Bosnian Rainbows
Bosnian Rainbows


3.0
good

Review

by David Foster Wallace USER (72 Reviews)
June 17th, 2013 | 45 replies | 6,024 views


Release Date: 06/25/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With elements recycled from previous projects, Bosnian Rainbow's self titled debut has an air of sameness about it whilst delving into generally all around solid songwriting.

5 of 6 thought this review was well written

Where does one go when one’s (arguably) most famous project has been A) disbanded B) left in the gutter or C) both? Does one go on to use said project’s infamy to hype the subsequent coming project, of which little information was divulged on? Or does one go about doing their next project quietly? This sort of dilemma has possibly, and probably, existed for many a famous musician. The former option usually tends to build up momentum for a project that inevitably ends up being disappointing. The latter usually ends up with a rock-solid album that presumably, no one hears but everyone says is “great” or “fantastic”. So what happens when a certain Mr. Rodriguez-Lopez, of At the Drive-In and Mars Volta fame, does both and forms a much talked about band with a little-talked about record? You get the self-titled debut of Bosnian Rainbows of course.

Bosnian Rainbows formed after the Mars Volta recently broke up, and play a Rodriguez-y version of alternative rock (with alternative rock here serving as a catch-all term for an incorporation of various sounds). That’s about as basic of a primer description one can get. What they really do is have Teri Gender Bender (of Le Butcherettes fame) wail abstractly emotional verse after verse over “artsy” guitar noise borrowed from Rodriguez-Lopez’s previous musical endeavors while mildly-abrasive-but-not-quite-abrasive electronics (which sounds borrowed from Noctourniquet mingle with drums in the background. This goes on for eleven songs with mild variation between each. The tendency to repeat itself on a consistent basis is the album's greatest weakness.

While they lay down a fundamentally solid foundation, Bosnian Rainbows tend to lose their aesthetic appeal when it becomes apparent the individual components of the record are recycled and, quite frankly, lazy. This is where it becomes paradoxical and problematic. On the surface level each song sounds different but once broken down, it becomes apparent these elements are recycled both from previous songs and from prior Rodriguez-related projects. Much of the individual guitar sound and electronic accompaniments sounds “borrowed” from solo projects and Noctourniquet respectively while the vocals are eerily reminiscent of each other from track to track. This leads to an undeniable sameness throughout the whole record. Sure it’s consistent but when does consistency turn to derivation of its inspirational source? When it does the same thing for every track on an album and the lines between consistency and derivative get muddied.

While it isn't exactly ridden with originality, it still has strong songwriting that keeps from being sleep inducing. “Always on the Run” takes a noticeably surface-level turn from the rest of the album by incorporating a pseudo-punk rock approach while the subsequent track has a haunting, if slightly dull, atmosphere. The tracks themselves aren’t terrible in any sort of manner but nor are they particularly great. It’s a mildly enthusing but ultimately unexceptional, run of the mill experience, akin to being invited to a get together that is initially promising but ends up being uninspired with little in terms of variation as far as get together experiences go.

The dilemma Lopez faces is that he can’t entirely get past the sound of his older endeavors. His approach is different, but the individual pieces end up being rehashed and re-assembled into something else. This is where Bosnian Rainbows is right now, on the cusp of rehash and originality. Where he can take the band’s sound is an exciting prospect but for now it remains somewhat tired and played out.

Stream - http://www.npr.org/2013/06/16/191298046/first-listen-bosnian-rainbows-bosnian-rainbows



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Pale CommunionBody Count Manslaughter
The Black Keys Turn BlueTyler Brown The Hollows
Lone Ninja Rogue AgentJune Marx Seven Trumpets Sound
user ratings (86)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Deadwing42 (4)
Get over the break up and embrace this solid new effort....

trending alt & indie albums

El Pintor

AM

To Be Kind

Lowborn

Comments:Add a Comment 
Urinetrouble
June 17th 2013



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

whatup sputnik

XingKing
June 17th 2013



10456 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"It’s not quite terrible, but it’s not quite great either. "

I think you only said this twice in the review but I feel like you were beating me over the head with that phrase

Urinetrouble
June 17th 2013



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can see that. I think I'm gonna go in and edit that.

EDIT:
done

Calc
June 17th 2013



12143 Comments


that was fast


Digging: Jizue - Shiori

Calc
June 17th 2013



12143 Comments


by the way in your filler questions at the end of your second paragraph you need a question mark

Urinetrouble
June 17th 2013



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Had this album for a while

EDIT: There are no questions in the second paragraph

ti0n
June 19th 2013



1385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well i gotta love this biased opinions about this. its better than everything tmv done since amputechture. what u want more?

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

ti0n
June 19th 2013



1385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh and those "recycled ideas" i wanna hear. never heard any post punk influence on any tmv albums. its completely different from everything they've done. MORE BIASED FFS

Urinetrouble
June 19th 2013



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Reviews are essentially biased in nature because they are a subjective look on things. A review without bias would be like a news report. If anything, you're showing more bias by calling me out for not liking it as much as you did.

Also, for the record, I loved Noctourniquet and Amputechture and the mars volta stuff prior to that, but omar is easily the weaker half of tmv.

Gintoh
June 21st 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The only reason people don't like this is because they where expecting another Mars Volta it's great for what it is.

Gintoh
June 21st 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

GUYS THESE SYNTH SOUNDS ARE SO LUSH, SO CRISP, SO WARM. HOW COULD YOU NOT JUST WANT TO BURY YOURSELF
IN ITS WARM CRISP LUSHNESS?

CaptWaffles
June 24th 2013



192 Comments


Considering Omar wrote all the band's music, calling him the "weaker half" is a bit of a misnomer. If that's how you really feel, it would be more like "the weaker 9/10ths."

Also, the band formed before TMV broke up.

Having seen BR live, this is a little disappointing in that I don't think it captures their energy that well. I can see how it can sound similar to their previous projects, but I still think it deserves a little more credit than you give here. And your "get together" sentence is very, very awkward.

Cygnatti
June 25th 2013



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so this is pretty darn fucking good. not sure why it has such a low score, though.

PanasonicYouth
June 25th 2013



7411 Comments


ur in trouble
oh i get it!

theshelfmaster
June 25th 2013



221 Comments


"It’s a mildly enthusing but ultimately unexceptional, run of the mill experience, akin to being invited to a get together that is initially promising but ends up being uninspired with little in terms of variation as far as get together experiences go. "

I don't really see the point in this comparison since you basically end up saying "This album is mediocre, kinda like being invited to something mediocre." It would be more effective if you included some kind of detail about the "get together" so there's something to relate to, like stale food or something idk. Good review though

CaptWaffles
June 25th 2013



192 Comments


Is that line in Dig Right in Me "You kiss my browneye?"

Just, you know...making sure.

1drummer
June 26th 2013



324 Comments


I saw them live 4 months ago and I was blown away, but sadly I did not like the album at all.. Some of Teri's notes just sounded flat out wrong. Intentional dissonance maybe, but doubtful. I don't think the lyrics were very well written either. Maybe they're one of those bands the sound great live, but not so much on record..

1drummer
June 26th 2013



324 Comments


"its better than everything tmv done since amputechture"

Wrong

Gintoh
June 27th 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"
"its better than everything tmv done since amputechture"

Wrong"

You're right, amputechture sucked so it's actually the best thing he's done since Frances.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2013



3374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is disappointing, but I hope in about 5 years these two guys realize they need to continue with Mars Volta. Great review, btw, pos.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy