Boris
Mabuta No Ura


3.5
great

Review

by Anthony Hoch USER (16 Reviews)
March 21st, 2006 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Anyone familiar with Japanese power trio Boris knows; they cannot be pigeonholed into one sound or genre. Mabuto no ura is no exception. But this release throw a very wicked curveball, instead of their staple crushingly dense sound, they do something quite different. On Mabuto no ura, they discard most of the crunch in favor of a relaxing more elegant clean sound, that dabbles in post rock.Mabuta no ura which in English means “Backside of eyelids" is written as the soundtrack to a movie that doesn’t exists… Well it exists but only in the minds of the members of the band.

This album starts the same way a lot of Boris album starts, with oscillating feedback and ambient noise, but things quickly die down and make way for the lightly plucked guitar found through out the rest of the album. The newly found clean sound is well done, and fits the “sleepy" mood of the album well, these are good songs to go outback lie in the hammock and relax to. While the new relaxed sound is enjoyable, they don’t completely discard the old crunchy sound, " A Bao A Qu “ is a complete reworking of an older song, that starts of light and eventually morphs into a dirtier more “Boris" sounding track while never detracting from the dreamy atmosphere of the album. The playing on the album is well done as is any of there previous albums, it has a nice loose and relaxed feeling to it, with the mostly clean guitar, and very "earthy" drums, while not a show stealer the bass is great on a few tracks like"It touches" and "Your name".

As enjoyable as the record is, it has its faults, for one, some of the tracks never really get going. I know Boris is a band who has mastered the art of the buildup and for nothing to happen is a bit disappointing. Some of the songs are just simple plucked guitar, like, “The Slow Ripple of a Puddle" and “The Middle Of The Stairs “ while enjoyable, and helpful to set the mood. After a few spins, without a climax those tracks really feel kind of tired after a while. Another problem is that the album seems a bit patched together. Some parts don’t really flow, which is one thing I really enjoy Boris for, also some of the ideas seem half finished and just seem to cut off. These faults though somewhat large don’t really take away too much from the enjoyment of the album.

While a bit patchy at some parts, and a little dry at other. This is a very enjoyable album that is a great pickup for any fan of Boris. If you are just getting into the band this isn’t the best place to start. Even with its faults I still greatly enjoyed listening to this album, and think it deserves, a 3.5 out of 5.

__________________________________________________ ______________________

Standout tracks:

A Bao A Qu

You’re Name

Melting Guitar

It Touches



Recent reviews by this author
Boredoms Super Roots 5Boris Absolutego
Eagles Of Death Metal Death By SexyBoris Pink
Boris Akuma No UtaQueens of the Stone Age Stone Age Complications
user ratings (56)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2006


15737 Comments


This review could use some more depth like the quality of the instrumentation or maybe some more discussion of individual tracks.

Never heard this band.

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

any14doomsday
March 21st 2006


679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can see your point I added some more light instumental discriptions.This Message Edited On 03.21.06

AlienEater
March 21st 2006


716 Comments


Never heard this.
Pretty good review, maybe a little short.

Zebra
Moderator
March 21st 2006


2647 Comments


You never described the whole feeling or even the genre of the album, which is a must if you are reviewing something that most people have not heard of. You are on the right track but more detail is needed.

Kage
March 21st 2006


1172 Comments


Good review.

I really really want to hear this album, but I haven't been able to track it down. I love Boris, especially Feedbacker, Flood and Akuma No Uta.

Yow, I realized I've had this sitting around on my computer for over a month and I forgot about it. Awesome.This Message Edited On 03.21.06

any14doomsday
March 21st 2006


679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I could send it to you on aim if you wanna hear it alien eater,
I rememebr you asking about it, in my feedbacker review.

also I think I did descrive the overall feeling of the album, I know I used words like "sleepy, dreamy, clean, earthy...and so on"

but Ill add more when I think of something that will add to the review. Also the genre is alternative, theres really no other way to describe it, its big and bold at the top.

...also lemme know what you think about the album Kage, it grows a little on my everytime I listen too.This Message Edited On 03.21.06

AlienEater
March 22nd 2006


716 Comments


I'd love to hear it, but i don't have AIM. Or soulseek. Or MSN. Ah well.

any14doomsday
March 23rd 2006


679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

... well never mind then

HailToTheThief
December 23rd 2007


144 Comments


just got this from a friend a few weeks ago. i wasn't big on boris at first but this definitely turned me on.

good review.

p.s
lucky strike's rock

starcorea
February 16th 2009


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think the fact that the tracks 'don't go anywhere' and that they seem 'cut off', is part of the whole mood of the album. I felt that it was almost like incidental music for a film rather than whole pieces meant to stand on their own. Definitely one of my favourite Boris releases.

dPsychc
June 10th 2011


40 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Such a trippy album. Certainly one of my fav Boris album.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shit is so good.

Inveigh
August 29th 2011


24968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is one of the Boris albums I haven't heard yet...

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You should probs check it out then. It's one of their more psychedelic albums. Very mellow with hardly any vocals.

Inveigh
August 29th 2011


24968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sounds cool, I'll check it out

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool deal. I just got this on vinyl in the mail today. Great album to end the day on. Really dreamy.

Inveigh
August 29th 2011


24968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

word, just started it


relaxing with a brew after making some kick ass jambalaya, this sounds good

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet. Loves me some good jambalaya. And beer, of course.

Inveigh
August 29th 2011


24968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

currently on #2:

http://www.gooseisland.com/pages/demolition/92.php

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds pretty good. I picked up some Dogfish Head Raison d'Etre and Cave Creek Chili Beer today.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy