The Rolling Stones
Between the Buttons


4.5
superb

Review

by Aaron CONTRIBUTOR (110 Reviews)
September 26th, 2013 | 36 replies


Release Date: 1967 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An addicting and exciting offering from The Rolling Stones that will have you singing long after the music stops playing

Until recently, I never considered myself to be a very big fan of The Rolling Stones. That was before I stumbled upon their highly enjoyable Between The Buttons. Released back in 1967, it’s easily one of their most consistent albums and it’s loaded with songs that are almost too easy to sing along to. Considering just how accessible they are, it’s not surprising that songs like ‘Ruby Tuesday’ and ‘Let’s Spend The Night Together’ propelled the album towards the top of the charts. However, what makes this album so special is its undeniable charm and how well it works as a whole. Unlike some of their efforts, it just never seems to run out of steam.

Backed by their original lineup, the band are on top of their game on Between The Buttons and Mick Jagger pulls off one of his most charismatic vocal performances. However, one of the album’s biggest stars is undoubtedly Brian Jones. The multi-instrumentalist would meet his untimely death just two short years later at the age of 27, but his talent on this album remains impressive today. Playing everything from the electric guitar and piano, to horns and harmonicas, Jones tends to spice up every track he touches. Even the smash hit ‘Ruby Tuesday’ wouldn’t be the same were it not for his delicate use of flutes and the piano. The song also contains some of the most accessible vocals of Jagger’s career. It’s no secret that his voice is an acquired taste, but he sounds more welcoming than ever on ‘Ruby Tuesday’ and maintains that sense of charisma throughout the album’s runtime.

From the bouncy opening track to the sarcastic tone of ‘Something Happened to Me Yesterday’, Between The Buttons is a captivating listen from start to finish. Whether you consider yourself to be a fan of the band or not, this is the album that’s likely to change your mind as it finds the band reaching their musical peak. Many will argue the band’s best work is Beggar’s Banquet or Let it Bleed, but Between the Buttons is surely the album where The Rolling Stones really began to find their sound, and they’ve never sounded so charming. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself singing along to this one in the shower.



Recent reviews by this author
New Found Glory ResurrectionThe Residents Eskimo
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
user ratings (179)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
doctorjimmy (4.5)
The Stones in top form. Diversity, excellent songwriting and a unique atmosphere make this a must-li...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album rules, surprised it didn't have a review.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cnm-ekJhoH4

Digging: Transit - Joyride

dannyboy89
September 26th 2013


12034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Cool review.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man. Been jamming this nonstop lately it's so damn catchy

manosg
September 26th 2013


6258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great write-up dude. I like the fact that you highlighted Brian Jones' contribution to this album.

I remember most of the songs on this one but I'll listen to the album in order to rate it.

Digging: Acrimony - Tumuli Shroomaroom

KILL
September 26th 2013


71955 Comments


i never listen to any of their records before beggars ugh i gota get my act together

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Ire
September 26th 2013


41803 Comments


tsk tsk

manosg
September 26th 2013


6258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"i never listen to any of their records before beggars ugh i gota get my act together"

Yeah, same here. If you look up their pre-Beggars albums on Wikipedia, Allmusic has all of them at 4.5-5. Wtf?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers manosg glad u liked the review.

Also I honestly like the 3 albums before beggar's banquet the best. Beggar's banquet has some amazing songs but it also loses my interest in spots. This is probably my favorite but to be fair I need to revisit sticky fingers and exile on Main Street

Ecnalzen
September 26th 2013


6706 Comments


Hmm, never really tried much out by these guys.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

check out the link if you want ecnal. It's the full album stream but the opening track is one of the best other than ruby tuesday. You might not like the vocals but I feel they are more tolerable on this album...though I'm getting used to them now in general. If you do check it out let me know what you think ;)

wabbit
September 26th 2013


7010 Comments


one of the best rock'n roll albums eva

Ire
September 26th 2013


41803 Comments


yeah this is one of the better stones albums


Ecnalzen
September 26th 2013


6706 Comments


Listened to the first track, Atari, and was pretty indifferent towards it. Probly just not my thing. I am still working on getting into older music, though, so maybe one of these days this kind of stuff will come around for me.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

LET'S SPEND THE NIGHT TOGETHER BA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA

it's all good man thanks for giving it a shot

NightProwler
September 27th 2013


6415 Comments


Great review, Atari - I have actually never heard this in it's entirety (one of the few before Beggar's). But several of the songs on this I know - and I'm so glad you put such emphasis on Jones. Such a brilliant musician!

Glad you've gotten into the Stones - if you haven't heard (and want more pre-Beggar's) Out of Our Heads, go there next (UK version)

Digging: RVIVR - The Beauty Between

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers man. glad there's at least some rolling stones fans around these parts lol

Surprised you haven't heard this one considering you're a big fan. I'd highly recommend giving it a go, it's one of their most consistent albums imo. As for Out of Our heads, I have heard it but I'm not sure if it was the UK version or not. Aftermath kills as well

Cygnatti
September 30th 2013


21353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gd stuff. dig it moar than later stones. fuck em.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

: D yeah man i told you 60s stones is > 70s stones (at least i think i did lol)

WhiteNoise
December 17th 2013


3216 Comments


60's stones is just amazing

DominionMM1
December 17th 2013


10108 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"60s stones is > 70s stones"

they only made 2 great records in the the 70's so yeah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy