Semantik Punk
abcdefghijklmnoprstuwxyz


4.0
excellent

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
August 30th, 2013 | 29 replies


Release Date: 02/04/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Refreshingly abstract and unpredictable.

Not every Polish band has an opportunity to travel to Los Angeles and record with a renowned producer. Formerly known as Moja Adrenalina, Warsaw-based collective Semantik Punk have worked with Ross Robinson on their eccentric new album whose title abcdefghijklmnoprstuwxyz revolves around the inherent limitations of language in how it's both universally understood and ostensibly meaningless. This intriguing concept propels the act's mind-bending blend of mathcore and noise rock. The quartet discards melody and linear song structures in favor of distortion, abnormal tunings and poly rhythms. Singer Adam Adamczyk augments unpredictable arrangements with psychotic screams in a Slavic dialect only familiar to himself. The results hearken back to Polish technical metal pioneers Kobong whose outside-the-box experimentation clearly inspires Semantik Punk. Yet, the act's crazed approach is distinctive enough to raise eyebrows, elevating an off-kilter collection of musical ideas to a form of abstract art.

The album is sequenced in a manner that recalls a twisted journey into the psyche of a deranged man. A misleading jazzy intro suddenly bursts into the chord-warping title track that finds Adamczyk monotonously reciting alphabet. To make things even weirder, the outfit follows that with a series of discordant freakouts in which fluctuant drum fills and hypnotic bass lines are juxtaposed with schizoid guitar riffs that never fail to deliver the sting of dismal paranoia. The unintelligible vocals work as yet another instrument, lending the music its share of vitriol and ferocity. Semantic Punk also make a strong point of not repeating themselves. Every track has its distinct vibe whether it's the perpetually altering descent into madness of “Trzepak Drapak” or the surprisingly uplifting atmosphere of “Jest To A.” The abrasive tendencies are smoothed over in the closing three-part suite which sees the quartet building up delirious walls of feedback on top of hypnotic rhythms. The post-rock passages culminate in 23 minutes of sensual drone, capitalizing on the group's unconventional way of perceiving music as a stream of thought.

The mix by The Dillinger Escape Plan's regular collaborator Steve Evetts makes for a brisk and powerful sound that's akin to mathcore inventors. Semantic Punk cannot be directly likened to any band from abroad, though. Their unique vision of music is manifested on abcdefghijklmnoprstuwxyz in a daring fashion that defies any norms and expectations ingrained in the casual listener's consciousness. This record certainly won't appeal to the masses, but those who are willing to branch out beyond the limits of popular music will find it worthy of multiple spins necessary to decipher its refreshingly abstract content.




Recent reviews by this author
Wildbirds & Peacedrums RhythmDope Body Lifer
Sparky HumanimationLo-Pan Colossus
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 30th 2013


7463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Here's the stream:

http://semantikpunk.bandcamp.com/album/abcdefghijklmnoprstuwxyz

Calc
August 30th 2013


12360 Comments


best album title ever.

Digging: Maxwell August Croy and Sean Mccann - I

Cygnatti
August 30th 2013


22268 Comments


Whop.

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

treeqt.
August 30th 2013


11477 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

aoty?

Digging: Zhu Xiao-Mei - Scarlatti: Piano Sonatas

Grinddestroyer
August 30th 2013


24 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Was hoping someone would review this. Great job, love the descriptions.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
August 30th 2013


4956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

alright but i'd much rather listen to melt banana and/or various other late 90s/ early 2000s screamo. not bad

MrxSelfxDestruct
August 31st 2013


495 Comments


What's their beef with Q?
I know his gadgets have kinda sucked lately, but he's never hurt anyone


directly.

This Bond reference doin' it for ya?
Too dry?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


7463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Grinddestroyer:
Thanks man. Happy to fulfill expectations. What made you check out these guys?

@kingsoby1:
Well, at least you've given it a spin.

'What's their beef with Q?'
Haha. I dig this reference. Well, originally in Polish alphabet there was no Q. Now, however, we've got plenty of loan words (e.g. quiz) that justify its presence. These guys seem to be traditionalists in this regard.


scissorlocked
August 31st 2013


3511 Comments


interesting stuff greg

digging the album right now

Digging: Low Roar - Low Roar

inlandinland
August 31st 2013


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

woooow! i was waiting for smthng like that... its so fresh and uniqe... who are those guys?
and look what i found... thats what Meshuggah's Fredrik Thordendal said about the "abc" album:

„ Wow!!! Haven’t heard anything sounding even close to this before! Those guys are totally unik! Love the whole album! I don’t know what to say… Incredible is probably a good word…”

agreed 100%

inlandinland
August 31st 2013


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@kingsoby1 ... well, thats not too deep of you to compare semantik punk with melt banna and early srceamo... thats totally different world, different structures... it has smth to do with King Crimson as the polyrhythms go

btw... the album title for this review is not correct, in the real album title letter "V" is missing as well...

listening to it 6th time in a row!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


7463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. I actually fixed that some time ago.

Yeah, this album's addictive in all its craziness. I've never thought of King Crimson while listening to them, but now when you've mentioned it... you're not really off the mark on that one.

voiceofresistance
August 31st 2013


53 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album is fuckin weird.

Love it.

scissorlocked
August 31st 2013


3511 Comments


listened to this a couple of times and returned to the old undecidable problem of how to criticise abstract or very experimental music

album pretty much gave me an impression of a postmodern quarrel concerning the nature of discourse translated into music - it all comes down to "a heap of broken images"

fucking semantics stuff

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


7463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"listened to this a couple of times and returned to the old undecidable problem of how to criticise abstract or very experimental music"

^ that's a great point man

I once studied semantics and got an A from the final test. To this day I don't know how I did that.

inlandinland
August 31st 2013


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@greg84....well as far as i see these guys perform it 1:1 live... so we are not talking about abstracts... its organized but still has a improvised vibe to it ... gtr player fkn rules!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Arh3NhLJpJg

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


7463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're right it's organized, but the music has an abstract vibe to it. The guitar player is impressive on the record too. Also, this video kicks ass:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FbNRbGQmCc4

MrxSelfxDestruct
August 31st 2013


495 Comments


'Haha. I dig this reference. Well, originally in Polish alphabet there was no Q. Now, however, we've got plenty of loan words (e.g. quiz) that justify its presence. These guys seem to be traditionalists in this regard.'


The more you know!

inlandinland
September 1st 2013


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

... and here is a interview on how ... very interesting, well written... gives even more light to this music...

http://www.decibelmagazine.com/featured/watch-a-new-semantik-punk-video/

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2013


7463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's cool. Great article.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy