Cannibal Corpse
The Bleeding


4.5
superb

Review

by Shadelurk USER (2 Reviews)
March 15th, 2006 | 286 replies | 31,055 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist


7 of 7 thought this review was well written

Formed in 1988, Buffalo born/Tampa raised Cannibal Corpse have become legendary in the death metal community and have been banned in three countries because of their gore obsessed lyrics and are unable to play anything from their first three albums when they play in Germany. The band debuted in 1990 with Eaten back to life and have since then they have dominated and scared people with more releases. Now with more line up changes they are as solid as ever in 2006 as fans await their upcoming release Kill

I have recently become a Cannibal Corpse fan in the past month, and I have come to realise that being a "fan" of Cannibal Corpse seems to be different from me being a "fan" of any other band. Since I heard ***ed With A Knife from their 1994 release The Bleeding I just had to get more of their material. I was just getting into Death metal at the time and I seemed to have jumped in deep here, two of my friends who normally share my musical tastes were disgusted by the lyrical content of certain songs. I found it fascinating and at times really humorous. Also from listening to their entire recording history I have come to find that the Bleeding is one of my favourite releases. I looked more closely into this album simply to compare Corpsegrinder to Barnes as I had seen many arguments about who was the better vocalist. And although I find George Fishers vocals cooler I am still drawn to Barnes work on this record that kind of stood out to me.

The Album explodes open with Staring through the eyes of the dead this got my attention quickly with that catchy main riff on the guitars, and then the vocals come in with the blast beats. Its a genius way to kick off this album before going onto the second track, the one that got me interested in the band ***ed with a knife this is followed by one of my favourite Corpse songs Stripped, Raped and Strangled From this moment on the album is just amazing. The songs becoming incredibly gory and at times catchy such as Pulverised the album ends with An Experiment in Homicide which kicks off straight away and closes the album well, it starts brutal and ends brutal.

I really think it is great that Barnes was able to go out on such good form, as the next release Vile was to be with Corpsegrinder. The vocals are awesome throughout this album where as I find them lacking in earlier releases. I would highly suggest that any fan of Death Metal should check this album out as it stands significant in my cd collection and I love it from start to finish. Although parts of songs may sound repetitive in guitar work (for about a second) it is still a great release, with some damn good gore lyrics.

Recommended Tracks for downloading:
Stripped, Raped and Strangled
***ed with a knife
She was asking for it

Rating: 4.5/5
As nothing is that perfect :)


user ratings (650)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
psychosisholocausto (4.5)
The definitive Cannibal Corpse album, this captures the band at their peak and is one of the finest ...

Buzz Killington (3.5)
Uninviting for me at first, but I then grew to admire the gore-themed music it contains....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Shadelurk
March 15th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My First Review so be nice please

Shadows
Moderator
March 15th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review was exellent! Keep up the good work. Cannibal Corpse is a very importent band for death metal and this is one of my favorite CC albums. Stripped, Raped, and Strangled and She Was Asking For It are really good tracks. I still prefer Corpsegrinder's voice to Barnes' though.

Shadelurk
March 15th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks a lot man! yeah but i think Barnes' work on this album is a huge exception! but Corpsegrinder done a terrible job of the Barnes era songs on live cannibalism which put me off him a bit, as he seems to only care about his material...

but yeah thanks for the positive feedback. i have enjoyed a lot of your reviews so its good you were positive lol

Cravinov13
March 15th 2006



3854 Comments


this is the first Cannibal Corpse album I actually beared listening to all the way through. It wasn't half bad, it was rather good actually. It did make me change my opinion on them, since before I thought they were gore loving death grind that sucked.

Shadelurk
March 15th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

death grind? nah man i'd class them as just straight up death metal.

Cravinov13
March 15th 2006



3854 Comments


well I know that now

Neoteric
March 16th 2006



3243 Comments


amazing first review, Cannibal Corpse are da bomb.

Shadelurk
March 16th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks for your kind words. i am considering doing the latest Aborted release because i just noticed no one has reviewed it lol

Dethtrasher
March 17th 2006



2211 Comments


Great first review! I hate this band but their album-covers is pretty cool.

Confessed2005
March 17th 2006



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They have the most grotesque and viscerally striking band art out there...but I can't get into them.

Shadelurk
March 17th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

they rule, listen to "when death replaces life" from gore obsessed or anything off of the bleeding, that will get you into them. if you like death metal anyway

hiver!!
March 22nd 2006



5 Comments


sa imi bag pula a meritat fiecare ban albumu asta ma jur l-am luat la juma de pret in magazin oricum cumparatzil e bun!!!!chiar daca numai e de ceva timp Chris in trupa mr"corpsegrinder" face o treaba buna!!ma mir daca sunt ceva oameni de nationalitatea mea pe site-ul asta

Shadelurk
March 24th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wtf?

Zak_262
March 27th 2006



24 Comments


huh???!!??

Blindguardian
March 27th 2006



186 Comments


WTF?!?!

But seriously, this band is ridiculous

plus they make a cameo in Ace Ventura Pet detective, apparently Jim Carey is a big fan

nice review, not my favorite CC album though, that would be gore obsessed, if only for pit of zombies, but I seem to be in the minority

Has anyone heard their newest album? I saw it the other day but didnt get it since I havent heard any songs

Shadelurk
March 28th 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i got their newest release today. i've only listened to maybe 3 songs, but theyre all damn good. I will review it later probably to let you know.

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 11th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cannibal Corpse has great instrumental capabilities, and any problem I have with the vocals are instantly diminshed by their humurous lyrics. The kind of album you can lounge to and pop open some champagneThis Message Edited On 04.16.06

jameskukucka
August 13th 2006



308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album but i really prefer Corpsegrinder to Barnes. Their best album IMO is Gore Obsessed

diefamous
August 30th 2006



281 Comments


I don't see why people are bothered by the lyrics. Basically it's just putting a gorey horror film in the form of music, and these guys arn't seriously all fucked up in the head, just a bunch of metal heads who love to play metal.

diefamous
September 3rd 2006



281 Comments


Good review, although I don't think you convinced the reader why he/she should buy this album. I suggest you be more descriptive about the sound, other than that nice work.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy