Essence (DNK)
Last Night of Solace


2.5
average

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (65 Reviews)
March 30th, 2013 | 26 replies


Release Date: 03/29/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A flicker of light in a dying genre

European thrashers Essence inspired some hope in the genre with their 2011 debut Lost in Violence. A good modern thrash band is hard to come by; sure there’s the occasional fluke like Vektor, but all in all it’s a dying genre. Essence strived to prove otherwise though, and with Last Night of Solace they continue to do so, to a lesser extent. It’s solid thrash metal with a modern twist, nothing more; but the fact that it comes across so fresh and effortless for them makes it a comfortable, albeit harmless, listen.

Considering most of the best thrash metal albums of all time have been around 45 minutes or under, the 53 minute runtime of Last Night of Solace does it little favors. Five of the ten tracks are at or above 6 minutes, and while some of thrash’s classics were of decent length (‘Fade to Black’, ‘Holy Wars’), nothing on Last Night of Solace deserves its runtime and nearly every track overstays its welcome by two minutes, and that’s being generous. What Essence fails to realize is the concept of dynamics. For them it’s 100% volume, all the time, and even to the most dedicated metal fan it can get exhausting especially when a band plays with as little variety as Essence. The vocals are reminiscent of a whiny Chuck Schuldiner and are completely and utterly stagnant. They’re not bad, but his voice can get pretty grating, and using the exact same scream for almost an hour's worth of music is never okay unless you’re Demolition Hammer. The riffs are standard headbanger's thrash with the occasional hint of black metal here and there; the infectious chorus of the quasi-title track ‘Last Night’ is heavily carried by its melodic progression and underlying blast beats. The drumming is exactly what you’d expect, as is the bass (just barely audible), but the focus of thrash has always been the riffs and for the most part, Essence delivers. The problem is the overall lack of risk and variety. Essence sticks to what they’re good at, and if that means making 50+ minutes worth of harmless, fun thrash metal, then so be it.



Recent reviews by this author
Inanimate Existence A Never-Ending Cycle of AtonementWithin the Ruins Phenomena
Sonic Syndicate Sonic SyndicateOrigin Omnipresent
Muse Dead Star/In Your WorldJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (8)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
Drew Tyler (2.5)
Another bread & butter thrash album that does little to distinguish it's self from the pack....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2013


21053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

short review, meh

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

CaptainDooRight
March 30th 2013


29130 Comments


dec rev Pos'd


Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

tempest--
March 30th 2013


13447 Comments


Pos'd, might check this out because thrash rulez but 53 minutes of only kinda average, not really particularly interesting is kinda ehh

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2013


21053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it has its moments for sure. each song has at least one riff/chorus thats really sweet. if you can get past the song lengths youll probably enjoy it

Inveigh
March 31st 2013


24963 Comments


good review but it reads like the rating should be lower

NonApplicable
March 31st 2013


1958 Comments


A good modern thrash band is hard to come by

I disagree. There are quite a few good modern thrash bands.

Inveigh
March 31st 2013


24963 Comments


are there really though

NonApplicable
March 31st 2013


1958 Comments


Yup

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2013


21053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

name 10

NonApplicable
March 31st 2013


1958 Comments


Sylosis
Revocation
Havok
Lazarus A.D.
Evile
Holy Grail
Toxic Holocaust
Vektor
Warbringer
SkeletonWitch

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2013


21053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Sylosis"

lol

ok anyway im not saying there arent any good modern thrash bands, im just saying theyre not as easy to come by as death/prog/core etc bands these days.

plus evile isnt even that good

tempest--
March 31st 2013


13447 Comments


Also Hexen, Eradicator, 4ARM, Eye of the Enemy, Gama Bomb, Fog of War, Mortillery aren't too bad, In Malice's Wake, even MW are pretty fun, Bonded by Blood are on the lower end but they're sitll alright, Deprivation and Desecrator are cool, Diamond Plate etc.

NonApplicable
March 31st 2013


1958 Comments


Don't scoff at Sylosis lol. They're my favorite out of the bunch.

I like Evile quite a bit as well. Even if you said they're not "that good", you did imply Evile were
at least somewhat good. The only requirement was to name 10 "good", not amazing, modern thrash
bands.

I do agree with you that these types of bands are harder to come by though. I pretty much exhausted
all my options with the 10 I named. 10 is plenty for me though!

@Lloyd

I forgot about Hexen! I tried to list more common bands. 75% of the ones you listed I have
never heard before.

tempest--
March 31st 2013


13447 Comments


Yeah, probably because thrash is my favourite genre so I am always trying to check out as many bands as I can, new and old.
Btw I'm with Ins on Sylosis, they're pretty average.

NonApplicable
March 31st 2013


1958 Comments


I don't want to turn this into a Sylosis discussion, but COME ON!

I hate opinions.

Hep Kat
March 31st 2013


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this is bad ugh

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2013


1992 Comments


Review doesn't make this sound better than a 2.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2013


19743 Comments


Agreed lol

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

thumbcrusher
March 31st 2013


3592 Comments


quite enjoyed their other album, might give this a go

Pestiferous
March 31st 2013


1250 Comments


rather surprised nobody has been all "ASDFGJHASDJHSEI THRASH WILL NEVER DEI ASDJHASJKDFHGASDFG"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy