Opeth
Ghost Reveries


3.0
good

Review

by askingalexandriasuck USER (7 Reviews)
September 3rd, 2013 | 155 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dull

Throughout the best part of their career, Opeth's stubborn refusal to retain the same feel to their music for two albums has been a blessing. Albums such as Morningrise and Still Life blow many of their progressive metal rivals' material out of the water and each album has felt completely fresh and original. As with all good things, however, this wouldn't last as Opeth showed on Ghost Reveries. Instead of progressing their musical endeavors further into uncharted waters, the band decided to essentially rerelease Blackwater Park in different packaging and call it something original. The results are thoroughly underwhelming.

For most their long tracks, Opeth have something about them that keep listeners engaged. Not here. Tracks like The Grand Conjuration feel like the band just pushing the envelope in song lengths for the sake of it and it feels lazy. Aside from one particular lengthy scream from Mikael Akerfeldt, this song is incredibly dull throughout and your time would be better spent watching paint dry.

The musicianship here is lazy and uninspired, with the band using so much repitition on each track that you will be bored to tears. An exanple would be Baying Of Hounds, where the riffs are cranked out so many Damn times, its like the band was completely devoid of creativity by this point and just wanted to get a new album out there to line their pockets. This is a sad case of a band that clearly had all the talent in the world but didn't use it propwrly.



Recent reviews by this author
Cryptopsy The Unspoken KingMetallica St. Anger
Carcass Surgical SteelDeath Symbolic
Death The Sound of PerseveranceDecapitated Winds of Creation
user ratings (3410)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
XingKing
September 2nd 2013


11078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anything less than a 4 for this album is not aloud. Also, this review makes me unhappy

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


3543 Comments


Before I offer to welcome you to the community: are you an alt? (yes/absolutely)

Digging: Nicki Minaj - The Pinkprint

Millstone
September 2nd 2013


367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I want to say skele but I should probably keep my mouth shut for now.

breakingthefragile
September 2nd 2013


2966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"askingalexandriasuck USER (1 Reviews)" Think it's safe to say there is at least a 70% chance of this being a Skele alt.

Digging: Molly Drake - Molly Drake

JS19
September 2nd 2013


4411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bad review again skele

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

FearThyEvil
September 2nd 2013


12760 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can't he just die

Underflow
September 2nd 2013


2675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nope.

Gwyn.
September 2nd 2013


15324 Comments


""askingalexandriasuck USER (1 Reviews)" Think it's safe to say there is at least a 70% chance of this being a Skele alt."

I'm pretty sure Skele loves the hell outta AA so I doubt it

Digging: Grief - Come to Grief

Hawks
September 2nd 2013


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^^^^^^

tempest--
September 2nd 2013


14628 Comments


couldn't be more obvi that it's skele

conesmoke
September 2nd 2013


5290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

4th fave Peth.

thespaceforthis
September 2nd 2013


518 Comments


bad review

you should be ashamed of yourself



NightmareCinema16
September 3rd 2013


2016 Comments


Only the good Sputnik users die off quickly.
The skele alts seem to live forever. XD
Nice try. We all know that thing called Exhorder failed.

MO
September 3rd 2013


19078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tries to write quick and snippy opeth review

fails hard, what a bad exanple you set

climactic
September 3rd 2013


19983 Comments


bad review (didnt neg)

i agree with what you said about some of the song lengths though, grand conjuration is waaaay too long for the sake of being long

Digging: Downfall of Gaia - Aeon Unveils the Thrones of Decay

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2013


21607 Comments


the band decided to essentially rerelease Blackwater Park in different packaging and call it something original.



lol wtf, this is nothing like BWP. It has a completely different atmosphere and feel to it. Plus the classic prog influences are far more prominent here. Not to mention that this is significantly better than BWP.

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry man, this album is amazing. It's the one that got me into Opeth.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Motorpnakotic Fragments

NeroCorleone80
September 3rd 2013


30110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, who the fuck pos'd this?!?!?!

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
September 3rd 2013


2009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i feel left out with this whole 'skele' thing cause i have no idea who the fuck he is

Digging: Rishloo - Living as Ghosts with Buildings as Teeth

BigPleb
September 3rd 2013


37948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The reviewer has no musical merit and that's fact, no-one questions Mikael ;(

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy