Joe Satriani
Unstoppable Momentum


3.0
good

Review

by TheCriticalListener USER (4 Reviews)
May 9th, 2013 | 24 replies | 2,825 views


Release Date: 05/07/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Satriani delivers another typical Satriani album; nothing more and nothing less. Fans of him or of the intrumental rock genre will probably be carried away by his unstoppable momentum. Others maybe not.

1 of 3 thought this review was well written

Joe Satriani, a man whose vibrant vibrato and spot-on guitar bendings I will always instantly recognize. As one of the few 80s guitar virtuosos he maintained a steady output of new solo material throughout his whole career, and successfully I might add. Thanks to that, he still is a household name in the guitar-loving community and released signature series of effect pedals, amps and guitars.
To be honest, I haven't listened to all of his albums, but I'm very familiar with his style of instrumental music. His most distinguished skill is, that he can also, additionally to his amazing solo skills, perform a 'vocal' lead guitar line, that resembles the usual human phrasing so well, that I have been tricked into believing that there's actually somebody singing more than once.
Nevertheless, I like things that are different. I don't want to hear the same album remade with a different name slapped onto it, as many other famous artist have done. Can 'Satch' keep his trademark style and still deliver a fresh work of music that is worthy of being put on a record? Let's find out!


The album Unstoppable Momentum start right away without much of an intro. For me, the title track completely fails as an opener, as the harmonies, the repetitive character of the main riff and the extensive solo-ing feel more like a song fitting for an album's grand finale. But otherwise the song is fine.
Lies and Truths impressed me with its interesting use of break-beat rhythms, while most of the other song on the album hardly made a lasting impression on the first listen. This usually doesn't make me want to sit through the whole record again, which is also the case here. The Weight of The World stands out with its 80s-flavored sounds, but falls a bit flat in its last third by ending in an excessively epic solo-section.
Overall the very polished tone and overly perfect performances might fit the guitar-hero's style and the modern 'American' aesthetics, but for me, the liveliness and authenticity is lost with this kind of sound. On the other hand, it is and always has been his sound, so why should he change it?
As usual, Satriani finds a lot of creative ways to use his guitar for his own benefit. He does what he always does, without adding that much into the mix. Yes, I know, that's what I always say. Again, I like things that are different and unexpected, so in that regard Satch didn't impress me at all; it is mostly just more of the same.

A fan of Satriani or instrumental rock music might find a lot of joy in this record. If you're into guitar playing and mangling your intrument with a lot of cool gizmos and effects, this album could provide plenty of inspiration. But, if you're looking for new ideas or adventurous innovations, you might wanna skip this one.


user ratings (50)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF (3)
Rock-along uptempo elevator music for the 21st century that's ultimately just another Satch boogie....

NightmareCinema16 (3)
Well…it is Joe Satriani, so I guess it conveys some positive results…...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheCriticalListener
May 8th 2013



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If you like my review, you can check out my (fairly new) music review blog here:
http://thecriticallistener.wordpress.com/

bloc
May 8th 2013



34675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice to see this getting a review, good work : )

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2013



49788 Comments


He's been slacking since Super Colossal


Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

dannyboy89
May 9th 2013



11911 Comments


I love Satch, but I might want to avoid this. I've only listened to SWTA tbh.

dannyboy89
May 9th 2013



11911 Comments


The album Unstoppable
Momentum


Just saying "The album" will do.

dannyboy89
May 9th 2013



11911 Comments


You also might want to leave space between those
paragraphs and talk less about yourself in the review.

Plus your opinion of the album is vague, as it's unclear
where you stand on it.

tempest--
May 9th 2013



12599 Comments


"overly perfect performances"

This is the degree of how perfect the performances are?

First paragraph is somewhat unnecessary, and to be honest, you haven't really said much about the album or how you feel about it.

dante1991
May 9th 2013



513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I kinda agree with the last paragraph. Satriani fans will/should enjoy this a lot and there are some new ideas to behold, but haters will not be swayed by this.

Personally, I think the album is great. On first listen, I wasn't so impressed but it's grown on me and I've discovered cool sections I hadn't noticed before.

"Three Sheets to the Wind" was one I found a standout that wasn't mentioned in this review.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

KjSwantko
May 9th 2013



9054 Comments


Album title alone makes me want to avoid this. Chances are if you have to tell us how great it is right in the title, it probably sucks.

DinosaurJones
May 9th 2013



490 Comments


I've always liked Satriani, so I'll check this out. I feel like he's kind of been coasting, though Super Colossal was a pretty decent album.

BigPleb
May 9th 2013



34023 Comments


wanky wank wank wank wank wanky wanky

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2013



19978 Comments


I will avoid this like the plague.

BigPleb
May 9th 2013



34023 Comments


Soulless wankery x1000

dannyboy89
May 9th 2013



11911 Comments


Something tells me that English isn't the reviewer's first language.

Mad.
May 9th 2013



3587 Comments


^^ this.

Review needs less "I" and "me" and more actual reviewing.

Digging: Dwellers - Pagan Fruit

zakalwe
May 9th 2013



6563 Comments


Unstoppable Momentum Inexcusable Wankery

dante1991
May 9th 2013



513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Soulless wankery"

I'm guessing the people who think this really must hate the early stuff, as the newer albums are a lot more restrained in comparison. That's all good, it's not for everyone.

It's cool if people aren't a fan, but it's just fun, instrumental hard rock. It's not supposed to be high art, tbh. Not entirely sure what people were expecting from this :/

TheCriticalListener
May 9th 2013



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yes, english is not my mother tongue, thanks for noticing. ;-p

I like reviews to have a more personal context; after all, there is no such thing as an objective opinion. In order for the reader to make his choice 'should I listen to this album or not', he has to understand the musical context of the reviewer.
Also, there is a big difference between 'This is soulless wankery' and 'I think this is soulless wankery, because to me music has to be ...'. When reading a review, the usage of 'I' and 'me' (mostly) shows me that the writer is aware that his own taste is not 'the best' per se, thusly admitting his subjectivity instead of pretending his words are the only truth. There's is no such thing as a objective good taste in music, as probably everyone (especially on music forums or sites like this) believes they have the best taste in music.

Satriani does what does best here. I find it OK, as his wankery is not as soulless as it might seem, but I probably won't listen to it ever again.


Dunpeal
May 10th 2013



3595 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

fan of this dude, but for me it was pretty average when compared to his other stuff. maybe it's a grower : /

Perplexion
May 10th 2013



127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i like this album, i just can't get into it this much, satriani has done better in the best. meh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy