The Weeknd
Kiss Land


4.5
superb

Review

by zach USER (27 Reviews)
September 10th, 2013 | 28 replies | 1,823 views


Release Date: 09/10/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One perfect night's not enough

14 of 17 thought this review was well written

My bathroom is disgusting. I’m the only person that uses it. It’s literally a step from my door. Sometimes I just let pee sit there cause I mean “if it’s yellow let it mellow”. I should probably wonder more about how the smell of urine encapsulates a room. It doesn’t just fill it, it becomes it. It soaks into the toilet and breathes out. It soaks into the frame of being of its surroundings. And with that ethereal air of piss-soaked aroma I come closer and closer. I am become urine.

Yeah that’s great dude, what does that have to do with the Weeknd

Abel Tesfaye is the most reviled dude in all of Hip-Hop/R&B. Well you can’t go and say that in this day and age. I mean he’s not Chris Brown. He never peed on a girl on camera. He unapologetically steals people’s beats. He’s got a dope ass hair cut. His songs are bombastic and stomp the line of what’s considered tasteful and what’s considered extravagant.

That said, I want to get extravagant as hell. I ate a smoked salmon sandwich today that was hyphy as hell. I’m going to get some Lox tomorrow morning cause I got that money just like Abel. Just about every song is about a prostitute and how she doesn’t understand cash like he does, and then HE BLOWS ALL THAT CASH ON HER. He understands the value of a dollar. And dude gets on some real Pavement *** on “Belong to the World” where he croons “I’m not a fool/I just love that you’re dead inside/I’m not a fool/I’m just lifeless too”. I’m about that life.

The lyrics may be prototypical as hell but when you got a guy crooning like that who cares. The instrumentals are ripping hard and doing work. The grit from the mixtapes may not quite be there but when I see an evolution like this I can’t help but pay attention. The Weeknd is about to be involved in some kind of ***ed up *** (hopefully not Aaron Hernandez ***ed up) and he’s gonna #rekt it



Recent reviews by this author
Sun Kil Moon BenjiTeenage Cool Kids Queer Salutations
Beau Navire LumensMerchandise (Strange Songs) In the Dark
Off Minor The Heat Death of the UniverseWomen Public Strain
user ratings (209)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
fish CONTRIBUTOR (3)
Before The Balloons...

Guzzo CONTRIBUTOR (3)
Being too secure with your own sound....


Comments:Add a Comment 
slep
September 10th 2013



1604 Comments


posting in an iarecientists review

first paragraph has so many truths about bathroom etiquette

oltnabrick
September 10th 2013



30522 Comments


italics

Digging: M-O-R-S-E - Empty (Extended)

iarescientists
September 10th 2013



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey slep what's up ;)

slep
September 10th 2013



1604 Comments


nothin much, holdin it down, reading reviews and bullshit here. you?

tommygun
September 10th 2013



24176 Comments


um this dude's haircut is shite but pos cos laughs

Digging: J Mascis - Tied to a Star

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013



31050 Comments


This review

Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

FourthReich
September 10th 2013



17300 Comments


same

oltnabrick
September 10th 2013



30522 Comments


Abel Tesfaye is the most reviled dude in all of Hip-Hop/R&B. Well you can’t go and say that in this day and age.
LOL BUT WHEN

RivalSkoomaDealer
September 10th 2013



736 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

pos cause beast review.

Digging: Mick Jenkins - The Water[s]

guitarded_chuck
September 10th 2013



2899 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

CLEAND MY BATHROOM LAST NIGHT WAG

guitarded_chuck
September 10th 2013



2899 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

WUT U DOOIN IN DA BATRUM

Hep Kat
September 10th 2013



15247 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i dislike this album but goddamn i want to jizz all over this reviews taint than watch john handsome lick it out with a fun dip stick

Digging: Botany Boyz - Forever Botany

FourthReich
September 10th 2013



17300 Comments


ahhh

oltnabrick
September 10th 2013



30522 Comments


vibes

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2013



1010 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

9 of 11 thought this review was well written

Today is September 11th



Fucking Illuminati

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

oltnabrick
September 11th 2013



30522 Comments


O_O wow

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2013



21767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yah today is the 11/9 wd

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2013



6092 Comments


you did many things that i liked

oltnabrick
September 11th 2013



30522 Comments


U belong to the world

EyesWideShut
September 12th 2013



3120 Comments


gonna give this another listen cuz of Iarescientists.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy