James Blake
Overgrown


4.5
superb

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
May 11th, 2013 | 30 replies


Release Date: 04/08/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Wunderkind

Overgrown is full of rhetoric and things that make me think of a mystical divulge and a wankery of pretentious metaphors that seem to suit the Blake stereotype. Why? Because it makes you feel good.

It makes me want to pour a glass of wine and pretend I know its origin. It makes me want to roll up my jeans, and ride my fixie to the closest single origin cafe. It makes me want to flip side A to side B once the reverberations of my record player have finished crackling. It makes me want to knit a sweater in front of a fire whilst stroking my beard.

But most of all it makes me realize, James Blake makes me want to enjoy his assumed "hipster" articulation in a way that is not stereotyped - as his music seems to find no bounds for those who which to divulge into the depths of his brilliance. Overgrown is a wholesome and organic experience that will tickle the ruse of any person that appreciates the placement of a well designed chord or arpeggio. Thanks Jim.



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
Taylor Swift RedMacklemore and Ryan Lewis The Heist
Chet Faker Thinking in TexturesSomething For Kate Leave Your Soul To Science
user ratings (648)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
IronGiant (4.5)
Time passes in the constant state...

Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS (4.6)
When I see the pictures of every life and the day they die / It's your image burnt into my mind...

Lucid CONTRIBUTOR (5)
Love What Happened Here....

Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (4)
James Blake v2.0...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2013


50458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

flag

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

Douglas
May 10th 2013


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

#iphoneonly #nofilter

Digging: The Preatures - Blue Planet Eyes

Lakes.
May 10th 2013


27980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good soundoff

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

pizzamachine
May 10th 2013


12571 Comments


good soundoff [2]

Douglas
May 10th 2013


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Going for depth not word count. Geez don't hassle the vibe. Good Soundoff [3]

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2013


50458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Never heard that joke before [4]

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2013


23848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I like it, good stuff.

Douglas
May 10th 2013


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My brothers, my kin

sniper
May 10th 2013


19059 Comments


its* origin

sniper
May 10th 2013


19059 Comments


roll* up my jeans

Douglas
May 10th 2013


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

iPhone autocorrect , bah! Fixing.

sniper
May 10th 2013


19059 Comments


single-origin* cafe

Douglas
May 10th 2013


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sniper01*

sniper
May 10th 2013


19059 Comments


"But most of all it makes me realize, James Blake makes me want to enjoy his deluded, yet poignancy in a way that is not stereotyped - as his music seems to find no bounds."

this is simply bad writing. "deluded, yet poignancy" — what does that even mean?

sniper
May 10th 2013


19059 Comments


Sniper01*
touche ;]

Douglas
May 10th 2013


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The whole point is that it means nothing. Hence the idea of rhetoric mentioned at the fore of the review. I'll change it so it flows better.

sniper
May 10th 2013


19059 Comments


But most of all it makes me realize, James Blake makes me want to enjoy his music — deluded, yet poignant in a way that is not stereotyped — as it seems to find no bounds.


edit: but i really do like the review. i'll pos.

Douglas
May 10th 2013


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks mate appreciate the thoughts and pick ups. I am just really bored in the waiting room of the Doctors and the biggest hipster sat next to me, so I just felt like having a ramble!

sniper
May 10th 2013


19059 Comments


much better now. whoever negged before also seems to think so.

Douglas
May 10th 2013


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

¡Gracias amigo!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy