Morbid Angel
Illud Divinum Insanus - The Remixes


2.0
poor

Review

by CaptainHadouken USER (22 Reviews)
March 29th, 2013 | 51 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Oh Morbid Angel. How you have fallen

Trying to an objective reviewer is something difficult at times. Being a fan crosses the line with being a reviewer, due to the scores or blatant honestly you give albums in comparison to other previous efforts. You score based on how the album sounds, its originality, and what steps the album has taken from previous efforts. Morbid Angel is one of the bands that defined Death Metal. Listening to 1989's Altar of Madness, and 1991's Blessed are the sick, and Abominations of Desolation, people know this, and respect Morbid Angel for their contributions to Death metal. However, this band has been on a downward slope over the years, and then they released Illud Divinum Insanus in 2011, which fans met with not the best of receptions. Most of of the tracks were not even Death Metal, but rather a hybrid of Marilyn Manson/Rob Zombie/Morbid Frankenstein-like songs. So reading all of this, was there a valid reason for making a remix album? No, not really, and if anyone would ask how this sounds, there would be no words, just a face-palm.

First off, What is the point of this album? The listener can tell beyond any doubt this just pissed people off worse than its predecessor did in 2011. Half of the remixes do not even compensate for how terrible some of the songs were in the first place, such as adding Dub-step. Now this reviewer, does not mind dub-step, and there are moments where some of the songs can sounds somewhat strangely cool, but very, very few moments. 10 more dead(Tek-one remix), for example was at least somewhat able to be listened to. Another thing that just will aggravate listeners is the fact that there are god knows how many remixes are from only 3 songs. Instead of a bunch of crappy half-assed remixes of I am Morbid, Ten more dead, and Too extreme, why not more diversity? If you insist on making a remix album, then why not at least do something half-way cool and pull from all of their Discography? Hearing something from Altars of Madness in this format would at least be half-way cool. Going into track by track would be pointless, as there is no saving this album.

Normally this reviewer attempts to be fair, but in the The remixes case, there was not much to be fair about. Morbid Angel could of pulled this off... maybe if they had said, "Hey do we really need to do 10 of the same song? Maybe we should do some older stuff like this?" Alas, they did not. For the record this was listened to nearly in its entirety. Understanding the survival is an understatement. We still have older morbid angel to remind us of the glory days. As for this, Morbid Angel, how you have fallen.

Recommended tracks:

Go listen to older morbid angel, not this.



Recent reviews by this author
Mercyful Fate In the ShadowsCzarface Czarface
Frank Sinatra Come Fly With MeSiouxsie and the Banshees Tinderbox
Siouxsie and the Banshees JujuStarcastle Starcastle
user ratings (37)
Chart.
1.6
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainHadouken
March 29th 2013


1960 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Whoever requested this.... There it is. Why would anyone request this?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2013


19918 Comments


damn this has an average album rating of 1.5? lol

Digging: Transit - Joyride

CaptainHadouken
March 29th 2013


1960 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol i at least gave it a chance, ughhh it was really bad

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2013


19918 Comments


i'll probably give it a chance just out of curiosity. i've only heard old morbid angel

slipnslide
March 29th 2013


2640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

OMG U DID MY REQUST ASGGEHBW :]

CaptainHadouken
March 29th 2013


1960 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yes i did slip, i survived it. I would atari, but ughhh this really aggravted me a little lol.

slipnslide
March 29th 2013


2640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha in the original Illud review the summary was "morbid angel meets combichrist" and i thought it was hilarious that they were likely recording their remix as he typed that. (different release from this)

Scoot
March 29th 2013


17814 Comments


i'll dive in a man's anus

CaptainHadouken
March 29th 2013


1960 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol, i don't listen to a lot of combichrist so i would know, i just know that the concept had potential, but this turned out like a trainwreck

slipnslide
March 29th 2013


2640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dude, it's a must hear accompaniment for this album http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jElCPYN1fu4

tempest--
March 29th 2013


13892 Comments


was at least somewhat able to be listened to.

was at least somewhat listenable

Morbid Angel could of even pulled this off

could have pulled this off

maybe if they said

maybe if they had said

Also there is some capitalisation needed, but otherwise alright review.

CaptainHadouken
March 29th 2013


1960 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dude, i heard this earlier, just not with the video, and it was a different remix i laughing for awhile after i heard this one , Lloyd, good point outs on structure thanks for the readthrough.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2013


7097 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

when they released Illud Divinum Insanus in 2011, fans met with not the best of receptions. Most of of ....


Just a pointer, watch your word usage. This couls flow a lot better if there was a "which" thrown in before "fans". There's spots here and there that suffer from not fleshing out your ideas and you lose that flow.

That aside, When given the option of clicking two links under your review, one saying "Yes" and the other saying "No," I decided that, indeed, the review WAS well-written, and therefore, I moved my cursor over to "Yes" link and applied some light pressure on my mouse with my index finger, at which point, I was directed to a page informing me that my vote had, indeed, been counted.

CaptainHadouken
March 29th 2013


1960 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Much appreciated, didn't expect to get any pos'd from this. Mainly did it out of a few requests. Yeah reading through this i can see where the some corrections can be made, thanks for the point-out.

FrozenVain
March 29th 2013


2444 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah this is a piece of shit, pos'd

Wizard
March 29th 2013


19508 Comments


Gave a few remixes off this a chance and I died laughing.

Justin Broadrick and Aaron Turner should have remixed the whole album and turned it into another Greymachine album.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Vakarian12
March 29th 2013


3870 Comments


do I dare listen?

ViperAces
March 29th 2013


12466 Comments


ive heard some of the original album from '11, it was awful, and now "the remixes"?! wtf

NoMeansYes
March 29th 2013


1012 Comments


What the hell is this!?!?

Geadom
March 29th 2013


2813 Comments


why the 2.0?

Atari: check a to d, dont waste your time with this or anything else



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy