The Burial
In The Taking Of Flesh


4.0
excellent

Review

by TBliss2 USER (22 Reviews)
August 2nd, 2013 | 17 replies | 6,994 views


Release Date: 07/09/2013 | Tracklist


7 of 7 thought this review was well written

Pedaling a particularly vicious flavour of skin flaying extremity whilst exploring a rather forward thinking blend of state of the art progressivisms, Indianas The Burial have a refreshing command of muscular instrumentation, structural variation and finger cramping dexterity which sees 'In The Taking Of Flesh' an undeniably rich, and not a little surprising release.

Indeed, from the heaving strains and dizzying tempo shifts of 'Thou Knowest' through to 'Diakonos' and its cavernous malevolence, this exciting four piece manage to maintain a wholly unsettling ambiance, all icy foreboding and wide eyed attack, whether it be through scathing velocity (check out the caustic blast beats in opener 'En -Hakkore' and the wild fire onslaught of 'Of Jasper And Carnelian') or a more measured clout as in 'Erchomai's biting stomp.

It is as diverse as we could ask for, and what sets The Burial ultimately apart from an ever growing glut of peers is how seamlessly they are able to string together their clearly wide ranging influences into a cohesive whole. Nowhere is this more present than on the thunderous 'Theanthropos'. Heaving and grinding in equal measure, the track employs modern bounce, blackened chord stabs, deathly urgency and towering melody all within a hairs breadth, constantly flowing with a laudable flair.

With a metallic aptitude as all encompassing as any in recent memory, it would be somewhat of a travesty to see The Burial fall in with their cookie cutter contemporaries. Technical ability and song writing expertise utterly cemented, ‘In The Taking Of Flesh’ is without doubt an impressive offering, yet the hint of what could potentially be to come is what is most exciting here. Stunning stuff.



Recent reviews by this author
Lower Than Atlantis Changing TuneMartyr Defiled In Shadows
Everyone Dies In Utah Polarities (+//-)For Today Immortal
Oceans Ate Alaska Into The DeepSix Feet Under Undead
user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
JustinKing
August 2nd 2013



1214 Comments


How is this in comparison to Lights and Perfections? I enjoyed that record a good deal.

TBliss2
August 2nd 2013



501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd say its a bit darker and more varied, but tbh if you enjoyed 'Lights...' I'm sure you'll like this just as much.

JustinKing
August 2nd 2013



1214 Comments


Will have to check this soon, then. Good review, too.

TBliss2
August 2nd 2013



501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers dude.

italianStallion
September 22nd 2013



151 Comments


This album is way better than I expected it to be. One of the better metal releases I've heard in 2013. Diakonos is very atmospheric and big sounding

SadAndHolyGlow
October 11th 2013



1444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Awesome review! This is hands down one of the year's best.

Digging: There Is A Light That Never Goes Out - IE

Winsomniac
October 12th 2013



7940 Comments


This is pretty fucking awesome. Good find, good review

TBliss2
October 18th 2013



501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers guys Really is a fantastic album.

Asmodeuss1990
November 7th 2013



116 Comments


Where the hell can I find this bands music?

TBliss2
November 11th 2013



501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This whole album is on youtube i believe

Owantjaaaa
November 25th 2013



2780 Comments


p cool

Digging: The Body - I Shall Die Here

ChuckyTruant
December 20th 2013



15570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Coreguts

Digging: Architects - Lost Forever // Lost Together

erandolph90
February 24th 2014



181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit I didn't realize they released something new. This wrecks.

Propose
February 24th 2014



788 Comments


good review tho : )

Propose
February 24th 2014



788 Comments


they worked really hard on the review tho no need to be a sour puss!

jmnewcomer18
February 24th 2014



3409 Comments


review sux ban me faggoty jom


Diamondize
March 24th 2014



323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, band is criminally underrated.

Digging: Nexilva - Eschatologies



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy