Captain, We're Sinking
The Future Is Cancelled


4.9
classic

Review

by John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF
May 29th, 2013 | 716 replies


Release Date: 05/14/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Future is Cancelled is a perfect punk album. Get it before it's not cool anymore

Captain, We're Sinking! is a punk band. They sound a lot like if The Menzingers had a baby with Hot Water Music and then added in terribly depressive, metaphorically dystopian lyrics about lives falling apart and general dissatisfaction. The Future is Canceled is an album that defies pretty much everything it can be categorically described as: it is a punk album that is way too technical, a pop punk album that is just too impressive; there is a point in the second half of the album where a massive bridge seems like the only logical way the album could end, but then the next song comes back with an even bigger and more emotionally intense chorus and you begin to wonder if the album ever should end. CWS have found that elusive balance between melody, dissonance, and songwriting that only the greatest punk bands ever figure out, and seeing as this is only their debut it makes it all the more impressive. I could (and in previous drafts, did) go on and on about why a song like “Annina, We Will Miss You” undercuts the human condition so effortlessly while sounding like The Wonder Years finally making that perfect song they've been looking for, why a ballad like “A Bitter Divorce” is so huge and haunting that it makes most album closers seem like nonsense, but by the time you get to the part where CWS yell “Now Jesus Christ I'm not what you had in mind/ Jesus Christ don't cry/ I made a list of everything that I despise/ and I wrote your name down several times” no amount of me extolling the virtues of this record will matter. You will be in love with this little band from Scranton, and you'll be the one struggling to figure out what The Future Is Cancelled means to you.

Now I see her writing on her skin with a ball point pen
She says "I'm dead, but goddamn I will rise again"
And she ate a hand full of pills
and washed them down with some Pepsi
Is it my time to be happy?
Is it my time to be happy?




Recent reviews by this author
Say Anything HebrewsWashboard Leo Thomas Louisiana Bluegrass
Crusades Perhaps You Deliver This Judgement...Against Me! Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Los Campesinos! No BluesArcade Fire Reflektor
user ratings (425)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Vansact (5)
Some music is meant to be experienced, not listened to....

Hogan CONTRIBUTOR (5)
Punk Album of the Year...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9 | Sound Off

wrote an adam thomas review for an album that I can't stop listening to and I just wanted people to be able to talk about how awesome it is okay time for work bye

Lambda
May 29th 2013


2452 Comments


The Future is Cancelled is a perfect punk album.

4.6 ?

oltnabrick
May 29th 2013


31100 Comments


its not cool anymore

Digging: Ariel Pink - Pom Pom

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9 | Sound Off

shoulda made fun of the 4.1 rating instead lamda

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 29th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

album rules

Digging: Transit - Joyride

Scoot
May 29th 2013


17818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fucking awesome stuff

jesus this year is stellar

SeaAnemone
May 29th 2013


20554 Comments


I like Menzingers but I do not like HWM will I like their baby
and aren't Menzingers from Scranton as well?

Digging: Dirty Beaches - Stateless

Tyrael
May 29th 2013


20901 Comments


2013 needs more good death metal

and thrash needs to make a comeback

if that happens then this will be the best year ever

Scoot
May 29th 2013


17818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you might dig this a bit

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9 | Sound Off

one of the guys in this band is brothers with one of the guys in the menzingers, actually, which if you read deeper into the baby thing makes it kind of creepy

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 29th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"2013 needs more good death metal"

not as long as we keep getting amazing pop-punk :D




Tyrael
May 29th 2013


20901 Comments


'not as long as we keep getting amazing pop-punk :D'

fucking lol

Scoot
May 29th 2013


17818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

john you might as well just 5 it at this point

i dont know if i like this better than on the impossible past yet, too soon to tell

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 29th 2013


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

a lot of death metal is boring

SeaAnemone
May 29th 2013


20554 Comments


decent death metal is such a rare occurrence it's almost not worth hoping for really

and yeah I'll probably check this out at some point
*noted


Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9 | Sound Off

yeah we'll see how I feel about this in 6 months, but i didnt love the impossible past nearly as much as i do this so

TheSpirit
May 29th 2013


17930 Comments


about time this band gets some recognition

Tyrael
May 29th 2013


20901 Comments


'decent death metal is such a rare occurrence it's almost not worth hoping for really'

new gorguts this year

TheSpirit
May 29th 2013


17930 Comments


also death metal rules wtf

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9 | Sound Off

been trying to review this for like two weeks spirit it's just been really hard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy