Deafheaven
Sunbather


3.0
good

Review

by Matteatsneedles USER (3 Reviews)
July 5th, 2013 | 37 replies


Release Date: 06/11/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Overanalyzed and overhyped. It is what it is.

Divisive.
If I had to choose a word for this album, it would be divisive.
What we have here at the core, is something composed primarily of contrasting elements, namely the abrasive and almost totally unintelligible vocals, against the beautiful and always turbulent setting laid before them by the instruments.
These two parts, while entirely juxtaposed to each other, serve to aid the journey, a journey that immediately upon reaching the road, you know if you want to see it out to its conclusion.

Lets make something clear from the start, this has been done before, this is accessible for it's niche genre, but it is not new, and what is forgotten when arguing over the artistic credibility of this album, is that, that doesn't matter at all, art is art, and music is music.

From the beginning you are confronted with a celebratory and monolithic structure, like a monument to the end of an era.
But even in victory and happiness there is turmoil and angst, and this album represents that flawlessly.
This band is carried primarily by the drums and the guitar, that is not to say that the bass and vocals are not well done, but that the tone is set entirely by the urgency of the drums and the serenity of the guitar. The bass stands as protector over the vulnerable and sincere wailing of the guitar. The vocals are abysmal and monotone but aggressive, they convey only that aggression throughout the entirety of the album, and emotionally hold not a candle to the magnitude of what the music says, they are meant it seems to convey discomfort and that wherever there is light, there is dark.

This isn't an album for everyone, this isn't going to change music, this is not a profound sentence that has never been spoken, it is a reiteration of yin and yang, and in that, it is successful.


user ratings (1765)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I meant to say emotionally in 5th line of the fourth paragraph, can't seem to find the edit button.


*I've found it nevermind

Hawks
July 4th 2013


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Completely disagree obviously, but this isn't a bad review for a first.

Gwyn.
July 4th 2013


15275 Comments


Shit review

Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sure, why?

Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just provided an interpretation, this has generated enough hype by this point that I don't think I need to walk everyone through the whole album, it really isn't too hard to get, you'll either like this or you won't and you shouldn't try to listen to it in pieces, it's meant to be taken as a whole so I did just that.

Gwyn.
July 4th 2013


15275 Comments


Just messin'


I'm not sure what to think of this.
Most of the review is nothing but a way of saying that this is overhyped and gets talked about
because it's accessible and yadda yadda yadda, and you don't really justify your view at all on the
matter.

My problem could've been fixed if you spent more time on the actual music, so.


I'm not gonna pos or neg, but I think you need to focus more on the most important matters.

P.S: I still haven't heard this, and I rarely listen to blackgaze, so I have no real view on any of
these matters.

Hawks
July 4th 2013


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My problem could've been fixed if you spent more time on the actual music, so.


I'm not gonna pos or neg, but I think you need to focus more on the most important matters.

Pretty much my exact thoughts too.

Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, admittedly I don't really think there's a lot to say about the music, it's well done for what it is but it's not technically groundbreaking or nearly a classic, it's just a good album by a slightly different band. Why dress it up?

Gwyn.
July 4th 2013


15275 Comments


Because you're supposed to justify your views. It's a review.

But I don't have a problem about speaking less about the music than the experience, but you don't do
that either, you mainly talk about the word up surrounding this album, and honestly I don't find that
substantial enough for a review.

Just thoughts, not gonna pos or neg.

Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I appreciate it, I typed this up fairly quickly just to get my foot in the door a little bit, so I'll probably touch it up later after a few more spins of this, the album has yet to resound very firmly with me and I would have to stretch a lot to say much more about it, perhaps it's just a matter of choosing the wrong album to start with.

Hawks
July 4th 2013


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I typed this up fairly quickly just to get my foot in the door a little bit, so I'll probably touch it up later after a few more spins of this

That's another thing dude, you really shouldn't post a review until you're completely sure about it. You might end up liking this a lot more than you do now after listening to it a few more times. Just a thought though, you'll get the hang of it.

Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fair enough, I appreciate what you've said and will definitely give more consideration to the albums that I review, I'm writing another one right now for an album I have a soft spot for so we will see how it goes. thanks for the advice fellas.

Gwyn.
July 4th 2013


15275 Comments


It's a lot easier to write positive reviews than negative ones.

CameoLover
July 4th 2013


415 Comments


So, is this actually incredible, or do I just like it so much because I haven't yet listened to other post-/black/gaze albums?

Hawks
July 4th 2013


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've listened to plenty of "blackgaze" albums and this is top tier IMO.

Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

CameoLover-

Probably a bit of both. This is a great band in their genre, and given that they are getting so much attention it'll probably be a stepping stone into the genre for a lot of people. I personally wouldn't call it incredible, but it is a great listen.

CameoLover
July 4th 2013


415 Comments


I feel the same way about classical and even post-rock/metal.

I haven't listened to a whole lot, so everything I hear is like TEN OUTTA TEN

Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've written two more reviews that are certainly more in depth than this one, I'm going to leave it up but go check out the other two I feel they're much more well done.

Gwyn.
July 4th 2013


15275 Comments


There's a general policy of one review per day.

I'm not sure if it's an actual rule or just a way of not flooding the main page and giving space to others but you should follow either way because people don't stop reminding you of it if you don't.

Matteatsneedles
July 4th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have been able to post them but I will slow down.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy