Red Fang
Whales and Leeches


4.5
superb

Review

by Zenith Lazerstorm USER (18 Reviews)
October 12th, 2013 | 24 replies | 3,347 views


Release Date: 10/15/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Booze-fueled rock that kicks your ass every time.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Ever since their self-titled Sargent House debut in 2009, Red Fang seem to have taken the heavy music underground by storm. Extensive touring, many high profile festival dates, memorable music videos, and a brand of hard rock that has widespread appeal. Aaron Beam, David Sullivan, Bryan Giles, and John Sherman are a force to be reckoned with.

Red Fang’s music is heavily distorted, sludgy, and undeniably catchy. Those themes have shown up in each release since their first record, but what they were able to do with their Relapse Records debut (and sophomore effort) Murder the Mountains, was put forth a more powerful and therefore effective version of themselves. It was as if they gained 40 lbs in muscle. Not only were the songs still memorable, but the beefier production lent a more imposing presence to the sound, and gave a stronger lasting impression overall.

It seems that one factor that has drifted under the radar with Red Fang is their progressive tendencies, such as the alternating 3/4 and 21/16 time of “Prehistoric Dog”, or the dual guitar back and forth of “Throw Up”. This is where Whales and Leeches succeeds greatly. The riffs in general are slightly lopsided, and quite unpredictable, and the rhythm section matches this to great effect, while keeping the songs from getting too out of hand (“DOEN”, “1516”). These songs are still filled with addictive hooks and the ever-present catchiness. Red Fang has not lost the ability to write a song that’ll get stuck in your head. The vocals are also very well delivered. Aaron Beam is still improving his distinctive croon, which pushes itself to the forefront during “Blood Like Cream” and Bryan Giles is sounding as menacing as ever. The vocal melodies are quite varied as well, never really becoming stale over the course of the album. And another welcome addition to this release is the guest appearance by Yob’s Mike Scheidt. His Mustaine/Wino hybrid voice is very effective in getting the second side of the record kicked off right, and makes “Dawn Rising” that much more epic.

Whales and Leeches also benefits from a very polished finish. The production is stellar, every track seems to be just the right length and the constant twists and turns feel very deliberate (even if they aren’t). Overall this album just exudes craftsmanship. This band has obviously figured out a formula that works for them, and are constantly improving their work upon each new record. While their music still maintains a (somewhat) universal appeal, Red Fang are always pushing the boundaries of what stoner music can be.

But in the end, it’s still booze-fueled rock that kicks your ass every time, so just sit there with your favorite brew (or vintage, I’m not here to judge) and enjoy another fantastic release from the lovable boozers of Portland.



Recent reviews by this author
Emma Ruth Rundle Some Heavy OceanMogwai Come On Die Young
Joe Hisaishi Princess MononokeHaunted Horses Watcher
Lymbyc Systym SymbolystOmotai Terrestrial Grief
user ratings (79)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Greg Fisher STAFF (3)
A joyous, if not entirely consistent stab of stoner rock fury....

KriegdemKriege (4)
Strong, consistent stoner/sludge metal....


Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2013



6936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was wondering whether this would get a review, was expecting Greg to grab it or something.

Good work.

neurisis17
October 12th 2013



581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2013



6936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Red Fang seem to have taken the heavy music underground by storm.


While there's nothing wrong with your wording I encourage bringing back some flow:

Red Fang seem to have taken the world of underground music by storm.

:]

Pos'd

neurisis17
October 12th 2013



581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha I appreciate the up-vote!

ZombicidalMan
October 12th 2013



1715 Comments


I always found Red Fang wrote two or three amazing songs per album, then the rest was lacklustre. Dunno if they changed that up on this one

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013



7312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Murder the Mountains was brilliant. This is quite disappointing tbh.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I found this a bit lacking too. It doesn't have the hooks of Murder The Mountains. Good review, but the rating is too high.

Digging: Karma To Burn - Arch Stanton

slimdaddy
October 13th 2013



428 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review kicked ass, and I can't wait to listen. I am listening to Murder the Mountains right now. This I think is my favorite review you have written thus far.









Have a pos

neurisis17
October 13th 2013



581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dude thanks!

Got a FUCKING POS from slimdaddy


zaruyache
October 13th 2013



5873 Comments


I always found Red Fang wrote two or three amazing songs per album, then the rest was lacklustre. Dunno if they changed that up on this one

That's definitely what I thought about their sophomore. Hopefully that bit has changed.

Digging: Sunwolf - Beholden To Nothing And No One

neurisis17
October 13th 2013



581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah the whole 2-3 amazing per album thing I think is true of the first. I thought Murder the Mountains was where that was fixed.

slimdaddy
October 14th 2013



428 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5


I always found Red Fang wrote two or three amazing songs per album, then the rest was lacklustre. Dunno if they changed that up on this one

This is almost a direct quote of what I thought of their first album

Underflow
October 20th 2013



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a fun album.

osmark86
October 21st 2013



3776 Comments


this can't be that excellent can it? still, I'm sure it's a pretty good listen.

Underflow
October 21st 2013



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is sort of like what The Hunter should have been.

osmark86
October 21st 2013



3776 Comments


cool, might have to check it out. red fang are fairly decent anyhow.

SputnikSweetheart
October 23rd 2013



181 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

[I always found Red Fang wrote two or three amazing songs per album, then the rest was lacklustre. Dunno if they changed that up on this one]

They didn't.

FearThyEvil
October 23rd 2013



12246 Comments


Wonder if I'll dig this.

conesmoke
October 23rd 2013



5176 Comments


Why whales? These guys were great live.

tempest--
October 24th 2013



12596 Comments


murder the mountains was ok this one is much better



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy