The Absence
From Your Grave


4.5
superb

Review

by SHOWDOWN USER (2 Reviews)
March 17th, 2006 | 23 replies | 7,813 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


2 of 2 thought this review was well written

When I first heard the intro to ?Form Your Grave?, I knew that I was in for a treat.
The guitar solos in the intro alone are amazing, and they are only a tidbit of what?s to come. When the first song starts up ?A Breath Beneath? you can really hear the Swedish influences. And The Absence does them justice, from the remarkable guitar harmonies, to the raspy voices of Jeramie Kling and Patrick Pintaville is similar to early Anders Friden, and the drums are phenomenal, and I can actually hear the bass in this album, and it is awesome.

The guitar work on this album is what sets it apart from the rest. The riffs are aplenty, and the solos are simply incredible, they sound as if they were a sword slicing right through the throat of all that oppose The Absence. Every time I listen to this album, I find a new riff, it never gets old. The guitarists do some fantastic twin harmonies and some sweet trade off solos. Some of the solos even have a blue?s sound to them.

The drums amazing, double bass and a few blast beats here and there. The drummer sounds like he?s having a seizure, but not in a bad way, he?s playing his heart out and you can tell it. As with the guitars every time I listen to this album I catch a new fill.

In my opinion the best song on this album is ?Necropolis?. It starts off slow with a little harmony work and a simple drum line. But then turns into a traditional melodic death. When the vocalists screams ?Necropolis, These hearts of decay, Buried on the heads of the Damning? it sounds so epic. The solo will rock your socks off, dive bombs are in surplus. In conclusion Metal Blade records done a very smart thing by signing The Absence, and I for one can not wait to see what they do next.


user ratings (199)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
SHOWDOWN
March 17th 2006



6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i dont know why the question marks keep showing up, sorry for any confusion

Neoteric
March 17th 2006



3243 Comments


I liked the review, it was short but sweet, well done :thumb:

Also, review more metal, it's nice to see some more metal reviewers.

dmbmanmfreh
March 17th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Absence are one of my all time favorite bands
and imo this cd is almost flawless

Shadows
Moderator
March 17th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great stuff here. The music is rather simple and the harmonies get old after a while, but it's very catchy and melodic.

Confessed2005
March 17th 2006



3314 Comments


I have never heard of these guys. A nice, concise review that has persuaded me to check them out.

SHOWDOWN
March 17th 2006



6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks for the positve attitude

Cravinov13
March 18th 2006



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These gusy kick azz

Shred Danson
April 2nd 2006



118 Comments


ZOMG my band's playin with this band in a couple weeks.

:p

I've never really given them a thorough listen, I suppose I'll get the CD today, do my homework, haha (I always do that when we play with a national band)...

TheDevilsOwn
May 10th 2006



91 Comments


these guys are a good. a nice break from the other metal blade bands taht all sound the friggin same

Master Basser
June 13th 2006



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of my favorite Metal Bands for sure. Great Vocals, Guitars, Bass, and drums. This band has it all.

violentmog
November 1st 2006



73 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is one of the best American metal albums. Not a whole lot of variation in the songwriting, but that means every track is solid. Melodic, thrashy, just good stuff. Recommended for any fan of melodic metal.

Sharkmenow
November 7th 2006



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These guys are awesome, very catchy tunes and a nice raw sound. These guys love them some scandanavian metal and it shows in a great way. With better production these guys could defineately be a top tier act.

Wizard
January 2nd 2007



19341 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This review had no description of anything except that the guitars and drumming were ____________ (please enter adjective such as sweet, cool, awesome etc.). I found this album to be the biggest immitator of all the swedish death metal bands combined.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 4th 2007



16310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just got this! The intro is amazing so far, I think I'm going to like this better than "Riders Of The Plague"


I may review this as well.

FR33L0RD
October 17th 2007



1461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Like it a lot

Aeksis8745
August 18th 2008



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Took me forever to find this but it was well worth it. Unbelivable guitarwork and songwriting, its quite amazing to think that this sound is coming from an american band lol. I hope these guys stick with their sound and stay around for awhile. Favorites so far are Necropolis, the title track, and Seven Demons.

Phantom
December 15th 2008



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I forgot how awesome this album is. From Your Grave, Summoning The Darkness, Heaven Ablae and I, Deceiver all rule. Great melodies too.

Yazz_Flute
January 31st 2009



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've decided I like this more than Riders of the Plague. It may not be as technically impressive, but as a whole its much easier to listen to, and I really enjoy the melodic leads strewn about the whole album. They remind me much of a more modern adaptation of the leads of "The Jester Race," though I guess you can say that about a lot of melodeath bands.

Digging: Eskaton - 4 Visions

BritishPastries
September 20th 2009



20 Comments


I have ROTP, which is a good, solid album. What I HAVE heard from this doesn't sound as appealing, but I'll have to look into it. Good review.

kereealazer
January 26th 2011



8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fucking a classic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy