Ceremony (USA-CA)
Scared People


3.0
good

Review

by Jack Boaden USER (29 Reviews)
April 29th, 2013 | 11 replies | 949 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The logical stepping stone between Violence Violence and Still Nothing Moves You.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Scared People acts as the stepping stone between 2006's legendary Violence Violence and 2008's Still Nothing Moves You. This EP falls short of just eight minutes, but in that time the band demonstrate their new punk-rock influenced sound perfectly, moving away from the powerviolence aspect that made their debut album what it was. Two minute opener It Rained Today Inside My Head sees the band experiment with various dynamics, a feature that they streamline for the next release, and it makes for a much welcome break from the constant bludgeoning that was the previous album. Tracks like The Lines In My Forehead and Every Corner A Liquor Store mix incredibly violent openings with slow, mid-tempo curbstomping middle sections, whilst Mothers And Fathers seems to be the most experimental track the band have released in their career so far. The only flaw with the EP is the production job, which seems to be a little underwhelming after the treatment its predecessor was given. Overall, Scared People is worth checking out, even if its just for the Negative FX cover that Ceremony end with.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereBrutality Will Prevail Suspension of Consciousness
Ingested Revered By No One, Feared By AllFOCUSEDxMINDS The Fact Remains
Drug Church Paul WalkerSister Sin Dance Of The Wicked
user ratings (67)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TwoMonthsInTheCold
April 29th 2013



288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Short review for a short album.

XingKing
April 29th 2013



10476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"whilst Mothers And Fathers seems to be the most experimental track the band have released in their career so far."

y u so funny jack

TwoMonthsInTheCold
April 29th 2013



288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's a lot of different dynamics and build ups and shit, as opposed to the constant tempo that run through Violence Violence. Experimental up to this point in time, and I'm ignoring Zoo haha.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013



6097 Comments


zoo is so bad

XingKing
April 29th 2013



10476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wonder when these assholes are gonna release a new album

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2013



6097 Comments


i mean if zoo is the new direction i couldn't give less of a shit

XingKing
April 30th 2013



10476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think they maybe saw the error in their ways when you consider the fact that they play the new songs way more aggressive live so that they have a more Rohnert sound

taxidermist
April 30th 2013



7203 Comments


Zoo isn't even that bad.

XingKing
April 30th 2013



10476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

In comparison to their other works, it's atrocious. In comparison to other albums of its kind, it is mediocre

TwoMonthsInTheCold
April 30th 2013



288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Aw fuck, they're so good live. Shame I live in the UK so they'll never come back

taxidermist
April 30th 2013



7203 Comments


In comparison to their other works, it's atrocious. In comparison to other albums of its kind, it is mediocre

I personally wouldn't say it's atrocious, but it certainly lacked the energy that made Ceremony who they are and was a downgrade soundwise. A solid 3 for me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy