Uriah Heep
Demons and Wizards


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpaceMan USER (17 Reviews)
May 2nd, 2013 | 29 replies


Release Date: 1972 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It may not be something you'll be proud to play on a first date, but it's hard not to like dorky accessibility of it.

I’ll admit that this album was before my time, riding along the wake of biggies ‘Zeppelin and ‘Sabbath. While I can give to anyone a considerably long list of bands of recent times, the number of albums I’ve heard outside the recent decades is limited. Naturally these are the more appreciated ones of the past; the ones that people saw a worth in keeping around a little while longer.

That’s where Demons and Wizards comes in. It’s got the obvious influences from the 70s classics. English to boot, the name and mood of the album matches the tone of medieval European. The title-based tracks further support this theme by depicting fantasy images and ideas. You know what? It somehow all works.

This soundscape of fantasy times and whimsical adventure may not be something you’ll be proud to play on a first date, but it’s hard not to like the dorky accessibility of it. Acoustic sounding chords dance around adventurous vocals begging to be played in the backyard with a beer in hand. Drum patterns are consistently interesting to help keep a welcoming and enjoyable flow. It’s a simple but effective rock formula that offers the perfect amount of accessibility. Fault in the album exists, but it’s not meant to be flawless. Sure, it’s repetitive and not trying too hard to break unoriginality. It’s also fun and interesting without being mindless. It’s got a well rooted concept and sound. It’s the kind of album that that works well enough to have a reason not to be forgotten.



Recent reviews by this author
Akara The World BeyondSpiritualized Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space
Colour Haze TempelThe Flower Kings Space Revolver
The Verve The VerveT2 It'll All Work Out in Boomland
user ratings (163)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Daniel Dias (4.5)
Uriah Heep at its best!...

newWorld (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpaceMan
May 2nd 2013


2631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my dad used to play this one a lot and I hated to admit how much i liked it

tempest--
May 2nd 2013


14413 Comments


Probably a bit short, you haven't really described the release all that much. I would suggest trying to write a review for someone who has never heard of the band and/or album.

This album rocks hard. I think Look At Yourself is a bit better, but they're both excellent, and this band is far too overlooked when compared to other prog/rock giants of the '70s.

TheSpaceMan
May 2nd 2013


2631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah im a bigger fan of shorter reviews because they are more pleasant to read, but that doesnt mean i should skimp out on the sustenance of the music. thanks for the tip!

manosg
May 2nd 2013


6538 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Underrated band. Look At Yourself is my favorite from them but this is also excellent.

Digging: Witchfynde - Give 'em Hell

Piglet
May 2nd 2013


4663 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there's actually not that much bad about this album

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 2nd 2013


21453 Comments


Great album. Very 'eavy... Very 'umble is my favourite Heep album followed by Look at Yourself, then this.

TheSpaceMan
May 2nd 2013


2631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what are you guyses favorites off this?

MO
May 2nd 2013


18999 Comments


rules

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 2nd 2013


21453 Comments


My favourites on here are probably The Wizard, Easy Livin' and The Spell.

TheSpaceMan
May 2nd 2013


2631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet choices

stabbler
May 2nd 2013


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this album is far from repetitive

TheSpaceMan
May 2nd 2013


2631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its formula-driven is what i meant. a lot more predictable than other 70s prog but i think that actually helps it a lot

WatchItExplode
May 2nd 2013


3303 Comments


My local pub has a vinyl night and some dude brought this in. I was pleasantly surprised.

stabbler
May 2nd 2013


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

formula driven or cohesive?

TheSpaceMan
May 2nd 2013


2631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

both, i just was pointing out how this is much more standardized then other 70s album sputnik has labeled "progressive"

stabbler
May 2nd 2013


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh right...you mean all the gratuitous changes in style and tempo that is taboo in 2013, but was acceptable in the 70s

rockandmetaljunkie
May 2nd 2013


3722 Comments


amazing band

TheSpaceMan
May 2nd 2013


2631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah pretty much. it worth noting this isnt a 5 song free for all ala Wish You Were Here

TheSpaceMan
May 2nd 2013


2631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the album's name and genre label might have some expecting otherwise

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2013


30251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rev is truff, poz'd



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy