Polkadot Cadaver
Last Call in Jonestown


4.0
excellent

Review

by Thomas Michael Morris USER (36 Reviews)
May 29th, 2013 | 22 replies | 5,103 views


Release Date: 05/14/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A solid marriage of tongue-in-cheek humor and serious song-writing.

10 of 10 thought this review was well written

In 1986, Frank Zappa released a live album entitled Does Humor Belong in Music?. Those familiar with Zappa's career will recognize that his question was more rhetorical than inquisitive, especially given his huge, facetious compendium--albeit it still serves as prime debate fodder. It is not at all uncommon for artists, corporations, and (perhaps most especially) internet music journalists, to take their chosen area of study excessively seriously. Lost between the ostensible austerity of the haughty classically-trained musician and the smug elitism of some nameless 19-year-old "neckbeard" with a 30,000 song database, is the fact that music, broken down to its most pure form, is meant to be experienced as some form of enjoyment.

Those who are familiar with Dog Fashion Disco are certainly aware of the tongue-in-cheek manner Todd Smith and company compose their music. Though firmly rooted in metal, Dog Fashion Disco was a potluck of funk, film-noir, and jazz, with darkly comedic lyrics. Contrary to being dismissed as a gimmicky comedy act, DFD managed to intersperse their very clear inanity amidst very cohesive and eclectic songwriting. Polkadot Cadaver are the reanimated corpse that arose from the ashes of Dog Fashion Disco, swapping the bouts of jazz for a smattering of electronics. If it isn't apparent from the title of their third major release (or even their band name), Polkadot Cadaver convert pretension into full-on flippancy, and it produces some profoundly unsubtle lyrics which include (but are not limited to) sexual deviancy, religious bigotry, and mutilation. Though certainly a personality-enhancer and detractor, the band's lyrical frivolity has never been their focal point, and despite a few dark subject matters, Last Call in Jonestown is easily their most topically mature album to date.

Musically, Last Call in Jonestown shows an incredible range of influences. Tracks such as "All the King's Men," and the title-track are blistering thrashers, while "Painkiller" and "Lunatic" opt for a more subdued, dubstep-driven beat coupled with infectious hard-rock choruses. Several tracks make use of progressions which are mostly commonly attributed to circus music and combine them with goofy sound-effects to give the album a very humorously macabre tone. The album's most successful tracks are the ones that most seamlessly combine these uncommon pairs, such as the massive "Touch You Like Caligula" and the psychedelic and electronic marriage in "Phantasmagoria". Each of the album's twelve tracks, save for the all-too-brief closer, are intensely entertaining for the amount of seemingly unlike genres the band are able to merge without sounding forced.

At a very manageable forty-eight minutes, Last Call in Jonestown is lengthy enough to make an impression without relying on an over-utilization of experimental tropes. Last Call in Jonestown can be analyzed for its caustic wit and schizoid genre-hopping, but its tone and metal aesthetic make it very easy to be enjoyed when blasted at maximum volume. You can't really ask for anything more than mindless enjoyment from an effective metal album, but Polkadot Cadaver go beyond it for one of 2013's metal highlights.



Recent reviews by this author
Progenie Terrestre Pura U.M.A.Amon Amarth Deceiver of the Gods
Ensemble Pearl Ensemble PearlDr. Quandary Wayfarers
Thank You Scientist Maps of Non-Existent PlacesCoheed and Cambria The Afterman: Descension
user ratings (28)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Benjamino Jackanory (4)
A scrappy and lurid record, filled with self-aware black humor and sharp musicality...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Yazz_Flute
May 29th 2013



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not one of my better reviews I don't think, but the album is quite nice.

This was originally written for mediasnobs.com

Digging: Cormorant - Dwellings

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2013



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Great review man. Too bad I'm not digging this as much as the last one. The song featuring Neil Fallon is easily my favorite.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

Calc
May 29th 2013



11994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this took forever to get reviewed. but yeah it was pretty ok

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

FrozenVain
May 29th 2013



2372 Comments


I really like the first paragraph. Zappa is a cool guy. Very nice review overall as well, dude.

Jethro42
May 29th 2013



12377 Comments


Great review, posd.

Yazz_Flute
May 29th 2013



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is actually the first Polkadot Cadaver album I've listened to, though I've known of DFD for a few years. It's been getting very steady rotation from me so I'll have to go back and check out Sex Offender probably.

Original link: http://mediasnobs.com/music-review/polkadot-cadaver-last-call-in-jonestown/

Kazmarov
May 29th 2013



7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Heard of these guys on the radio when they released the single "Wolf in Jesus Skin" a few years ago.

This is a pretty compelling album. Catchy, varied in tempo and style, really funny in places. Also enjoy the Neil Fallon guest vocals on "Transistors of Mercy."

Yazz_Flute
May 29th 2013



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Transistors of Mercy is killer track with that stoner vibe.

Touch You Like Caligula is definitely my favorite track, though.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2013



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Both these tracks are highlights. Still, this record's lacking in diversity of their previous stuff. Transistors of Mercy is the sole track that sticks out, being different. I'm obviously rooting for these guys, and have been a fan of Todd Smith since the first Dog Fashion Disco record. Adultery is such an amazing album.

Zantera
May 30th 2013



101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is really sweet. Might even like it more than Sex Offender.

Digging: The Mars Volta - De-Loused in the Comatorium

TheSmashBro
May 30th 2013



256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album was better than I expected.
And Yazz, I personally recommend Purgatory Dance Party over Sex Offender, but they're both good.

Detective Dan
May 30th 2013



163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm a huge Todd Smith fan, I think that dude is an underrated genius.. but I'm not really digging this album. Everything he has done in the past 10 years or so has been unique in it's own way, and I don't feel like this LP really has that.

Cygnatti
May 30th 2013



21349 Comments


Fun stuff.

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

Yazz_Flute
May 30th 2013



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What makes this album so effective for me is that it manages to include all of the quirky/off-kilter moments which are expected of a Todd Smith project while condensing them into a more straightforward metal package. I've been playing this pretty non-stop in my car for the past few weeks and I'm not bored of it yet; there's just enough in each of the songs to make them all memorable.

Yazz_Flute
May 30th 2013



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just realized that this got featured wao

Detective Dan
May 30th 2013



163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Transistors of Mercy is a ridiculously good song, though.

zxlkho
May 31st 2013



3460 Comments


This album was a massive disappointment for me tbh. I really loved Sex Offender too.

Zantera
May 31st 2013



101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this one has higher lows than sex offender, but the latter might have a few higher highs, forever and a day at least. otherwise they are pretty even

themainmast
June 2nd 2013



245 Comments


such a stupid band name

Yazz_Flute
June 2nd 2013



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Warrants a 1/5 agreed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy