Megadeth
Super Collider


3.5
great

Review

by Jimmyfree450 USER (5 Reviews)
June 7th, 2013 | 34 replies | 2,856 views


Release Date: 06/04/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Despite some average songs and some uninspired songwriting, there is still a lot to enjoy on this album

13 of 15 thought this review was well written

With Super Collider being the band's, or rather Dave Mustaine's fourteenth Megadeth release, it seems like the band is taking two steps forward, yet one step back. Thirteen (released in 2011) was a solid outing from the band, with a lot of great songs to enjoy. This album however isn't more of the same, which is a good and a bad thing. It's good because the band doesn't seem to want to write the same material over and over with each album, with each LP in their catalog sounding different from each other. At the same time, it's bad because this album is a bit of a step down from the previous album.

The album opens with Kingmaker, which is a great song, and a great way to open the album. With fast galloping guitars and a good vocal outing from Dave, it's easy to see why this was chosen to open the album. The title track follows, and even though it is a good song, it almost sounds a little out of place on this album. It sounds like it could have easily come off of something like Cryptic Writings or even Risk. The infamous Burn! is up next, and I really don't hate this song. In fact, I kind of dig it. Yeah, the lyrics are really not up to par with some of Dave's other songs, but they're still fun enough to enjoy.

After those first three songs, the album seem to be more hit and miss from here. Built For War is actually a pretty disappointing song, and one of my least favourites off the album. It seems really sloppy and it turns out to be one of the underwhelming songs on the album, which is disappointing after a great song title like Built For War. Dance In The Rain is a nice surprise, with slight tempo changes being thrown in here-and-there. It has good guitar work throughout and the drumming is good. Beginning Of Sorrow is an alright song too, but it just falls short of a great song. The rest of the album, minus Forget To Remember and the cover version of Cold Sweat by Thin Lizzy, is just alright. There isn't too much that sticks out.

Overall, this is an album that you have to go into open minded and with little expectations. That might be a challenge considering it is Megadeth, a band who has made countless excellent albums in the past and built up quite a loyal fanbase. With this album, its safe to say that the band isn't going down any time soon. Despite the obvious flaws, this is still an enjoyable album and a worthy addition to any metal head's collection.


user ratings (546)
Chart.
2.1
poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
NeoSpaz
June 6th 2013



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

huh

XingKing
June 6th 2013



9043 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

No.

facupm
June 6th 2013



5579 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ok

Digging: Queens of the Stone Age - Songs for the Deaf

dannyboy89
June 6th 2013



7680 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Disagreed, but the review is good. Have a pos.

Digging: Radiohead - Hail to the Thief

sideburndude
June 7th 2013



2782 Comments


nah

tempest--
June 7th 2013



10808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this needed another review

Uranium
June 7th 2013



6633 Comments


Album sucks, and Mustaine (I presume) keeps deleting my negative, yet honest, criticisms off of their facebook page.

TheNotrap
June 7th 2013



7817 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good work, have a pos.


Mister Twister
June 7th 2013



1435 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I really don't like this album. Kingmaker is good, and Dance in the Rain is alright, but everything else is just so why.

That said, still a well-written review, takes balls to post a review against common opinion on Sputnik. Gets my pos.

bakor
June 7th 2013



9 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

garbage review

tempest--
June 8th 2013



10808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Interesting fact: most of the lyrics and music on this album are written by Dave."

:0

Fluttertrank
June 8th 2013



16954 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album really isnt bad.

Digging: Xanthochroid - Blessed He With Boils

tempest--
June 8th 2013



10808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Listening now. It doesn't sound as bad as its average, but it can't be greater than a 3.

TY2810
June 8th 2013



110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice to see someone's not afraid to say something nice about this album since everyone's bashing it. It's obviously nothing special but it's a solid 3 in my book.

dannyboy89
June 8th 2013



7680 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

@Fluttertrank: you're probably the biggest 'Deth fan on the site, as you like everything Ol' Dave has done.

dannyboy89
June 8th 2013



7680 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

@Fluttertrank: you're probably the biggest 'Deth fan on the site, as you like everything Ol' Dave has done.

Vakarian12
June 8th 2013



3576 Comments


meh, gonna save my money for new CoB out on Tuesday

Ikarus14
June 8th 2013



519 Comments


Nicely written but the record itself is pretty mediocre. I mean, what the hell happened after Endgame? That album was one of their best and then they took a slump from there on.

StormChaser
June 8th 2013



254 Comments


Hi I'm here to bash on this

StormChaser
June 8th 2013



254 Comments


Hi I'm here to bash on this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy