Enshine
Origin


4.0
excellent

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
May 5th, 2013 | 80 replies


Release Date: 05/15/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Highly melodic and full of brisk ambient soundscapes, Origin is a charming piece of atmospheric metal.

Upon learning who are behind Enshine, I was already able to picture the band’s sound prior to hearing it. While one could typically make the case that being so predictable is a negative thing, it doesn’t apply here. The brainchild of Jari Lindholm (ex-Slumber and Atoma), Enshine sounds almost exactly like a crossbreed between his old projects and vocalist Sebastien Pierre’s melodic death metal band Fractal Gates. What that means, though, is that Enshine features the gripping melodies of Fractal Gates inside a less contrived and more atmospheric metal package reminiscent of Atoma. Even though I do think Fractal Gates are one of the better pureblooded melodeath acts around, the melodies on Origin are given more space to breathe and develop than on the aforementioned band’s latest record. There are no genre constraints here and although the song lengths are quite moderate, the tracks and melodies themselves flow right into one-another, forming a more-than-cohesive whole. While Fractal Gates’ latest album (released earlier this year) relied on individual standout melodies and riffs, Origin’s strength lies in its wholeness and in the finesse of its compositions.

Origin starts off with "Stream of Light," which nicely sets the tone for the rest of the album. Rumbling bass-lines and melodic, mid-paced riffs lead into an ambient section that simultaneously both soothes and builds into an all-encompassing wall of sound. That is more or less how the whole album works during its 43 minute run-time: tasteful melodic riffs and leadwork are coupled with soothing ambience that can, at any given time, explode into an imposing wall of sound. This combination works wonders, as Origin’s sound is both familiar and enthralling. The atmosphere of the record is very alluring and instantly likable. It’s not upbeat, it’s not calm, it’s not particularly dark and it’s not depressive either; it simply strives to carry the listener to a meditative state. The record is being promoted with the tagline "A musical exploration of the world within," and in correspondence with it, Origin indeed predisposes the listener to look inside. It’s great thinking music, and fits best with those cool, silent nights when you can clearly see the stars in the sky as they shine their light down upon you.

Above all else, there is an aura of freedom surrounding this album which makes it an utterly pleasant listen. It would be criminally unfair to say that the record is light, especially with Pierre lending his deep, growled vocals, but at the same time, it does have a facilitative, liberating effect, even if some of the parts in the sum give off a somber vibe. The guitar work on Origin has a hypnotizing quality to it and, as it is pierced together with a supremely airy atmosphere, has the ability to carry the listener away. Origin is food for the brain metal music that shines only when given full attention to, and it needs to be heard and "felt" in order to be fully understood. Furthermore, the great thing about it is that, when you have given the record your full attention, it will reward you... by letting go of that attention and allowing your mind to wander off under the spell of Origin’s melodies. Musically potent and intellectually stimulating, Enshine’s debut album is a real treat for the thinking man.



Recent reviews by this author
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
user ratings (83)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stream of Light: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HC7Yj2UZYJo

EDIT: album currently streaming right here, right now: http://www.sputnikmusic.com/blog/2013/05/11/album-premiere-enshine-origin/

FrozenVain
May 5th 2013


2448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So I listened to Stream of Light and I like it. Your review really describes their sound, great job.

Willie
Moderator
May 5th 2013


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

This does remind me a lot of Atoma with maybe a bit more doom in it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

...which is also why I think you'd like this a lot (or maybe you do already, I don't know if you've listened to it in full yet).

Thanks FrozenVain, this is right up your alley, man.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2013


10310 Comments


Wow, sounds lovely. Great descriptive skills here, Magnus-- detailed without being over-the-top about it.

Darkwatch025
May 5th 2013


186 Comments


sounds pretty awesome so far. Are there any clean vocals on the record?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2013


23924 Comments


good review. I probably won't listen to this cause lol metal amirite?

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Vakarian12
May 5th 2013


3875 Comments


Ambivalence sounds alright so far

Yazz_Flute
May 5th 2013


18820 Comments


This sounds pretty solid; will check when it drops.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

Durrzo
May 5th 2013


1116 Comments


I found the vocals on that track fairly underwhelming, but otherwise it was enjoyable. I'll check this out when it drops.

Digging: Bloodshot Dawn - Demons

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2013


10310 Comments


"Stream of Light" is a very solid listen. I really enjoyed all of it except for the intro, to be honest-- the track starts off in a style I don't dig too much, but it changes pace quite a bit so it turns into something really interesting. I'm excited to hear the rest of the album.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2013


7110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What to do?

ProjectFreak
May 6th 2013


1419 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I suspect I will like this. Great review Mag

Digging: From Indian Lakes - Absent Sounds

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Darkwatch
"Cinders" has clean vocals and "Ambivalence" has female vocals for a very short period. In general the music is more instrumental, though, and when there are vocals, they tend to be growls.

@Aids
I know right, don't even get me started on metal!

@Omaha
Thanks man and yea, this is something you could get into.

@Ipod
What is it that you want answered?

To everyone else: thanks for the kind words and I hope some of you check the album out once it drops. If a stream should pop up for this, I'll be sure to make a news article or smthn about it.

Catatonic
May 6th 2013


141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love Slumber and Atoma, so hopefully this is awesome.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2013


7110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What is it that you want answered?


You know how I always had time for listening to music right? Things have been getting cramped. This sounds like something I should really be picking up but I've got to get through reviews for Lycanthia's latest, the new Sodom (meh), Anciients, the new Arckanum - So much to listen to : [

Catatonic
May 6th 2013


141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with Omaha about "Stream of Light" - I really didn't care for the start but it took a great turn.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Rob
Well, this isn't out yet for another week, so you can easily take your time.

@Catatonic
The album is composed really well so that it builds and builds. My favorite tracks are actually the three last ones, so if you didn't like the first minute of "Stream Of Light" but like the rest, I'd still say you'll like this a lot. Like Willie said, there is a bit more doom in here than in, say, Atoma, but it's still meant for the same crowd.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2013


7423 Comments


It's not really my thing, but solid review regardless.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, this really isn't for you. Thanks, though!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy