Trentemoller
Into the Great Wide Yonder


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (74 Reviews)
April 8th, 2013 | 39 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Into the Great Wide Yonder proves that Trentmoller can expand on the sound he had perfected on The Last Resort with ease, and more importantly, can do so without sacrificing his ingenuity.

My first experience with minimal techno producer Trentemøller left me in awe. His melancholic debut The Last Resort was able to strip me down to my base emotions, and oftentimes its underlying feeling of disconnect brought me to the place on the cover – a bleak, dead forest glazed in a smoky mist – evoking a calming state of despair and loneliness. Cards on the table, I was pretty baked at the time. The point is, you can really feel the passion behind Trentemøller's music, even though it was completely instrumental (sans some tracks on the second disc). He had no need for lyrics – the music itself was the journey, taking you through sensations of distress (‘Miss You’) or restless paranoia (‘Nightwalker’) without the need for words. Into the Great Wide Yonder takes Trentmøller’s minimalistic approach and expands on it. Four of the ten tracks have vocals and repeating choruses are not uncommon, yet it manages to be just as atmospheric as its predecessor. Here, Trentmøller proves he can take listeners on a blissful aural experience through different and equally successful means.

The scope of influences on Into the Great Wide Yonder are far broader than those on The Last Resort. Trentmøller drifts from progressive house to minimal techno with ease, but the more experimental tracks here are the highlights. ‘Tide’ is reminiscent of what Interpol would sound like if they tried shoegaze, lavish ballad ‘Even Though You’re With a Girl’ would sound right at home on a mainstream interpretation of Kid A, and vocal melodies on ‘Neverglade’ invite the comparison of The Beatles going electronica. While industrial progressions drive the first half of the album, the second is where most of the branching out takes place, the glitchy take on the Pulp Fiction theme ‘Silver Surfer, Ghost Rider Go!!!’ being by far the most interesting of the bunch.

The Last Resort was brilliant for what it was, but here Trentmøller flaunts parts of his sound never heard before. It's is infectious but never shoddy; gripping and generously tasteful. Above all else, Into the Great Wide Yonder proves that not only can Trentemøller expand on his already perfected sound with ease, but can do so without sacrificing his ingenuity.



Recent reviews by this author
Orbweaver Strange Transmissions from the NeuralnomiconAspherium The Fall of Therenia
dEMOTIONAL TarassisThomas Giles Modern Noise
Black Veil Brides Black Veil BridesDysphoria The Apogee
user ratings (29)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whole thing is on youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6s3NIfiXqc&list=PLB5F97E012C3C61F3

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

CaptainDooRight
April 8th 2013


30336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

your review was solid, Pos'd


clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fantastic record.

How does adding vocals equals commercializing? Idk, about this review... It's grammatically well-written, but the content could use some work.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


24098 Comments


it's a better review than you've done in the past for bleepbloopy stuff, but it still feels like you're out of your league with stuff like this. I'm not good at writing reviews for electronic albums unless it's in a genre I specifically know a lot about.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Minimal producer Trentemøller

Mininimal house or techno. Minimal in itself is a classical genre.

His debut album The Last Resort had almost a melancholic undertone, and oftentimes its underlying feeling of disconnect

Almost? And instead of disconnect, I'd use escapism. Idk, it could be me, but I think disconnection is used when you break up with / stay away from other people.

Four of the ten tracks have vocals and repeating choruses are now common, but never once does it feel like he "sold out."

Bringing up a "selling-out" argument is really unnecessary here.

Into the Great Wide Yonder is buoyant

It's equally melancholic as the debut. Your definition of buoyancy is pretty weird.

classical progressions

?

glitchy-beach take on the Pulp Fiction theme

glitchy take on the Pulp Fiction surfer theme, or something. Your comparisons in this paragraph are pretty imaginative though. I like them.

Into the Great Wide Yonder is infectious but never cheesy, gripping yet generously tasteful

The "yet" should be replaced by an "and". Also, I know you say it's not cheesy, but why even use the word in this review? I suspect you're trying to make a link to mainstream Guetta house, but it's really not necessary.

I find that electronic music is very hard to write about, so I don't think your review is super bad or anything. But some claims are a bit weird or don't have any place in a Trentemoller review, imo. Keep writing though!


Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


24098 Comments


"Mininimal house or techno. Minimal in itself is a classical genre."

see I was gonna say that but a. wasn't 100% sure if I was right and b. I didn't want to seem like a dick cause Ins already doesn't like me

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Or microhouse! :D

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haexan is the highlight on this btw.

DirEnRefused
April 8th 2013


2243 Comments


Aids, your post count is too high for you to be this considerate towards other's feelings.

mindleviticus
April 8th 2013


8331 Comments


This is minimal techno with bits of dub techno and house. It is also a very good album, but Last Resort is 10x better

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Obviously TLR is better, that's a friggin' masterpiece. It's just great to see Trentemoller doesn't have to repeat himself to deliver a brilliant second album. I'm curious how his next will sound, if he would just stop with churning out compilations.

alachlahol
April 8th 2013


7515 Comments


how did the last resort evoke bleakness despair loneliness?? was just relaxed minimal techno. writing what you did makes it look like you have no idea what youre talking about

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@clercqie thanks for the feedback ill definitely fix those up when I get home. I was just shocked this didn't have a review yet so I wanted to get a little discussion going. Haxan is one of my favorites off this, along with even though you're with another girl, neverglade, past the beginning, and tide. Pretty much the whole album really

@aids what? I have nothing against you you've just been more obnoxious than usual lately

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fixed

@alc not sure how that's relevant. it's like calling black metal bleak or saying death metal evokes anger or something, completely unrelated to the genre

mindleviticus
April 8th 2013


8331 Comments


Dude how the fuck do you have those increments?

And I didn't really find The Last Resort all that melancholy, it was just really amazing and relaxing minimal techno, but not that that's a bad thing for you to say it's just your feelings on it.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

;)

and yeah i guess its more personal than anything. the first time i heard the album it changed the way i think about electronic music. i found it to be kinda emotional in a way, not like sad but how someone can create such beautiful music with such simple sounds, it just really resonated with me.

but hey maybe thats just me

scissorlocked
April 8th 2013


3511 Comments


nice one man

only listened to the last resort and the chronicles

will probably check this too

Digging: Low Roar - Low Roar

alachlahol
April 8th 2013


7515 Comments


@alc not sure how that's relevant. it's like calling black metal bleak or saying death metal evokes anger or something, completely unrelated to the genre


what?? youre not sure how whats relevant? you wrote up there that last resort evoked "a calming state of despair and loneliness" which it didnt at all. it was calming sure but writing about how bleak or melancholic it was is way off base. was just a relaxin album man, but then i suppose when you dont have much to talk about you gotta make up shit like how an albums covers directly correlates to its subject material

bleak foggy forest on album cover??? ----->> bleak n melancholic albums tones heh thats right i said it

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so i guess it's a personal thing man calm down

alachlahol
April 8th 2013


7515 Comments


heh ive got the calm man what im missin are the bleak and melancholic undertones....... if i wanted to
fix that im guessin youd just have me listen to this album right



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy