Currents
Victimized


3.5
great

Review

by ^_^ USER (8 Reviews)
March 21st, 2013 | 20 replies | 1,217 views


Release Date: 01/20/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Something a little new in the metalcore genre.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Currents are a up and coming melodic metalcore band from Connecticut that should be checked out by any metalcore fan. Their debut EP titled Victimized is made up of 5 songs, which clocks in at about 18 minutes. None of the songs last too long, but they stay long enough to give them each a distinct sound, and separate themselves from each other. Something that they did right is by not having an intro for an EP (which is something I wish more bands did). Now onto the actual music.

The first thing you will notice is that the vocals are very different from most metalcore bands. Patrizio (vocals) has a more hardcore sound, and focuses more on the power of his voice, rather than the growls. He sounds very good (though it may need to grow on you), but at least he sounds different. Lyrically they are nothing new, and focus on relationships and struggles. Through listening the EP, you will hear the standard breakdowns, guitar solos, and even some short cleans in the same vein as how Volumes uses their cleans, and while they may not break the foundations of metalcore, it all comes together quite nicely. There are great moments of this EP where you will hear heavy breakdowns, but you will also hear great guitar melodies that make sure you never listen to the same thing for a long period of time.

Overall, this EP is great for fans of metalcore, and has a different enough style that makes them stand out. One negative is that the songs may get a little old after a while, but this hasn’t happened to me yet. Besides that, I can’t find too many negatives besides the usual ones that come with metalcore like, “There are too many breakdowns” and such. I’m stoked to see what they can make of themselves in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
The Afterimage FormlessOceano Incisions
Intohimo Winter SunWith Life In Mind The Human Condition
Lil Wayne Sorry 4 The WaitEyes Like Diamonds Frequencies
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2013



3441 Comments


First sentence isn't a great way to start a review, but otherwise well done and have a pos. Doubt I'll be checking this out though, but I may

AtomicShane
March 21st 2013



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just a short review for a band that I thought need some recognition. Anyways, heres a song you can check out if interested.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WP-CQWko0rU

AtomicShane
March 21st 2013



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks dude. I tried to fix up the first sentence to make it sound a little better

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2013



3441 Comments


I was more referring to the fact that it's typically a bad idea to start a review with the sentence "X band is this kind of band, and they're not popular." It's just not all that eye-catching if you know what I mean. Check out some staff/contrib reviews to see what I mean.

Spec
March 21st 2013



27135 Comments


This sounds kind of cool. I'll check it out.

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

J0ckstrapsFTW
March 21st 2013



3652 Comments


Hey hey hey look who wrote another review. Pos'd

AtomicShane
March 21st 2013



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i was listening to this today and felt a calling to review it

J0ckstrapsFTW
March 21st 2013



3652 Comments


AND I HEAR THIS CAAAALLLLLLLIIIINNNG

intotheshit
March 21st 2013



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Jesus Christ this is bad.

FearThyEvil
March 21st 2013



12480 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, I heard it before and it was really bad.

AtomicShane
March 21st 2013



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you guys are so positive

FearThyEvil
March 21st 2013



12480 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Just stating facts

intotheshit
March 21st 2013



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Sorry if the bands you like are indecipherable from one another.

AtomicShane
March 21st 2013



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they sound different, but its not for everyone. Its just most people dont constantly comment on an entire genre they dont like

intotheshit
March 21st 2013



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Lol I don't like metalcore, huh? Get a clue, bro.

AtomicShane
March 21st 2013



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

from all the hate i figured you did, sorry to burthurt my friend

FearThyEvil
March 21st 2013



12480 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

How is he butthurt when he's clearly stating he likes metalcore?

AtomicShane
March 21st 2013



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i wasnt talking about that part of the comment

intotheshit
March 21st 2013



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

So telling you to get a clue means I'm butthurt? Lol aren't you the one who's asking us why we're commenting on a genre we don't like?

patrizio
April 3rd 2013



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for the review!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy