Christopher Owens
Lysandre


4.0
excellent

Review

by Irving Tan STAFF
May 4th, 2013 | 16 replies | 2,287 views


Release Date: 01/15/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What if people are sick of hearing of love songs; maybe I should sing about dying? Or maybe I should sing about how on Earth I could control what comes out of my mouth?

Lysandre, Christopher Owens’ first record since leaving indie rock band Girls, sounds somewhat too celebratory upon first listen, but it’s hard to begrudge the American singer-songwriter being in a slightly festive mood. While Girls and its many successes may now be a thing of the past, Owens’ newfound solo career has also provided him an opportunity to satisfy his own creative whims and fancies. Now unencumbered by other worldly concerns – Girls’ constantly shifting lineup, for instance (“I counted out the amount of people that were in the band over the years – it was 21, a giant amount of people; that's feeling disappointed 21 times over," explained the singer to Pitchfork Media) – Owens admits he is already sitting on a couple records worth of new material.

Of course, he is quick to insist that the gap between writing and recording gives him the distance to reappraise his songs’ quality, which immediately makes Lysandre – whose title is apparently taken from the name of a girl he met on the first Girls tour – counsel’s opening statement. The album also reunites the artist with Father, Son, Holy Ghost producer Doug Boehm, and the pair don’t take long to get up to their old tricks, variously dipping their toes into various genres such as surf rock, folk, and soul, whilst taking care to fill every inch of the record with a lavish production style that makes proceedings seem all the more dramatic. While the repeat usage of the “Lysandre Theme” as a leitmotif in most of the songs makes things a bit predictable, when they do come together they underscore a truth that goes beyond the written description, so it is little wonder that Owens has chosen to call his album "a coming of age story, a road trip story, a love story" all at once. “Here We Go” strums the doldrums away, pushing the American singer-songwriter’s acoustic guitar to the forefront and allowing him to usher in a relaxed gait that both comforts and informs. Elsewhere, “Riviera Rock” paints a picture of a Mediterranean beach at sunset, whilst the gospel choirs and mazy horns of “New York City” throw up a flustered but heady vibrancy that wouldn’t seem out of place on the back half of Album. At only 28 minutes long, Lysandre is easily digestible in a single sitting, but that really just embellishes its true purpose – to temporarily whet our appetites till all those other Christopher Owens solo records appear.



Recent reviews by this author
Caleb McAlpine All Things NewAngel Olsen Burn Your Fire For No Witness
Eternal Summers The Drop BeneathBlood Orange Cupid Deluxe
Yuna NocturnalGhost Avenue Ghost Avenue
user ratings (32)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2013



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ohai!!!!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2013



9470 Comments


What is that, man, like 15 words???

I had to make the statement someone else will make. I think you could probably split this up into at least two paragraphs, though-- may make the read easier. =]

Very nice work being so concise-- it's a skill I'm currently working on, and it's tough, man. I always have so much I want to say.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2013



10000 Comments


herro. great review

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2013



23643 Comments


great review, two paragraphs is plenty. You nailed the format man.

if I thought that Girls is super overrated, both of their albums, should I bother with this?

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2013



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In keeping with my new-found conciseness:

No.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2013



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

(but here's the longer, more thought out answer: Lysandre sounds pretty much like most of the Girls discography - particularly Father, Son, Holy Ghost. If you didn't find anything to like about either record, I have a feeling that Lysandre will do very little for you. This record is pretty contingent on you liking the fare that Owens tends to peddle. That being said, a lot of Girls' fans seem to hate it AND it's only 28 mins long - so you don't really have THAT much to lose, Aids)

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2013



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also - herro Rudy and Omaha =)

I want to ask you both something:

Are my sentences too long in this review? =S

Eep.

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2013



10000 Comments


def not too long

toxin.
May 4th 2013



11807 Comments


who are you (hello)

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2013



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

(is it me you're looking for?)

NationalMidnightStar
May 6th 2013



176 Comments


damn i need to chack this out.. maybe

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2013



7234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty good review man.

I really liked both of Girls' records but found this pretty disappointing. The fact I'd forgotten it existed before you posted this says it all.

breakingthefragile
May 7th 2013



2935 Comments


Yeah, I really just felt very underwhelmed by this.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2013



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I did too at first, and then it grew on me. Even former apparent lightweights like "Riviera Rock" now sound super-chill, for some reason.

Tyrael
May 7th 2013



20394 Comments


great work as usual, Irving

it seems the general consensus is disagreeing with you for once

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2013



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Omg Ty I almost didn't recognize you with that name change

And people have disagreed with me quite frequently before, no? Never forget that this is the man who ranked Lulu his 7th best album of 2011.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy