Anneke van Giersbergen
Everything Is Changing


4.0
excellent

Review

by aggelosm USER (5 Reviews)
July 18th, 2013 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Everything Is Changing except Anneke’s incredible voice.

I have two suspicions about this lovely lady. a) She has a magic potion in her bag or b) She is relative of king Midas so everything she touch turn into gold. The muse of “The Gathering” with six fantastic albums in her discography , the ethereal guest voice in Devin Townsend , Anathema and Ayreon songs comes back with her first release under her own name.

"Everything Is Changing" is a pretty similar album with her first release with Agua De Annique . Following the Alternative Rock direction of “Air” this album is a fair way to start a “new” discography. It’s less heavy and more catchy but that doesn’t mean it’s pop or something like that, but besides the more ‘easy listening’ feel of Everything Is Changing there are plenty of interesting moments full of details like backing violins and other orchestrations, a great use of electronic samples and a dose of a more proggy atmosphere. I’m pretty sure that Devin Townsend has been a conspicuous influence for Anneke van Giersbergen.

Most of the songs follow the philosophy of gradual progress. They start slow and soft and then there is an outburst with an up tempo attitude and that fact gives an advantage to the other, non outburst, songs. Songs like the ethereal piano ballad “Circles”, which gives one of the most romantic and emotional performances of Anneke , or the song ‘Stay’ which is heaviest track of the album with a nice groove and heavy riffs , gives you a reason to listen the album again.

Anneke Van Giersbergen is one of the greatest female vocalists in rock/metal scene and she didn’t fail to prove it one more time. Enjoy.
-Favorite tracks : I Wake Up , Circles , Stay.


user ratings (52)
Chart.
3.5
great
recommended by reviewer
Agua De Annique Air

Comments:Add a Comment 
aggelosm
July 18th 2013


471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just noticed that this one lacks of a review so...


Jethro42
July 18th 2013


12477 Comments


Agua de Annique contains some good material. Out of your recs, I enjoy both Circles and Stay. Short and sweet review.

Lambda
July 18th 2013


2449 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty bad review, your grammar is way off. Circles and Stay are both great tracks though, I agree with you there. I really enjoy You Want To Be Free as well.

BallsToTheWall
July 18th 2013


44598 Comments


Anneke Van Giersbergen , I have two suspicions about this lovely lady. a) She have a magic potion in her bag or b) she is relative of king Midas so everything she touch turn into gold.


ENGLISH MOTHERFUCKER, DO YOU SPEAK IT ?

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

thumbcrusher
July 18th 2013


3596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

love this album

manosg
July 19th 2013


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still haven't listened to this one. Does it remind any album by The Gathering?

Digging: Acrimony - Tumuli Shroomaroom

Paracletus96
July 19th 2013


306 Comments


I doubt it. "Air" was already too different an album.

Asdfp277
July 19th 2013


1157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^It has Anneke and that's about it. It's catchy and pop-rock-ish.

Asdfp277
July 19th 2013


1157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wq6pbsYk3s
Kind of representative.

manosg
July 19th 2013


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Asdfp277! I'm not too impressed but it's not bad either. I'll probably give this album a spin.

Asdfp277
July 19th 2013


1157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're welcome. And I have to add: This album is kind of diverse though. Not particularly eclectic, but it has pop, pop-rock and full rock. So the song is just 'kind of representative'

Above all, it's catchy and fun, nohing more.

aggelosm
July 19th 2013


471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey manosg. You should check 'I wake Up'. It's interesting and far away from 'the gathering' essence.
Yeah I know.. my grammar is way off.. Sorry about that. English is not my native language

manosg
July 19th 2013


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey aggelosm, I'll probably give the whole album a spin since Anneke is one of my favorite vocalists.

aggelosm
July 19th 2013


471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFf9p88WbgQ
a mini-doc for her new album..
the song in the end of the video..hmm

KILL
July 19th 2013


71957 Comments


love her voice but didnt really like this

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

aggelosm
July 19th 2013


471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

finger crossed for her new album 'Drive'

warlordfun
July 19th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hmm.. sounds promising dude.. i'll check this asap

manosg
July 19th 2013


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mandylion will always be my favorite performance by her.

aggelosm
July 19th 2013


471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

indeed..

DrHouseSchuldiner
July 19th 2013


5643 Comments


Album is pretty decent not a 4 anyway ...might be 3



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy