Daft Punk
Random Access Memories


2.0
poor

Review

by brandontaylor USER (14 Reviews)
July 16th, 2013 | 16 replies | 1,345 views


Release Date: 05/17/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yet another album where the hype greatly exceeded the actual music.

5 of 8 thought this review was well written

It seems like everybody with an opinion on this record has already expressed it in some form. It’s been an exhilarating enough journey reading the reviews, features and interviews that all built up the mountain of hype surrounding Daft Punk’s first studio album in 8 years. However, now that I’ve finally listened to Random Access Memories, I feel like that mountain might be too tall to overcome.

A major fault in this album is that not only does it lack replayability, but mere playability itself. A 74-minute running time is risky and all 4 songs that exceed 6 minutes test the listener’s patience, with none seeming to warrant the allocated time. “Get Lucky” was tremendously successful as a shorter radio edit but here it drags, while “Giorgio By Moroder” has a thrilling final few minutes but makes you sit through a monologue that I don’t see why you’d want to hear more than once. It’s not only the longer songs though – “Beyond” and “Motherboard” are a dreary one-two punch, in that you want to start punching the wall out of boredom.

It’s clear that this album has lived up to many critics’ and fans’ expectations and it’s fair to say that mine weren’t very high, so I was pleasantly surprised by a few of the tracks here. “Doin’ It Right” and “Instant Crush” are both examples of well-thought-out collaborations (for one done wrong see Paul Williams' awkward vocals on “Touch”) and their immediate catchiness has seen them gain high rotation on my iPod. They’re both examples of how to be repetitive but not grating, something that too many other songs are. The worst offender, and I’m feeling physically tired just thinking about it, is the sterile “Lose Yourself To Dance”.

A few of the slower songs, namely “The Game Of Love” and “Within”, have grown on me to the point of being tolerable and have proved that RAM is at least as versatile as it is mundane. The music reviewing/listening community has waited a long time for this album and to try and downplay the dent it has created on the 2013 music scene would be foolish. You can’t escape the hype, but you can escape the music itself, and for all but a few of these (thankfully) forgettable tracks, I will gladly be doing so.



Recent reviews by this author
Ellie Goulding HalcyonVanessa Carlton Rabbits on the Run
Boys Like Girls Crazy WorldBall Park Music Happiness and Surrounding Suburbs
Phoenix Bankrupt!Kesha Warrior
user ratings (1087)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
July 16th 2013



19946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

doesn't read like a 2.0, and you didn't even mention contact? neg.

Digging: Lo-Fang - Blue Film

tommygun
July 16th 2013



21345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

contact is the only song that matters agreed

Sleaper
July 16th 2013



3133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i think this is actually a pretty good review.

Its funny how nicolas jaars mix of this album makes daft punk look like pre schoolers

Digging: SpaceGhostPurrp - B.M.W. 2: Intoxxxicated

brandontaylor
July 16th 2013



76 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i dont see anything special about contact really, its definitely not the most boring song on the album but thats about all the credit i could give it

Tyrannic
July 16th 2013



3224 Comments


"Giorgio By Moroder” has a thrilling final few minutes but makes you sit through a monologue that I don’t see why you’d want to hear more than once."

this is not only written way too conversational but I 400% disagree. So, you have absolutely no patience huh?

Eunuch
July 16th 2013



1027 Comments


lose yourself to dance and get lucky make me want to jam a knife into my eardrums. Fuck Phaggell
Williams.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
July 16th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Its funny how nicolas jaars mix of this album makes daft punk look like pre schoolers

Nail. Head.

Digging: Amatorski - From Clay To Figures

FourthReich
July 16th 2013



15303 Comments


is this worth a listen?

tommygun
July 16th 2013



21345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

one or two

Sleaper
July 16th 2013



3133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

doin it right is awesome. but the rest is so sub par it makes a bogey look hot

FourthReich
July 16th 2013



15303 Comments


i don't think i'll ever get around to it

Sleaper
July 16th 2013



3133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

someone said in another thread, think it was treb: This albums like if nickelback ever went electronic. haha its a pretty good description

SowingSeason
Emeritus
July 16th 2013



14505 Comments


Nice review. I agree with you, this is vastly overrated. That song that's on the radio right now is fucking terrible.

MrSirLordGentleman
July 17th 2013



2143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album has its moments

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2013



23606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

wait is Get Lucky still "that song that's on the radio right now"??? cause if so NUH UH sowing not even sexy jenna fischer can save you now.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

TheSpirit
July 17th 2013



16657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is fantastic

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy