Kyary Pamyu Pamyu
Nandacollection


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (87 Reviews)
July 1st, 2013 | 561 replies | 19,882 views


Release Date: 06/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Kawaii Medium

J-pop superstar Kyary Pamyu Pamyu started a revolution and took over the world only a year ago with her debut album Pamyu Pamyu Revolution, and now she's back to remind her fans why she's the "J-pop Princess" with the release of her second album Nandacollection. But unfortunately lightning doesn't always strike twice as Kyary's sophomore effort leaves a lot to be desired. The album title NandaColection is very fitting considering it flows more like a collection than a complete album. Pamyu Pamyu Revolution had not only had great singles, but also had memorable deep cuts,while Nandacollection on the other hand is very single oriented, and the non-single tracks feel like they were written and recorded in a rush to add flow to the album, as it's clear that the singles were all recorded in different sessions over a period of time. Although Nandacollection isn't entirely consistent, it's still a great album and a fine addition to Kyary Pamyu Pamyu's sure to be legendary discography.

Miss Kyaru's unsung parter Yasutaka Nakata does just about everything on Nandacollection. The album credits list him as having "Written, played, arranged, produced, recorded, mixed, and mastered: the record, which is impressive to say the least. There are no studio musicians, so all of the instrumentation is done with a keyboard and a computer, and unfortunately some of the processed sounds fall flat. Artificial drums that imitate real sounding drums like on "Fashion Monster" and "Kura Kura," and the imitation horns on "Kura Kura" hamper the songs and feel really out of place. The music works best when it doesn't try to sound natural, like the heavy electronic tracks "Invader Invader" and "Saigo no Ice Cream." Kyary has never been a top notch singer as she has a very thin voice that needs a lot of help production wise. When the music is top notch however, her voice works fine. But with a few of the tracks on the record being a bit lacking musically, Kyary must rely on her personality, which unfortunately cannot save the day on its own. Nakata writes all of the music for not only Kyary Pamyu Pamyu, but Perfume and Capsule as well, and while the man's production is usually stellar, the rushed nature of this album certainly hurt his performance.

While the music on some of the deeper tracks is lacking, the singles are all top notch instrumentally and vocally. "Ninjya Re Bang Bang" is a fun little novelty track about ninjas or some shit that has some nice traditional Japanese instrumentation, while the electronic dance tune "Furisodeshon" has Kyary singing at top form and is also one of the catchiest songs she's made to date. The crown jewel of the album is "Invader Invader," whose heavy, driving electronic beat, and catchy vocals are infinitely listenable. The songwriting on the track is top notch, whose song structure flows perfectly. A little after the halfway mark of the song, a breakdown comes out of nowhere, and it serves as a palette cleanser for the bridge of the track, which is the best part of the song that also blends beautifully back into the chorus. The remaining two singles "Fashion Monster "and "Kimi ni 100 Percent" round out an outstanding group of singles that have Kyary and Nakata performing at their best.

Unlike the singles, most of the other tracks are nothing special and merely exist to expand what would be an EP, into album length. There's even a completely unnecessary cover of a Capsule song that sounds almost identical to the original and helps prove that the running time was blatantly being padded out. The tracks "Mi" and "Kura Kura" are very repetitive, and Kyary spends most of the track repeating the track titles over and over again in monotonous fashion. "M"i even borders on comical when it sometimes sounds like Kyary is saying "Meatball". The other deep cuts are good, but are not memorable and not really worth mentioning. Pamyu Pamyu Revolution had a really memorable closer, which perfectly summed up the album and even had reprises of some of the songs. Otona no Kodomo, Nandacollection's closer on the other hand is completely forgettable and doesn't leave any sort of closure at all. It's a shame because Nandacollection contains five very strong singles which could have shined on their own as an EP release.

The decision to rush out a sophomore album only one year after Pamyu Pamyu Revolution was a terrible choice. While Pamyu Pamyu Revolution had great flow, atmosphere, and its own vibe that made it really stick out as a complete album, Nandacollection just feels like a mishmash of subpar tracks recorded in a hurry to supplement a few months worth of singles. There are a couple of nice deep cuts, and the exceptional singles are more than enough to make Nandacollection a worthwhile listen, but the lack of constancy and flow prevents it from being a truly remarkable record like its predecessor. Kyary Pamyu Pamyu just signed a American distribution deal with Sire Records, and I wouldn't be surprised if this album merely existed to cash in on her surprising new found popularity in America. It's a shame because the strength of the singles showed massive potential for an amazing record that could have been achieved if more time were taken to craft better songs for the ultimately disappointing Nandacollection.



Recent reviews by this author
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika FantajinBrave Bird T-Minus Grand Gesture
Old Gray/Tiny Moving Parts SplitBanner Pilot Souvenir
Carissa's Wierd Songs About LeavingAge Sixteen Open Up Finders, Please
user ratings (98)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2013



49758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Standout tracks:

Invader Invader

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jcIOg_m-bp4

Furisodeshon

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Y6H-YjsE9Q

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2013



1629 Comments


I didn't need to see that album cover just as I'm about to go to sleep. Nice review though dude. I need to get more exposure to J-pop outside of anime theme songs

Digging: Sallie - Moonlight Detective

YakNips
July 1st 2013



7045 Comments


desu

Digging: Via Fondo - Fast

YakNips
July 1st 2013



7045 Comments


desu

ethixx
July 1st 2013



1170 Comments


yay {´◕ ◡ ◕`} \(^ω^\)

great review, not really into this chick but the info you provided was sweet


tempest--
July 1st 2013



12533 Comments


does this pon pon hard

Keyblade
July 1st 2013



14157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn dat 3.5. if anything for me, the non-single tracks are stronger this time around

Digging: Paraxism - .Xism Excursion

foxblood
July 1st 2013



6797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cool, nice review man. i agree that it feels as if it was rushed out too fast but it doesn't really effect the quality of the tracks imo. all the new songs are her best work yet

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2013



49758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Revolution had this real atmosphere to it, this one doesn't really do anything for me

foxblood
July 1st 2013



6797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah this one plays out much more like a collection, the first album was like a storybook in album
form. it's funny though because the tracks individually are a bit stronger this time i think, even
though there isn't really a stand out lead single

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2013



7019 Comments


sweet need to get on this hard

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2013



49758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"does this pon pon hard"

It pon pon's medium

ZilbelPing
July 1st 2013



6026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Must get, oh man

Keyblade
July 1st 2013



14157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

does this pon pon hard

no but it does Mi Mi

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2013



49758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Mi mi mi mi

mi mi mi mi mi

mi mi mi mi mi mi mi mi mi

meat

ball meat

ball meat

ball meat ball meat ball

meat

ball meat

ball meat ball meat ball meat

Keyblade
July 1st 2013



14157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha

prolly the weakest song to be fair

ZilbelPing
July 1st 2013



6026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No way, she mi's now?

link plz

pizzamachine
July 1st 2013



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh wow I love Furisodeshon : )

Keyblade
July 1st 2013



14157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Zibel

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJw6bcgVS5Q

pizzamachine
July 1st 2013



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

alright that song is a bit insane, still fun though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy