Buckethead
Pike 13


4.5
superb

Review

by Lambda USER (68 Reviews)
May 29th, 2013 | 15 replies


Release Date: 05/13/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Heartfelt, ambient, and solemn, Pike #13 shows Buckethead exposing a personal side rarely seen.

Pike #13 is something completely new for Buckethead. Most obviously is the cover of the record- a photograph of the man himself, as a kid, hugging his father. This is the first time that Big B has ever intentionally exposed himself to the public without his trademark mask and bucket, and thus before you even turn the CD on, it feels like a watershed moment. And once the music does begin, you'll find that it truly is, as out of your speakers will come the most solemn and heartfelt material perhaps ever released by Buckethead (or at least since Electric Tears). A gorgeous theme pops up throughout the disc and comprises the first and last tracks entirely- as such, I believe this is a CD meant to be heard in one sitting, from beginning to end. This works to the album's advantage, though; it's not a long record, and I can safely say that the guitar playing on here is among the most expressive I've ever heard. Indeed, this album comes off as a series of dirges for Buckethead's father, and gorgeous ones they are.

This is a difficult record to review. Clearly, this is something very personal to Buckethead, and listening to it feels like reading someone's diary. With that said, I have to give Pike #13 huge points for the sheer emotion behind it; it honestly feels like Buckethead's guitar is crying at points during the album. (In particular, "Track 6" is one of the most beautiful songs in his entire discography.) This is not a perfect album, though; namely, repeating the aforementioned theme for two tracks, with no variation at all, is a bit of a cop out, especially with only thirty minutes of music in between (though it is indeed gorgeous, as I said before). A couple of the songs could have stood to be a little bit longer as well. These are minor complaints, though- regardless, this is an incredible record, and one that truly stands out in Buckethead's massive catalogue.



Recent reviews by this author
Dog Fashion Disco Sweet NothingsCasualties of Cool Casualties of Cool
fresh beatZ The MisunderstoodAvenged Sevenfold Hail to the King
Buckethead In Search Of The - Volume 10: 'F'Buckethead In Search Of The - Volume 9: 'O'
user ratings (27)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jack Knapman (5)
Lost...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Pestiferous
May 29th 2013


1312 Comments


Dammit I wanted to do this. oh well at least the spot is open for the previous two, pos'd

take note people, you'll finally get the unmasked buckethead on the cover

Lambda
May 29th 2013


2451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha sorry... but thanks for the pos man!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2013


3450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice concise review, pos, but you could have added another paragraph describing a couple of highlights. Nevertheless, it makes me wanna check it out. Is it similar to Electric Sea, because that record is excellent.

Digging: Mark Lanegan - Phantom Radio

Lambda
May 29th 2013


2451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This really exists almost parallel to his other acoustic/soft stuff, Electric Sea included. It's a lot more sombre and personal, even brooding perhaps. I highly recommend it though (and I liked Electric Sea too).

turnip90210
May 29th 2013


318 Comments


Was gonna review this. Probably still will, as my views differ from yours.

SubtleBody
May 30th 2013


519 Comments


damn, need to hear this. I love b-man's emotional stuff

Lambda
May 30th 2013


2451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ This is probably his most emotional listen ever

fleshstorm94
June 2nd 2013


109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He just keeps cranking out great albums

MikeC26
June 2nd 2013


3185 Comments


Nice one

Plan to jam this this week

fleshstorm94
June 2nd 2013


109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I notice sputnik doesn't have pikes 14,15,16 or 17 listed.I would add them to the database but there currently aren't any covers for the albums.

RadicalEd
June 4th 2013


2697 Comments


Gotta check this.

Digging: Jakob - Sines

Lambda
June 26th 2013


2451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still an amazing release.

Froot
July 12th 2014


1274 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haven't been able to put this down for like a week now. Legit putting it on par with Colma. The intimacy of it all is just overwhelming.

Digging: Thanatopsis - Axiology

Froot
September 13th 2014


1274 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Been jamming this a number of times over the past few days after hearing about how his dad died.

Shit's so bleak, but so human; I can never get over it.

Lambda
September 13th 2014


2451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, this is a fantastic release; definitely one of the best pikes



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy