Jefre Cantu-Ledesma
Devotion


4.0
excellent

Review

by Alex Robertson STAFF
June 22nd, 2013 | 88 replies


Release Date: 03/15/2013 | Tracklist


Jefre Cantu-Ledesma's Devotion was released three months ago, runs at a brisk 20 minutes, and isn't the type of release that gives you much to discuss. This EP will not change your life--it probably won't even create much of a stir on most major publications's year-end lists. It sounds sorta like that Emeralds album that came out three years ago, and probably like a bunch of other albums/cassette tapes/VHS loops I've yet to unearth from the murky waters of the Internet. Nevertheless: this little nugget of beautiful noise is worth your time. Go on, open up Google and let it fly. Watch the .rar folder materialize on your computer's desktop, throw that thing on your iPod, and listen to it while waiting for the bus. I'll wait.

I say this not only because I want you to listen to this EP--I do--but also because that period of waiting for something, of silently watching things take their course, seems to me like the environment in which Devotion thrives. Insofar as an EP working entirely in synth drones, looping guitar lines, and crunchy fuzz can be “about” something, Devotion seems to be about motion, both internal and external: little melodic motifs echo and pop on the inside and slowly generate kinetic energy, pushing forward their external skeletons like machinery. As soon as the transcendent buzz of “Difficult Loves” fades in, I imagine one of those old science videos, diagramming the movement of electrical information through our body's synapses: “The human brain...where will it go next?”

More than anything, Devotion strikes me as refreshingly apolitical, dedicated entirely to exploring the intersections of cacophony and elegance. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma, as far as I can tell, is not interested in our re-interpretation of the past or the effects of infinite-growth capitalism on cultural values. What he's given us with this EP seems to me immensely more gratifying. This is a gorgeous, enveloping piece of noise, full of momentum and verve in a genre that often finds no need for such things. It makes its point, forcefully and beautifully, in the space of four exhilarating tracks and without an accompanying manifesto. Those who are more learned in the tropes of the genre may tell me that this is nothing new. But it sure as hell feels invigorating to me.



Recent reviews by this author
Teebs E S T A R ATabu Ley Rochereau The Voice of Lightness: Congo Classics 1961-1977
Julia Holter Loud City SongNara Leao Dez Anos Depois
Thelonious Monk Thelonious Monk TrioZahava Seewald and Michael Grebil From My Mother's House
user ratings (24)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Love is a Stream

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013


22013 Comments


sweet little write up

Digging: Freddie Gibbs and Madlib - Pinata

Rev
June 21st 2013


9437 Comments


cool write up, EP is great stuff

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2013


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i just read this again cuz i hit publish without reading cuz oylo and its a lil awkward FINNA EDIT

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"and isn't the type of release that gives you much to think about."

Disagree ;). Glad you reviewed this though, a nice read.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013


22013 Comments


WHAt i read every review loads before I publish and pretty much every time I find something to edit

Gyromania
June 21st 2013


15941 Comments


yea, this needs to be edited. good stuff though man

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2013


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for some stupid reason i always just publish the thing and then edit afterwards even though there's absolutely zero reason i should prefer that, and as a Staffguy i really should just read em before. and i will! new years resolution

also tornado i changed it to "discuss" even though you also might find that disagreeable. i hope you sort of get where i'm going though. this isnt Shaking The Habitual when it comes to experimental music

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2013


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also if anyone has any edits please do tell!! @gyromania dont drop that and leave you hater. i wrote
this quickly and more to give exposure to an underexposed (imo) release than to showcase my writing
but that should not be an excuse. why did i say that. anwyaays

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013


1675 Comments


ooh, this is very nice! Nice review too!

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"also tornado i changed it to "discuss" even though you also might find that disagreeable. i hope you sort of get where i'm going though. this isnt Shaking The Habitual when it comes to experimental music"

I do, but I understand where your coming from. I'm guessing your talking about a discussion about politics, society, economies, etc. Whereas I'm talking about pure nostalgia and fantasy daydream realms (aka INNER FEELINGS) because the music's so helplessly pretty. So basically, this conversation would consist of me trying to put fuzzy memories of my youth and whimsical daydreams into words, and I'd end up stuttering alot and sounding really pretentious and you'd be sitting there with squinted eyes looking off into the distance thinking about The Knife and Leyland Kirby instead. So yeah.

Gyromania
June 21st 2013


15941 Comments


ha, my bad alex. i only said that because when you said 'i just read this again cuz i hit publish
without reading cuz oylo and its a lil awkward FINNA EDIT' i just assumed you caught them.

I ask of you this not only because I want you to listen to this EP


this is kind of awkward. maybe "I ask this of you not only because" but i'm probably just being
pedantic

publications's


i could be wrong about this but i think you only add an 's' on the end of a word ending in 's' if
it's the last name of a person, otherwise just an apostrophe. again, super nitpicky.

Those who are more learned in the tropes of the genre may tell me that this is nothing new.
But it sure as hell feels invigorating to me.


i don't think you need two sentences here.

i feel silly picking these things out though because, like you said, you're doing this more so to
give the artist some much needed exposure than anything else. i thought i saw more originally but i
just came back to the page a min ago so i'm not sure if you edited it or not. anyway, i'm gonna dl
and check this out.


Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2013


10286 Comments


Luv the way u write boi!

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2013


15051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think i once read in that one book the elements of style to add "'s" to everything except these weird cases but that book is probably outdated and i know everyone else does what you do. i totally agree with the awkwardness of the first thing and i'll change it. the third thign is always something ive had trouble with, because i sort of want to end it authoritatively in a way--this is something robert christgau (lol) does a lot if u readh im--and that helps but it does seem stilted or w/e. thanks for the edits, i will edit! edit

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

190 views, 2 ratings: why doesn't this have 100+ ratings and a 4.6 so i'd the #1 spot on the 2013
charts. why is the world so cruel, w h y *turns on a lifetime movie, eats big tub of ice cream*

Rail
June 22nd 2013


538 Comments


Will check because of Emeralds comparison, and also out of fear that Tornado will contract diabetes.

Digging: Eric's Trip - Purple Blue

tommygun
June 22nd 2013


24989 Comments


swee review u got skillz

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 22nd 2013


23909 Comments


I get this review but like

good lord

only roberstona



Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

joshuatree
Emeritus
June 22nd 2013


3742 Comments


i like this review

mindleviticus
June 22nd 2013


8292 Comments


Such a good EP

treeqt.
June 22nd 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

only roberstona


intentional?


good review. you had me at
little nugget of beautiful noise


hella bout to listen



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy