Nails
Abandon All Life


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gabe Manuel USER (4 Reviews)
April 8th, 2013 | 21 replies


Release Date: 04/01/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Nails has avoided the "sophomore slump", and given us 10 solid and chaotic tracks.

California hardcore punk/powerviolence act Nails' greatest weapon has always been their ability to create pure sonic chaos. They realize that, and take full advatage of it. Many bands in the growingly stale genre of hardcore punk do nothing to push the paradigms of the genre, and Nails are no different. However, they are unique in that they take influence from different genres, such as death metal, grindcore, powerviolence, and hardcore punk, and combine them into the machine that is their music.

The overarching themes of this album both lyrically and musically are hatred and discord. I try to avoid using the word "brutal" to describe music in a serious manner, but thats exactly what this album is. It is an unrelentingly vicious assault on the ears. On first listen, the songs on Abandon All Life sound like a frenzy of random noise, but after a few listens it becomes very apparent that the band knows exactly what they are doing. These songs were carefully calculated and structured to further the charging flow of the album, and to completely floor the listener. They certainly succeed in that respect.

When listening to this album, you are in Nails' world; and you are playing by their rules. The breakneck pace of Abandon All Life is unsettling, and it is rather impressive that they can keep the speed going strong while maintaining some technicality and making sure the record is still entertaining. Every song increases in pressure and ferocity until the album culminates on the last song (a rare thing these days), Suum Cuique. The aforementioned track is a banger that leave you breathless. It is a good ending to the album, and a damn good climax.

While there is very little innovation on this album, Nails have succeeded in making an entertaining album that improves upon the formula they laid out with their first EP, Obscene Humanity. Nails have certainly proved that they are a force to be reckoned with.

4/5


user ratings (544)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
kvltwalter (4)
What Morbid Angel means when they say "Extreme Music for Extreme People"...

fromtheinside (4)
Take off your Entombed jacket before someone laughs and jam nine inch nails inside your eyelids....

Eli EMERITUS (4)
Don your Entombed patch laden denim jacket and get pissed....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
April 8th 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

album kriegs but does not krieg as hard as most believe

Hep Kat
April 8th 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

fer instance the new hatred surge blows the tits off this

demigod!
April 8th 2013


45003 Comments


its goes hard but UD kriegs harder. i should check hatred surge if they're anything like this

Digging: Autechre - LP5

Earthmover
April 8th 2013


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

First review guys. Would appreciate any suggestions/feedback

Digging: Full Of Hell & Merzbow - Full Of Hell & Merzbow

demigod!
April 8th 2013


45003 Comments


good review, better than FTI's thats for sure lmao. great for a first review, i have no qualms with it


also, welcome to sputnik, you seem new

MalleusMaleficarum
April 8th 2013


14368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"new hatred surge"

omg new hatred surge?!!?

but wait the chick isnt in the band anymore right so...

VanSchuldiner
April 8th 2013


659 Comments


nice rev pos'd gotta check this

Earthmover
April 8th 2013


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've been passively lurking for a few months. Decided to get more involved in the community. Thanks for the compliments!

Hep Kat
April 8th 2013


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

review does not mention that album is entombed worship NEG

zxlkho
April 9th 2013


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this album is heavy as fuck

DropdeadWHA
April 9th 2013


699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is off the chain, vocals are sweet.

MisSigsFan
April 24th 2013


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

AOTY so far for me. This shit is absolutely ridiculous.

TheNexus100
April 24th 2013


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

wait new hatred surge wtf

Digging: Full Of Hell & Merzbow - Full Of Hell & Merzbow

accompliceofmydeath
April 24th 2013


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I prefer their first album, but this is still a doozy.

Though, I think the most important question here is if the reviewer is named after the 90s hardcore band.

Digging: Weekend Nachos - Unforgivable

Earthmover
April 24th 2013


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I didn't pick my username because of them, but they are fucking rad.

demigod!
April 25th 2013


45003 Comments


good review, great album. gonna check Earthmover out

itsfloyd
April 25th 2013


39 Comments


Black Breath >

Hawks
April 25th 2013


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eh idk both bands rule, but you're right I'd probably give Black Breath a slight edge.

demigod!
April 25th 2013


45003 Comments


definitely prefer these guys to black breath but i still gotta hear their last album

itsfloyd
April 25th 2013


39 Comments


FEAST OF THE DAMNEDDD



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy