The Strokes
Comedown Machine


2.0
poor

Review

by Ire USER (9 Reviews)
March 19th, 2013 | 116 replies | 6,158 views


Release Date: 03/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: They probably put more effort in stroking their rods

16 of 52 thought this review was well written

Damn The Strokes just get worse and worse on every record. Like Is This It? was pretty good and like that should have been it, but it was like a question, and they answered that question with 4 more ***ty records. The Strokes think they're cool cuz they don't try and stuff and the singer sings all lazy like he's singing from a lazy boy chair, and the rest of the members whose names are all Italian or Mexican or whatever I don't remember, they get lazy too. Like I'm pretty sure I heard every note on this record on their other records, the only new thing they did was make ***ty indie pop oh boy my favorite.

Like half these songs are indie pop nonsense that like 14 year old girls enjoy, I guess Julien Casablanca is trying to be all Here's looking at you kid, to literal kids. Like damn how am I suppose to take you seriously when you go back and forth between garage rock tracks and indie pop tracks seemingly at random?

They didn't even promote this piece of ***, like who even knew this album existed? I didn't until like an hour ago. And that album cover oh boy, it looks like the cover of a black CD bundle back. You'd be better off listening to a blank CD honestly.

A lot of tracks have keyboard and stuff like what! You guys used to rock hard with guitars and now you're playing around on those 200 dollar keyboards at Guitar Center and thought that was a good idea? Tap Out and One Way Trigger are all 80s cheese *** and they're like look how ironic we are playing *** nobody liked 30 years ago and it's like damn when you do actually try you suck even more.

Basically this is the opposite of good. Mixing your garage rock roots with indie pop and synth pop just because it's easy and because it appeals to a wider audience is just a slap in the face to the people that enjoyed your first album and predicted you would go places. But I guess you guys are like the Scarecrow in the Dark Knight when he's all like "I told you my product would take you places, but I didn't say it would be a place you'd want to go. Touche Strokes, try not to spend all your record sales money on blow, leather jackets and sunglasses cuz it's gonna run out eventually.



Recent reviews by this author
Daft Punk DiscoveryBlink-182 Cheshire Cat
Opeth MorningriseAlice in Chains Dirt
Bad Religion No ControlCrypticus They Called Me Mad!
user ratings (367)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
KaiLFC8 (3)
Despite the 80's synthesiser experimentations, ‘Comedown Machine’ has at least provided The Stro...

BrianE (3)
The Strokes launch tide of compelling experimentation...

Rudy K. STAFF (2.8)
The end of a road for the Strokes....

Sam McPherson (3.5)
Comedown Machine doesn't see the Strokes reinventing the wheel, but it's a solid, catchy record with...


Comments:Add a Comment 
coneren
March 18th 2013



11111 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

stream

http://pitchfork.com/advance/48-comedown-machine/

demigod!
March 18th 2013



44176 Comments


band has always been pretty average but they have a few jams

gr8 review

Digging: Failure - Magnified

Relinquished
March 18th 2013



24933 Comments


good review neg'd

Mookid
March 18th 2013



1347 Comments


yeah neg'd to whatever the hell this thing is supposed to be

Relinquished
March 18th 2013



24933 Comments


now that's a stupid reason

demigod!
March 18th 2013



44176 Comments


Basically this is the opposite of good.

that made me giggle

SupercolliderMusic
March 18th 2013



1456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually like the new album. Not as much as the older stuff, but it still was a good listen for me. 3.5/5

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 18th 2013



50146 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

You gave it a 4 though

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

Calc
March 18th 2013



12147 Comments


yeah collider you make no sense

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

PaddyPooHead
March 18th 2013



364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why do people rate albums this quickly? It's only been up a few hours

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 18th 2013



50146 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I find if an album is at least good it may grow on me, but if it's bad on the first listen it's bad

bloc
March 18th 2013



34790 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really looking forward to listening to this

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

PaddyPooHead
March 18th 2013



364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Disagree with that completely to be honest. First listens aren't reliable at all, in my opinion.

BigPleb
March 18th 2013



36127 Comments


Still gonna jam this, enjoyed Angles

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

yoniroars
March 18th 2013



4 Comments


what a terrible review......

johnnyblaze
March 18th 2013



2603 Comments


just listened. wasn't very good. the electro stuff really doesn't do it for me. a few songs were catchy.

Ire
March 18th 2013



41754 Comments


guys dont neg my review

ShrillYell
March 19th 2013



190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Pretty bad review, sorry. I liked this, and this is coming from someone who really couldn't sit through Angles. It's just fun all throughout.

jtswope
March 19th 2013



2089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wow...this...review...wow

RadicalEd
March 19th 2013



2593 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This review is like... i mean like bad u know. Like it has to many likes in it, so it sounds like a you know... like a 15 year old US-schoolgirl talkin and stuff.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy