Black Sabbath
Born Again


4.0
excellent

Review

by kual21 USER (16 Reviews)
April 1st, 2013 | 15 replies


Release Date: 1983 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's one of the most underrated albums in the 80's. Gillan gives a completely different personality to this Sabbath

Another transformation of Black Sabbath after Ozzy Osbourne and Ronnie James Dio, now with Ian Gillan. It's by far the most underrated album in the history of Black Sabbath. For the most devoted of fans, perhaps this is the worst album. In my opinion it's a great heavy metal record and a great alliance between Ian Gillan and Tony Iommi.

Born Again starts really fast with "Trashed", maybe the best of the album for me. Characterized by a great solo, and a pretty cool vocal performance by Ian Gillan. In my opinion the lyrics have a different theme from the typical Black Sabbath. In this record from 1983 there are two tracks made with the purpose of adding some mystery to the album, two instrumental songs that are really great and very well composed. One of the features added is the mix between the heavy but melodic and powerful tunes, that were so typical in the Ozzy and Dio eras. With Ian Gillan you have both, there is strength, power and melody in most of the songs. The best song is perhaps "Trashed", like I said above it reveals a more familiar Black Sabbath sound completed with the band's great performance. Another plus to this 1983 reformation of Black Sabbath is the power ballad "Born Again" that is different from their past, the guitar is so profound but also so heavy, and given added emotion by Ian Gillan. There is a lot of meaning given to that song making the album definitely more complete with a lot of diversity.

Opposing to the best, "Zero The Hero" is a bad moment, it has a good chorus but it's way too repetitive and lasts far too long with 7:40. It would definitely improve Born Again if shorted, it would make the album more compact, concise and more self oriented.

In my opinion it's definitely one of the most underrated albums in the 80's. It's a great addition for every single one of the fans through the years. Ian Gillan delivers a great performance and gives a different personality to a band that, at the time, was a bit lost without an iconic lead singer. Black Sabbath would definitely have a "more empty" discography without this album.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Star Riders All Hell Breaks LooseDeep Purple Now What?!
Rush FeedbackSaga The Chapters (Live)
City Boy The Day the Earth Caught FireRush Clockwork Angels
user ratings (493)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
Killerhit (2)
A godly singer and a godly band both fall in this god awful mess....

Matthijs van der Lee (1)
Sabbath + Ian Gillan turns out to be a recipe for disaster....

Phil (3)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2013


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

I never dug this album myself, but it does have its moments. Nothing against Ian Gillan, because Deep Purple rules, but I find a lot of the songs uninteresting. I thought some of instrumental parts were good, but Ian's voice just didn't 'fit' for me. The albums isn't as bad as people claim it is though. "Zero The Hero" and "Disturbing the Priest" were two of the best tracks though.

BigPleb
April 1st 2013


36705 Comments


Good review, argued your point well.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

satanwitchfinder
April 1st 2013


13 Comments


How did you rate this 2.7?

facupm
April 1st 2013


7718 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i disagree, this albums sounds generic and recycled all the way,

and Zero the Hero is probably the most interesting song of the album

wont neg cause it's well written, but i respectfully disagree

PsychicChris
April 1st 2013


211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love this album so much. Underrated as hell.

NapalmCrusader
April 1st 2013


1737 Comments


Not a bad review but this album is poor, really poor

Rastapunk
April 2nd 2013


736 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Review is ok, album isn't my cup of tea .

"Born Again starts really fast with "Trashed", maybe the best of the album for me. Characterized by a great solo, and a pretty cool vocal performance by Ian Gillan."

This doesn't flow, you might want to make it as one sentence

manosg
April 2nd 2013


6102 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The review is fine but I cannot agree with your rating or the opinions expressed. Sure, there are some good moments here and there but overall this is not a good album. Iommi's guitar tone is too high and Ward's performance is below par.

Keep reviewing though, the last two bands you covered are among my favorites.

Digging: John Coltrane - Ballads

TheNotrap
April 2nd 2013


8073 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I disagree with the rating but to each his own.
Trashed is my favourite track here.


Digging: Lago - Tyranny

ksoflas
April 2nd 2013


389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really good album, fantastic songs included and top interpretation from Ian.
Pos'd.

KILL
April 2nd 2013


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

holy shit

Liam8VIII
April 2nd 2013


90 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good that someone is sticking up for this album, it's not really that bad - it's better than Technical Ecstasy imo (but not Never Say Die because I actually love that). Although, I disagree with your comments on 'Zero The Hero', it's a PHENOMENAL TRACK - so doomy and I could hear those riffs all day. Pos'd

ARealDeadOne
September 25th 2013


20 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agree 110%, except on Zero the Hero, love that song and Guns N' Roses ripped it off 4 years later...riff remind you of Paradise City?

BenMorrison
February 23rd 2014


187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If the original Black Sabbath was the soundtrack of a Gothic Mario Bava film, Born Again would be the soundtrack of a cheesy grindhouse film by Lucio Fulci. Born Again is technically not a good album, but the cheesy b-movie atmosphere on it, just makes it an underrated masterpiece for me. Ian Gillan rules on that fucking album! For me he does his wickedest performance since Deep Purple in Rock. Just listen to those evil screams at the end of Disturbing the Priest. Born Again fucking rules!

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2014


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

mixing gillan with sabbath is like mixing mayonaise with black pudding

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy