarist Ed Mundell who had been with the band since 1992. Interestingly enough, the album features three guitar players, something that goes unnoticed to the untrained ear, making some listeners wonder if the extra guitar brought anything additional to the band’s sound. The lyrics were written within a one week period during February 2013 and Dave Wyndorf sounds pretty great for a 56 year old dude who has fought for a long time with drug addiction.

The listener will mostly find psychedelic space-rock tracks and as with most Magnet albums, this one is also around the 60 minute mark. Most songs follow the same formula; a rather slow start with a build up that includes some excellent guitar solos and Dave Wyndorf’s characteristic vocal delivery. The standout tracks might also be the longest running of the album, namely “Last Patrol” and “End of Time”. The first one may remind to some “Bummer” with its heavy riff and its hypnotic last 3 minutes where the listener feels as if he’s floating through space and heading for a black orb. The latter, creates a sense of urgency from the beginning. It’s energetic and passionate while being equally psychedelic and rocking. Last Patrol also includes a few acoustic spacey tracks such as “Paradise” that brings to mind “Blow ‘em Off” from Dopes to Infinity, the hippy “The Duke (of Supernature)” and the dark acoustic “Stay Tuned” that is closely tied and follows the Armageddon of “End of Time”. “Mindless Ones” is the “Negasonic Teenage Warhead” of this album; the cover of “Three Kingfishers” is delivered with a doomy attitude while the opener “I Live Behind the Clouds” is the whole Last Patrol in a nutshell.

On the other hand, the main drawback of the album is the very fact that it doesn’t bring anything new to the table. Wyndorf and Co. don’t offer something novel to their longtime fans as they deliver a performance strictly within their comfort zone. This leads to the question if Last Patrol will have a significant lifetime value. The album also includes a couple of songs that could have been left out. I’m wondering what “Hallelujah” adds apart from breaking the monotony of a 100% spacey album.

Overall, Last Patrol as a whole shows character and sounds better when Monster Magnet decide to go back to their roots. The more rocking songs sound a bit lacking of character and as if they were forcefully placed to break the album’s sameness. However, this is neither an anthemic type of record nor a single focused effort from Monster Magnet. Longtime fans will find elements they can relate to and new listeners will have the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the characteristic Monster Magnet sound under the umbrella of a very good production.

Rating 3.8/5



Recent reviews by this author
Villagers of Ioannina City RizaDio This Is Your Life
Canned Heat Boogie With Canned Heat1000MODS Vultures
Loreena McKennitt The Book of SecretsTheatre Of Tragedy Theatre of Tragedy
user ratings (41)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
October 15th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Full album stream can be found here:

http://www.metalhammer.gr/magazine/hammer-tv/4648-monster-magnet-last-patrol-stream.html

As a long Monster Magnet fan I had to review this one. Your comments are very welcome.

Digging: Donovan - Sunshine Superman

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



3320 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Great review man, pos. I am happy someone decided to review Monster Magnet, even if they have an extensive catalog, there aren't many.

I haven't listened to their whole discography yet, but this album is good, even if it doesn't challenge the band's peaks (mainly Dopes To Infinity and Powertrip). End Of Time, The Duke, Mindless Ones and Last Patrol are great.

Digging: Karma To Burn - Arch Stanton

manosg
October 15th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man, I've been a fan of theirs since 1998.

This is top 5 material for me at the moment but I agree, it's not very close to their best material.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



3320 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I'm into stoner and psychedelic, but I have to say I didn't pay much attention to Monster Magnet until this year (I know, I know). I am making my way through their discography right now. They are really consistent, there isn't anything boring or awful, Wyndorf knows his stuff. I don't think he'll ever churn out another Dopes or Powertrip (they are my favorites right now), because (let's face it) he's gotten old and he's not on that drug-fueled trip anymore. However, Last Patrol is a step in the right direction, there's still some steam and groove left in him.

manosg
October 15th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's never late to get into great music, I've gotten into so many great stuff since I joined Sputnik. Wyndorf delivers great material consistently agreed. Even though I wasn't very happy with their last couple of albums, this one is a return to form. Dopes or Powertrip cannot be remade but as long as they put out Last Patrol material, I'll be happy.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



3320 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Agreed, even though Sputnik doesn't have a big stoner/psychedelic community, I found a lot of good stuff from these genres.

deslad
October 15th 2013



327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome review; I must check this out soon.

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

manosg
October 15th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man. Awesome dig too!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2013



19381 Comments


not sure what i think of the first track, but the title track is sweet!

Great review as always manosg, just one more and you'll be in double digits ;)
Never even heard of these guys to be honest, thanks for giving me another band
to check out.

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

manosg
October 15th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey man, always a pleasure!

Yeah the title track is one of the best here. If you decide to listen to any other albums of theirs, you can start with Dopes to Infinity and Powertrip.

"thanks for giving me another band to check out."
You're very welcome.

warlordfun
October 15th 2013



383 Comments


another excellent review from the boss! Have a pos! I love this band dude!

Digging: Lords Of The Crimson Alliance - Lords Of The Crimson Alliance

manosg
October 15th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks bud! The band is excellent, they've released so much great material. I'm happy you like them too.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
October 18th 2013



1835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very good album indeed, it's nice to see these guys back in action. Pretty much every song is consistent on here, but particular highlights for me are the appropriately long title track and 'Three kingfishers', as the musicianship on those two songs really shine through at various points. Also, 'End of time' really reminds me of 'Masters of the universe' by Hawkwind.

manosg
October 18th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I had trouble deciding between a 3.5 and a 4 for this one. First time I listened to it, I considered it an easy 4. Great comeback album though.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2013



7305 Comments


'influenced from acts like Hawkwind'

influenced by acts like Hawkwind and...

Otherwise, good write-up.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

manosg
October 19th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

...and Blue Cheer.

Thanks for noticing that.

Riviere
October 21st 2013



651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm really digging this, best thing they've done since Powertrip imo.

manosg
October 21st 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you like it man. Seeing as you 5d Spine of God, it's no coincidence that you enjoy this one so much. It's a real return to their roots.

NodScene23
October 23rd 2013



264 Comments


Nice work, manosg! It's good to see such respect given to Monster Mag, a sentiment I tried to echo on the Powertrip review. Great write up.

manosg
October 24th 2013



5656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers man! Monster Magnet need more recognition around here. Let's hope more people listen to their music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy