Opeth
Ghost Reveries


3.0
good

Review

by askingalexandriasuck USER (7 Reviews)
September 3rd, 2013 | 156 replies | 2,878 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dull

5 of 25 thought this review was well written

Throughout the best part of their career, Opeth's stubborn refusal to retain the same feel to their music for two albums has been a blessing. Albums such as Morningrise and Still Life blow many of their progressive metal rivals' material out of the water and each album has felt completely fresh and original. As with all good things, however, this wouldn't last as Opeth showed on Ghost Reveries. Instead of progressing their musical endeavors further into uncharted waters, the band decided to essentially rerelease Blackwater Park in different packaging and call it something original. The results are thoroughly underwhelming.

For most their long tracks, Opeth have something about them that keep listeners engaged. Not here. Tracks like The Grand Conjuration feel like the band just pushing the envelope in song lengths for the sake of it and it feels lazy. Aside from one particular lengthy scream from Mikael Akerfeldt, this song is incredibly dull throughout and your time would be better spent watching paint dry.

The musicianship here is lazy and uninspired, with the band using so much repitition on each track that you will be bored to tears. An exanple would be Baying Of Hounds, where the riffs are cranked out so many Damn times, its like the band was completely devoid of creativity by this point and just wanted to get a new album out there to line their pockets. This is a sad case of a band that clearly had all the talent in the world but didn't use it propwrly.



Recent reviews by this author
Cryptopsy The Unspoken KingMetallica St. Anger
Carcass Surgical SteelDeath Symbolic
Death The Sound of PerseveranceDecapitated Winds of Creation
user ratings (3174)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
XingKing
September 2nd 2013



9097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anything less than a 4 for this album is not aloud. Also, this review makes me unhappy

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013



3024 Comments


Before I offer to welcome you to the community: are you an alt? (yes/absolutely)

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Millstone
September 2nd 2013



367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I want to say skele but I should probably keep my mouth shut for now.

breakingthefragile
September 2nd 2013



2935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"askingalexandriasuck USER (1 Reviews)" Think it's safe to say there is at least a 70% chance of this being a Skele alt.

JS19
September 2nd 2013



3638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bad review again skele

Digging: The Dillinger Escape Plan - Calculating Infinity

FearThyEvil9
September 2nd 2013



11363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can't he just die

Underflow
September 2nd 2013



2185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nope.

Digging: Freddie Gibbs and Madlib - Pinata

Gwyn.
September 2nd 2013



14017 Comments


""askingalexandriasuck USER (1 Reviews)" Think it's safe to say there is at least a 70% chance of this being a Skele alt."

I'm pretty sure Skele loves the hell outta AA so I doubt it

Hawks
September 2nd 2013



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^^^^^^

tempest--
September 2nd 2013



10871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

couldn't be more obvi that it's skele

conesmoke
September 2nd 2013



4914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

4th fave Peth.

thespaceforthis
September 2nd 2013



518 Comments


bad review

you should be ashamed of yourself



NightmareCinema16
September 3rd 2013



2016 Comments


Only the good Sputnik users die off quickly.
The skele alts seem to live forever. XD
Nice try. We all know that thing called Exhorder failed.

MO
September 3rd 2013



17371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tries to write quick and snippy opeth review

fails hard, what a bad exanple you set

Digging: Soundtrack - Turok 2: Seeds of Evil OST

climactic
September 3rd 2013



17270 Comments


bad review (didnt neg)

i agree with what you said about some of the song lengths though, grand conjuration is waaaay too long for the sake of being long

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2013



18228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the band decided to essentially rerelease Blackwater Park in different packaging and call it something original.



lol wtf, this is nothing like BWP. It has a completely different atmosphere and feel to it. Plus the classic prog influences are far more prominent here. Not to mention that this is significantly better than BWP.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2013



3160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry man, this album is amazing. It's the one that got me into Opeth.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

NeroCorleone80
September 3rd 2013



26876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, who the fuck pos'd this?!?!?!

Digging: Morbid Angel - Covenant

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
September 3rd 2013



1679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i feel left out with this whole 'skele' thing cause i have no idea who the fuck he is

Digging: Sport - Bon Voyage

BigPleb
September 3rd 2013



28602 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The reviewer has no musical merit and that's fact, no-one questions Mikael ;(



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy