Orphaned Land
All Is One


4.0
excellent

Review

by Drew Tyler USER (68 Reviews)
July 24th, 2013 | 23 replies


Release Date: 06/24/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: For the fifth time in their career, Orphaned Land have made a truly unique blend of musical styles that will have you hooked.

Every once in a while I stumble upon an album that changes my perception of modern metal. With so many bands across all sub-genres of metal putting out generic material, I almost lose faith in modern acts due to the sheer amount of like minded bands regurgitating the same sound and style release after release, year after year. For this reason, All Is One was a much needed breath of fresh air. This album has a truly different sound that compares to nothing I have heard before, offering unique and interesting tracks practically crammed full of infectious and moving material. And yet it all somehow manages to stay within my musical comfort zone.

Almost immediately from the first few seconds of the opening track, the album's middle-eastern influence is unmistakable, with traditional eastern music drawing the listener in. And then suddenly the whole band kicks in and the listener is swept away into an epic dreamlike state of heaviness and melody. Orphaned Land are apparently known for this seamless infusion of middle-eastern folk and heavy metal, and it manages to work, with the band drawing influence from progressive, death, (and on older releases) doom metal. There is also some light keyboard work thrown into the mix that compliment the epic sound the band is going for without becoming too overbearing, yet maintaining the album's symphonic nature. The band manages to have a varied sound as well. There are heavier and melodic tracks that get stuck in your head due to an almost anthem like approach such as “The Simple Man” and “All Is One”, yet the band displays a softer, more volatile side when needed with ballad-like tracks such as “Brother” and “Let The Truce Be Known”. The band even hearkens back to their older material with the death metal influenced track “Fail”.

As you can probably tell from the album cover, the music has some slight biblical themes. Luckily, the band's musical skill and songwriting make up for this. However, the biblical themes aren't from a religious point of view, as all of the band members have identified as either atheist or agnostic in the past. I would assume that this subject matter is from a purely cultural point of view as the band members are Israeli. Yeah that's right, Atheist Jews DO exist. Go Figure. The vocalist has an excellent singing voice that harmonizes with the backing vocals and music, and he has great vocal range, complimenting the already stellar instrumentals in just the right way. However, some of the songs are sung in Hebrew and Arabic, such as on the heavily traditional eastern songs Shama'im and Ya Benaye. This for me is a negative aspect, as the band sounds much better when they stick to a balance of Israeli Folk and Metal, instead of leaning towards one of the two.

This album can be a be a very rewarding experience when the band isn't singing in Hebrew or playing purely eastern music. Luckily they only did this on two tracks. The rest of the album is a genius mix of musical styles that seemingly doesn't mix well on paper, but when put to music, it blends in an amazing and euphoric way. This is absolutely one of the most unique and musically accomplished albums to come out this year. Check this out if your looking for something different, or your just feeling adventurous.



Recent reviews by this author
Savatage Fight for the RockWitherscape The Inheritance
Blindead AbsenceArtillery Legions
Overkill I Hear BlackWhiplash Power and Pain
user ratings (90)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Duffluc (3.5)
Orphaned Land returns with a record that, while not as impressive as their past works, is enjoyable ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ThrashTillDeath94
July 23rd 2013


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All Is One
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bds3FALcR7M

The Simple Man
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4YgkySYlN4

Relinquished
July 23rd 2013


25097 Comments


all i see in that album cover is disturbed's believe

ThrashTillDeath94
July 23rd 2013


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's a Jewish symbol. Disturbed's album cover is not, it is different. Though I can see where you could make that connection.

Friday13th
July 23rd 2013


2473 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The song "Brother" is so good lyrically. Almost made me cry.

Digging: Manfred Mann's Earth Band - Solar Fire

Relinquished
July 23rd 2013


25097 Comments


"That's a Jewish symbol. Disturbed's album cover is not, it is different. Though I can see where you could make that connection."

check the cover again

ThrashTillDeath94
July 23rd 2013


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah... I hate when i'm wrong. Your absolutely right at second glance.

TrueBlood
July 24th 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

decent al, has its moments but could be a whole lot better

and there are no songs here as strong as the flood off mabool

Friday13th
July 24th 2013


2473 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah Mabool is the best

TrueBlood
July 24th 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea I really felt like the guitarist was holding back or didn't have much say so in this record

whoever composed mabool or had that passion for it wasn't the same person here

I don't think we'll ever get a record like mabool again, but hey at least mabool exists

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


6145 Comments


The album seems to be streaming from the location below:

http://musicmp3.ru/artist_orphaned-land__album_all-is-one.html#.Ue-FqqxGPBY



Edit: spinning the album right now, it sounds great, but from a point further, it's too mellow for its own good.

On the other hand, those middle-eastern violins are where it's at.

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

TheNotrap
July 24th 2013


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album's interesting indeed.

Good job, have a pos.

Digging: Threshold - For The Journey

Dreamflight
July 24th 2013


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeahh awsome review.

Still not sure how I feel towards this album, all I know is that Brother is one amazingly beatiful song and Let the truce be known is boring as hell.

"as all of the band members have identified as either atheist or agnostic in the past. I would assume that this subject matter is from a purely cultural point of view as the band members are Israeli. Yeah that's right, Atheist Jews DO exist. Go Figure."

Not sure about this, but yeah it's true they're not passing any kind of pro jewish message for sure.

TrueBlood
July 24th 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

interesting


TrueBlood
August 2nd 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bbbbrrrrrrrrrrrrrooooooooootttttttttthhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrr

TrueBlood
August 2nd 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think our own messiah is the best track off dis

Dreamflight
August 3rd 2013


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hum...I'll go for Through Fire and Water or Brother. The last song is incredible too, so sorrowful.

ThrashTillDeath94
August 3rd 2013


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very emotional album indeed.

Shuyin
November 13th 2013


11703 Comments


great review

the first track rules so hard

Digging: Django Reinhardt - Djangology

Flugmorph
December 22nd 2013


535 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i instanly felt in love with this band tonight. have to get this album asap

Yazz_Flute
January 6th 2014


18786 Comments


Orphaned Land released an album in 2013?

Digging: Finch (US) - Say Hello to Sunshine



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy