Editors
The Weight of Your Love


3.7
great

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
June 27th, 2013 | 89 replies | 13,863 views


Release Date: 07/01/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Let’s all just forget that ‘In This Light and On This Evening’ ever existed.

Following the electro abomination that was 2009’s ‘In This Light and On This Evening’, anyone and everyone could be forgiven for approaching Editors’ follow-up ‘The Weight of Your Love’ with trepidation. Having then lost rightfully spurned guitarist and synth player Chris Urbanowicz (replaced here by both Justin Lockey and Elliot Williams) along the four year journey, the anticipatory sensation headed even further south towards dread! Thankfully, it doesn’t take too long for the English quintet’s fourth LP to allay the fear of listeners, with a batch of atmospheric tunes that not only cuts back on the filler and patent electronics, but is almost exactly what its predecessor should have sounded like!

Fantastic opener ‘The Weight’ begins with dark, ominous synths before giving way to an incessant beat and almost folky guitar strums. Tom Smith’s striking baritone soon captures attention, even if his trademark ambiguous lyrics (“I’m a lump of meat with a heartbeat”) occasionally confound. Most pleasing is the existence of an ever-present tension, with each sound after sound, instrument after instrument and melody after melody being meticulously added to build up and then release. Brilliantly, this pseudo title track and second single is both thoroughly melodic and accessible; traits which follow through to the fuzzy Muse-like bass-lines and middle eastern influenced bridge of successor ‘Sugar’.

While their influences remain apparent, Editors feel less like bandwagon jumpers here, than they did on the Franz Ferdinand aping ‘In This Light...’. Echo and The Bunnymen are the obvious comparison, while co-producer Mark ‘Flood’ Ellis brings the anthemic, stadium-baiting qualities he helped deliver to U2... Especially on lead single ‘A Ton of Love’, and not just because of the repetitive “Desire” refrain. The middle section of the album bears the most fascinating influence, however: the orchestral melodrama of Lana Del Rey (sans hip-hop samples)! It is here where there are strings... and lots of them. ‘What Is This Thing Called Love’ is certain to be most polarizing, with Smith striving too hard to showcase diversity by unleashing – of all things – his falsetto! Sandwiched in-between that and emotional ballad ‘Nothing’ is highlight ‘Honesty’, which gets the balance just right and acts as the LP’s best barometer.

Comprised of bass-driven pop turns (see the hooky backing vocals of ‘Formaldehyde’) and evocative mood pieces containing occasional flourishes of Americana (courtesy of American co-producer Jacquire King), nothing in the album’s solid latter half will reach out and grab you. However, there is just enough diversity evident in these tunes to stave off indifference and reward repeated listening. In fact, such descriptions can broadly be used to characterize the album as a whole, even if its three act sequencing renders such a label short-sighted. In truth, Editors have done what all artists should do as they evolve: effectively bring together all of their past work to create something new. At the very least, ‘The Weight of Your Love’ is successful in getting the talented Englishmen back on track... And while the cut-throat nature of the music industry may suggest it is too little too late, everyone should be entitled to one indiscretion.

Recommended Tracks: The Weight, Honesty, A Ton of Love & Formaldehyde.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (86)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Gabriel Power (3.5)
A more considered, careful construction, but not without its flaws....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Lead single 'A Ton of Love': http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQQ2gTkV-GM

2nd single ‘The Weight’: http://www.sputnikmusic.com/blog/2013/06/26/editors-the-weight/



Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



10061 Comments


Look at all dem exclamation points! Our Boy is excited!

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

sehguh
June 26th 2013



153 Comments


dont use sputnik nomore really cant remember why im on here but didnt realise this albumwas out yet or reviewed so cool yeah i knew this would be average just commenting to say i think their last lp was their best thanks dude cya!!!

RuanCSC
June 26th 2013



124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Bass-driven pop tunes"; "ever-present tension"

This keeps sounding better and better.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



10061 Comments


Glad to see you only come back here to leave the essential comments, Reece

sehguh
June 26th 2013



153 Comments


i mean in 5 years il forget about how i felt when i was 18 about this album so heres an internet relic for me and you in text comment form

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



10061 Comments


Holy shit! At this point, I'll make a time capsule about it, and dig into the ground of the place where you'll be in 5 years!

So yeah, I'll dig it into Sputnik!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Haha Omaha. I did actually notice that I went a little exclamation point happy in this review. It's always been a trap I fall back into.

If you are one of the few that thought 'In This Light...' was their best, you (a) are crazy, and (b) won't necessarily hate this, but won't love it either. Basically, they use a few of the tricks they learnt from that album without grabbing you by the neck, sweeping your legs & stuffing them in your face.

Ruan, I'm gonna suggest you will like this album. I really think way too many people are going to be short-sighted about the band's flaws. They've always had them. But if you enjoyed their 1st 2 LPs to some extent, there's no real reason why you can't enjoy this. If you didn't like their 1st 2, you probably won't be listening to this album anyway.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013



23804 Comments


reece hughes!!!

bloc
June 26th 2013



34768 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I just ain't hearing it. At least there's new White Lies to look forward too I guess.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

My 1st review in almost 2 months & sehguh gets more love. {sob sob}

RuanCSC
June 26th 2013



124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The two songs you posted are very good, especially "The Weight". I'll definitely listen to the whole thing. I really like the sound of bass-driven melodies. But @DaveyBoy I've never listened to this band before, so it's entirely new to me.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Ruan, both of those 2 tracks are placed in the 1st 3 and I can actually see a few people saying they are the best 3 on the record... But the remainder of the album does reward if given time.

sehguh
June 26th 2013



153 Comments


sorry bros good review!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

How long you been away from here?

tommygun
June 26th 2013



24490 Comments


swee davey lives

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

My love for the Brand New song will always get me some TommyGun love.

Cygnatti
June 26th 2013



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

stay away from tommygun! D:<

tommygun
June 26th 2013



24490 Comments


cracking tune that!

gd review btw

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks Tommy. Hopefully it will sway a few people - who otherwise had given up on this band - to at least give it a listen.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy