Cerekloth
In the Midst of Life We Are In Death


3.5
great

Review

by oltnabrick USER (21 Reviews)
July 8th, 2013 | 101 replies | 7,977 views


Release Date: 05/03/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cerekloth carve out their own sinister and bloody niche in the death metal scene.

15 of 19 thought this review was well written

Denmark's Cerekloth arrive with a unique take of an old sound on their debut full-length. In The Midst Of Life We Are In Death showcases the band carving out their own sinister and bloody niche in the death metal scene.

In The Midst Of Life We Are In Death is no bullshit, doom-tinged, dissonance filled death metal pulled straight from the depths of the 90s. Cerekloth have managed to create something that is shockingly fresh despite the obvious influences and their general lack of care for pushing the boundaries of the genre. The powerful, muddy punch of the drum sound is right behind the signature Autopsy brand of dissonant, sludge-y guitar riffs that permeate Cerekloth's debut release. The guitar sound is a mixture of both the muddy, mid 90s Cianide guitar work and the buzz-saw riffs of Wombbath. The guitarists in Cerekloth have a clear vehemence on individual notes being played that create an attractively off-putting sense of darkness and depth that is enhanced by the organic capture of the recording. The growls of Jens B. Pedersen have a hint of Chris Reifert to them, but he varies up his deeper, guttural tones with mid-range vocals that provide a nice range of variation unlike most of the modern day death metal bands.

In The Midst Of Life We Are In Death rarely manages to show off anything that death metal hasn't done before, but when the band’s execution is as perfect as it is on this record and they offer a small variety of variation then it really doesn’t matter. Togged in dissonance and melody through a stern backbone of mid-tempo death metal, Cerekloth are able to stand head and shoulders over most bands in the revival death-doom metal scene.

3.3/5



Recent reviews by this author
James Ferraro Suki GirlzPink Floyd Ummagumma
Xavier Wulf and Bones ダサいYung Lean Unknown Death 2002
Action Bronson Saaab StoriesLil B P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thug)
user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
oltnabrick
July 7th 2013



30603 Comments


stream/purchase the album here:

http://hellsheadbangers.bandcamp.com/album/in-the-midst-of-life-we-are-in-death




I might add a little more to this later idk. What do you think??

Digging: Suicideyear - Remembrance

ShadowRemains
July 8th 2013



20521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good, to-the-point review

album rules, i really love the dissonance that these guys incorporate into the guitar work

a couple of edits:

probably want to have some sort of punctuation at the end of the review.

The guitar sound is a mixture of both the muddy, mid 90s Cianide and the buzz-saw riffs of Wombbath that has a clear vehemence on individual notes being played that creates an attractively off-putting sense of darkness and depth that is enhanced by the organic capture of the recording.


this sentence reads rather awkwardly

sixdegrees
July 8th 2013



16917 Comments


sounds promising

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

oltnabrick
July 8th 2013



30603 Comments


@shadows yeah the dissonance is definitely the best part

@sex it is promising :]]

Hawks
July 8th 2013



35553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I need this.

Digging: Sun Worship - Elder Giants

Colliiiin
July 8th 2013



670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is pretty awesome, solid mix of old and new school influences pulled off pretty well.

Also, good, to-the-point review [2]

Digging: Mitochondrion - Archaeaeon

FrozenVain
July 8th 2013



2402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I read a review for this in Decibel Magazine and they gave it shit rating for some reason but this actually sounds really sweet. Nice, effective review. Pos'd. The album cover is too dope as well.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
July 8th 2013



14016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Now I definitely need to check this out.

Digging: Abigor - Leytmotif Luzifer

Psobesri
July 8th 2013



291 Comments


dude jacqk are you coming to get abominated or what http://plug.dj/hybrid-theory

BallsToTheWall
July 8th 2013



44164 Comments


Good album/review.

Inveigh
July 8th 2013



24911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa this sounds awesome, good review bro

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

oltnabrick
July 9th 2013



30603 Comments


yeah, i can see you liking this a lot

Inveigh
July 9th 2013



24911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just got it

oltnabrick
July 9th 2013



30603 Comments


nice


Hawks
July 11th 2013



35553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sweeeeeet just got this. m/

FearThyEvil
July 11th 2013



12480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's excellent

oltnabrick
July 11th 2013



30603 Comments


pos my review

Hawks
July 11th 2013



35553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pos'd. :]

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2013



14016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This rules damn hard.

Hawks
July 12th 2013



35553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck this is some evil/filthy stuff.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy