Miles Kane
Don't Forget Who You Are


4.0
excellent

Review

by Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
June 11th, 2013 | 14 replies


Release Date: 06/03/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "We won't let our worries dictate who we are"

Miles Kane has spent a lot of time in the shadows, in particular, that of fellow Last of the Shadow Puppets member (and Arctic Monkeys frontman) Alex Turner. The Liverpudlian mod had to fight hard to shake of the unfair tag of being just a mate of Turner, and his 2011 debut showed he had a spark for anthemic modern day rock n roll. Still, the album was a little uneven and on several tracks he collaborated with others which didn’t help him become a true solo star in some people’s eyes. But on Don’t Forget Who You Are, despite a few collaborations once again, Miles Kane’s confidence and identity truly comes into its own.

His approach to this sophomore record shows not only his desire for what he wants the music to be, but also what he wants to be. Kane strived to trim the album’s 11 tracks of any fat or clutter, and the satisfyingly skimpy track lengths demonstrate this (Only 1 track goes over three and a half minutes). This suits his style well – it’s all about bombastic, hooky, streamlined rock n roll, and the fact that Kane has realised that and stripped the album down to its raw rock essentialities establishes himself in a confident and knowing position as purveyor of the soundtrack to the weekend nights out of his listeners.

Right from the grinding riff of opener “Taking Over”, which like many numbers on the record gets bigger and brasher as it ticks on; the vibe of DFWYA is shot into the ears of those listening with a comfortable clarity and sense of direction. It’s catchy, full of hooks, short, punchy, memorable, and most importantly, fun. The title track is even more exciting, packed with reverberated, echo laden vocals booming self-assured, life affirming lines over a shaky little riff. The “la la la’s” on the chorus serve as the cherry on top and once again prove that this music wishes to be nothing more than extremely infectious rock n roll. And it wholly is, with track after track offering easily digestible, hook-driven pop-rock, that would fail to crack a smile or a tap of the foot for only the most morbid and stolid listeners.

It’s telling that numbers like “Fire in my Heart”, in which Kane collaborates with the Modfather himself, Paul Weller, come off as the weakest numbers. Miles Kane doesn’t live in anybody’s shadow anymore, how could he with a set of tracks as confident, fiery and as fun as hell as the glam stomp of “What Condition Am I In?”, the compressed punk crunch of “Tonight”, and numerous others on this brilliant little album. Goodbye ‘that mod mate of Alex Turner’, hello ‘The Modson’.



Recent reviews by this author
Metronomy Love LettersTemples Sun Structures
Bombay Bicycle Club So Long, See You TomorrowOasis Dig Out Your Soul
Oasis Don't Believe the TruthOasis Heathen Chemistry
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also posted at http://www.thealtreview.net/

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2013


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Really looking forward to giving this a listen. Thought his 3 track EP from earlier this year was very promising, but am surprised to see none of those tracks here!

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First of my Kind rocks for sure. I reckon the title track from this album is even stronger, there's plenty more fun tunes here too. Nice album all in all

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2013


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

No no, I was talking about the 'Give Up' EP.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah right, because 'Give Up' is on here...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2013


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Oops, missed it hiding down there.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2013


4435 Comments


I forgot about this for a while, but it's apparently gotten some positive reviews. I really liked Colour of the trap, and the 'First of My Kind' EP was pretty okay, so I too have been looking forward to this.

So are the '60s influences from his last album entirely gone here? I was hoping to hear another psych-pop track like "Telepathy" or "Rearrange", but the heavier style of "Give Up" sounded pretty promising too.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't say they're completely gone, but perhaps toned down a tad. I got some glam rock riff vibes on some numbers, might just be me though ha

tommygun
June 11th 2013


24954 Comments


great stuff major tom, pos from me

been meaning to check this guy out, should i be getting this or the debut first?

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man.

They're both quite solid but i think this album is slightly stronger track for track. His first album has some great stuff too though: rearrange, come closer and inhaler are all great.

tommygun
June 11th 2013


24954 Comments


cool will add him to the list, thanks matey

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No problem man

WhiteNoise
June 29th 2013


3169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice to see this! Poor old Mr Kane gets zero love out here in Aussie lane...

Strong record! Much better than the first one even though that had some classic songs

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2013


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Liverpudlian Miles Kane aims his retro 60s influences more towards rock than pop on his 2nd LP 'Don’t Forget Who You Are'. Urgently produced by Ian Broudie, this lean & very consistent 33 minutes worth almost sounds like a live recording, with its relentless intensity shining through the often familiar material. It's simplistic & fairly derivative stuff which also has its fair share of lazy lyrics, but with next to no filler & a likable energy evident throughout, 'Don’t Forget Who You Are' is a genuinely fun experience. Recommended Tracks: Give Up, Taking Over, Darkness In Our Hearts & Don't Forget Who You Are.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy